Battlefield: Sabah

In case you've been living under a rock or your only source of news is national television and national newspapers - which in case you didn't know, are all owned by the government directly or indirectly.

Our country is under attack.

2xx armed men from Sulu, an island province from Philippines decided to invade Lahad Datu, a district east of Sabah.

Some quick facts
1. These men are foreigners
2. These men are armed
3. These men are not here to rob or take hostages like pirates, they made their intentions clear, they are to reclaim eastern Sabah.
4. These men claim to be an army.
5. Five policemen are dead to date.
6. So far, no news of military being mobilized, this is a FOREIGN INVASION, why are we sending police?
7. WTF is our army doing
8. BS by our "newspapers" Great Restraint by the authorities

QUESTION: IF your home is invaded by armed foreigners who say they are here to invade your home. Do you.

a. "Show great restraint"
b. Take your guns out and shoot their asses off

Our military damn good at shopping, buy helicopter, buy submarine..where are they when the country needs protecting?

Another Malaysia boleh moment.

The best part, your country is being invaded and its not on the frontpage of the news paper everyday. If you have a brain go figure it out

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Both ASEAN members, Sultan Sulu is backed by the US, GE is around the corner, Borneo company (Malaysia) paying sultan sulu 2.xx pesos per km square, etc. you do the connections lol. Summore Phil is considering to take this matter to the world court.

Bloodshed is best to be avoided unless it is the last resort. Many news have been covered up but at the same time many fake news surfaced from within both msia and Phil. Btw what newspaper you are reading? The news is almost on The Star front page everyday now.

The most affected people in a sad and bad way are the villagers...

The way I look at it, you invade my country, you better be ready to get shot... I don't know why they sending POLICE in to do skirmish with terrorists.

Just roll in the tanks and end of story. Or they want to tell me the tanks they bought don't have engines?

This government disgust me. Our army only know how to buy submarines, don't know how to protect the country?

wsukun

Nov 17, 2008
London Calling
would it be a different story if they invasion happen in the peninsular?
makes me think this country don't really care about the East coast of Sabah/Sarawak.
i bet minority of the people from the West don't know such sorta invasion happened for like weeks ago.

g4i8y0t

Aug 5, 2010
Kedah
We sent in VAT69 and UTK agents, who have lots of experience in jungle warfare and handling the communist insurgency, not the regular police in patrol cars or those manning roadblocks. Even their weaponry is on par or more advanced than the ATM foot soldiers. We are not like US troops who went charging in most of the times like an injured rhino. We always practice diplomacy and do info gathering first, judging all possible options and calculate all the risks. If you recall in the Al-Maunah case back in 2000, police eventually called the Maunah member's relatives to beg them to surrender. The psychological warfare tactic worked well. That is just one example. The situation is different this time around.

If we straight away send the army backed by air support from TUDM jets, of course the invaders will be wiped out, along with several hundreds of villagers and innocent folks. It will be seen as an excessive show of military power by other countries, mainly by our neighbours. This will also backfire later when the militants' family and comrades in the Philippines seek revenge by launching more guerilla attacks on Sabah.

By sending in the police instead of the military, we were sending the message that we want to solve the matter by diplomacy and prevent loss of lives. Unfortunately, this is not the case for the militants.

I guess now that it can't be solved by diplomacy, our security forces will go all out on them.

zmays

Feb 20, 2006
if ATM take action, curfew order will be issued. if this invasion prolong until coming GE, election cannot be held at Sabah and it will lead to a loss to BN. Therefore there is a high chances for PR to take over Putrajaya.

note:
my post is not a politic post. i am not a hardcore supporter of BN or PR. above statement was made by one of the ex-PKR leader and it is aired in TV3 news. i take his view as the invasion is happening at the wrong time. not because the invasion related to any political party or person in malaysia. i think his opinion make sense.

LesleyAprotto

Banned
Jun 16, 2012
For a serious gun battle incident on recently, we had 5 versions of news report!

Dont know which is true!

Must be all wayang layang news!

Hundreds of people can just walk in to our country carrying heavy arms!

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
Basically this could be prevent at first place.
Sabah has been swamped by the foreigner either from Indonesia/Philippines/Pakistan
Over the years, the number pilling up seems without control.
Even you able to counter this foreigner without legal documentation easily in K.Kinabalu.
So the area in Lahad Datu, Semporna, Kunak, Sandakan & Tawau much worse.
In this area...you might think..."am I in Malaysia...?"

The authorities probably didn't have the capacity to control the border between Philippines/Indonesia.
Naval department seems sitting idle probably don't have much fund/money to fully operational.

The amount of authorities hardly noticeable to control people safety...
Internal crime increasing and not all lodged report been entertain and investigate.
The hit & run case also they unable to settle....:(
Road robbery frequently happened in Sabah since 80s till today date.
If they unable to stop this crime... how to they tackle an international issues...?

BUT the authorities increased in Road/Traffic department to collect summons...
After all... Malaysian attitude... don't act until incident/accident happened...
You need to sacrifice someone + news in TV/newspaper then they will act...

The "wakil rakyat" in Sabah seems getting richer and richer...
PM/TPM and many other high ranking people visited Sabah at least twice a month...
Non of them discuss about to improving the social safety...only developments...
You can make as much as you want BUT PLEASE put some concern on us...

Just an opinion from rakyat...

fazidk

We sent in VAT69 and UTK agents, who have lots of experience in jungle warfare and handling the communist insurgency, not the regular police in patrol cars or those manning roadblocks. Even their weaponry is on par or more advanced than the ATM foot soldiers. We are not like US troops who went charging in most of the times like an injured rhino. We always practice diplomacy and do info gathering first, judging all possible options and calculate all the risks. If you recall in the Al-Maunah case back in 2000, police eventually called the Maunah member's relatives to beg them to surrender. The psychological warfare tactic worked well. That is just one example. The situation is different this time around.

If we straight away send the army backed by air support from TUDM jets, of course the invaders will be wiped out, along with several hundreds of villagers and innocent folks. It will be seen as an excessive show of military power by other countries, mainly by our neighbours. This will also backfire later when the militants' family and comrades in the Philippines seek revengeI by launching more guerilla attacks on Sabah.

By sending in the police instead of the military, we were sending the message that we want to solve the matter by diplomacy and prevent loss of lives. Unfortunately, this is not the case for the militants.

I guess now that it can't be solved by diplomacy, our security forces will go all out on them.

Ur rite bro diplomacy is always 1st option..nobody wants bloodshed if it can be avoided..but now it's obvious that 'diplomacy' is out of d question..how many need to die before d govt finally realise this???its absolutely BULLSHIT...My wife n i r really sad bcoz 1 of d ones who died was her relative...he (his team) was ambushed by these fuckers!! A father wiz small children...inc d ones already dead...:(

Besides wanna diplomacy oso have to look at d intentions la..this case they said it boldly that taking over lahad datu..that's INVADING!! Wat wld YOU do if strangers come to ur house n say they wanna take it??? You stil wanna nego wiz them??n wat wld d govt do if it was happening in putrajaya???!!bring them to d conference room????F**K this!!!!

Diplomacy is one thing but logic n d obvious is another...there's a lot of obviousness here but it's clear d moronic shitheads we have to run OUR country every single time x see it...

---------- Post added at 07:56 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:09 AM ----------

In the maunah's case it was internal...family members who...s much s we...do x want any bloodshed...yes d phsychological aspects work in this case..but look at d US...when 9/11 happened they brought d fight to d foreign country aka INVADING!!..but did d world do anything???oh yeah they said a whole lot shit but that's just it...ALL TALK...

Here we r x taking d fight to them but merely protecting Wat is ours..it's OUR country..OUR home..so stil wanna worry Wat d world is gonna say while many more innocent ppl die??its happening in Palestine (n other coutries) n d world is stil 'talking' how to solve it n in d mean time more n more innocent ppl r dying..want that to happen here in Malaysia??we r naive n take for granted that this might x happen to us...minus d 'small' incidents but we've always been a peaceful country...but now it's not..

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Hisham and Najib handled this in a terrible manner. Just to update, 2 days ago, Semporna Police station had been attacked. A group of them stormed in and open fire. I forgot the number, but at least 1 more policeman is dead on top of the earlier 2. Still, the giv have not declared a state of emergency. Their numbers are getting more by the day as the sultan of sulu is sending reinforcement (thousands of them), according to Abraham Idjirani, spokesman for the sultan of sulu. They are encroaching deeper into other parts and I fear they may reach the capital.

Dear west malaysians, the news has been very quiet as they are under control. I encourage all of you to try alternative news such as the social media.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
things that i know of
  1. sending in police... we treat them as common criminal... can be tried in common court and/or extradite to the phillipines
  2. sending in the army... we acknowledge sulu as a country... all prisoner consider POW hence not tried in common court... summore, Phillipines can take advantage of this

..then there is the GE factor....

*correct me for my apolitical views on the matter*

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
In the newspaper, the Government said "People in Sabah please do not panic"...
Yesterday family member bought monthly groceries in supermarket and so much people compare to usual...
Reason is, they stock up food in case of emergency...

As in Sabah the Philippines settlement are every where...
Especially in Pulau Gaya, Pulau Manukan (etc several island) aslo in Kinarut...
This place only few km from the city center...
Some of them holding M13 pass as refuges had their on settlement in Sabah...
We don't even know which side they will choose if things get complicated...

That the reason... prevention are better then cure...

Good day All,

I want to buy a car to replace my current Proton Gen2. Need yr opinion to choose between new honda jazz or 2nd hand Civic 1.8(my friend car). Kindly help me. My budget is around rm700/month and d/p rm16000.