B16B or B16A engine

montecrito777

Aug 14, 2005
Well ok..thanks for the replies. I just wanna use this car for 1 or 2 years only. Wat is the different between B16B and B18C, price? How is the maintenance as i staying in PJ and working in Cyber, traveling everyday, will it be so high maintenance? My budget is abt rm 8K half cut + installation. Mine is still 96 specs so i'm planning to face lifts to 99 specs as well. any suggestion? i need this get done as soon as possible as my engine is really kong.

Erm how much will be the EG B16B half cut? same power as EK? need more ans on this, thanks!!

Hikaru

Aug 13, 2004
Atlanta, GA
photobucket.com
Well I just wanna use this car for 1 or 2 years only.
I STRONGLY suggest you sell off your car and get another ready mod with the engine transplant for that kinda time frame. It really doent worth the efforts to do all the exterior mod and engine transplant and I will drive it as it is if I were you.

J101

Jul 15, 2005
malaysia
>Wat is the different between B16B and B18C, price?
you can try pm or calling hattech-v for price quotes.

> How is the maintenance as i staying in PJ and working in Cyber, traveling
> everyday, will it be so high maintenance?
service maintenance are similar to other brand cars regardless of destination and travel distance. keep your service logs.

>My budget is abt rm 8K half cut + installation. Mine is still 96 specs so i'm >planning to face lifts to 99 specs as well. any suggestion? i need this get done >as soon as possible as my engine is really kong.
again, pm hattech-v for engine and bodyparts.

>Erm how much will be the EG B16B half cut? same power as EK? need more ans >on this, thanks
no such thing as EG B16B. maybe it was hybrid in japan. "same power as EK" translate to endless combinations.

dcloo

May 11, 2005
maybe he try to do comparison which one is better.. if majority say b16b oso almost same with b16a the he might getting b16a... n vice versa...
after getting answer then he will start kumpul duit if his current bajet not permitted.

b16a EK RM7-8k..

and to make it same with type r u need to spend on this
b16b cam + vs = RM1.5-1.6k
b16b valve = RM400
b16b intake manifold = 1.5k
b16b lsd = 1.4k
b16b ecu = 0.5k
b16b extractor = 0.4k
b16b head = 1.2k

total different = 7k + 7k = 14k

so better get b16b engine conversion @RM11k
but that one if got intention to mod ur b16a to r...

hehe... btw, avantech got 1 unit engine package for b16b now.. selling at 10.5k only. please pm for details if u interested.
B20B better all complete less then 10 k
hahahah....
its a big potential to mod/stroke up but this depend on budget lar..
b20b siok lor..... rise up more then 220 whp......:tongwink:

BtLeJuiCe

Jan 13, 2005
B20B better all complete less then 10 k
hahahah....
its a big potential to mod/stroke up but this depend on budget lar..
b20b siok lor..... rise up more then 220 whp......:tongwink:
Less than 10K? Reliable or not one? What to change if budget is less than 10K for B20B setup? I heard a lot need to change one lah.. starting from the rods up to the block oh!

dcloo

May 11, 2005
Less than 10K? Reliable or not one? What to change if budget is less than 10K for B20B setup? I heard a lot need to change one lah.. starting from the rods up to the block oh!
depend how u setup n how fast u wan ur car go.....
example
- b20b block rm 900
-vtech hose rm 500
-water pump rm 250
-timing belt+bearing rm 180
- skim block+piston mod rm 450
- vtech head rm 600
-b16a intake+thortle+extractor rm 350
-eg ecu+wiring 800
-gearbox+clutch+starter rm 2800
-labour chrage market price 1500-1800
-distributer rm 300
-head gasket rm 120
-h22a injector (optional) rm 450
total = 9500

this was most basic setup for b20b n can get 170 whp n torque 19.++

if u thinking to port head maybe extra about 5-600
typer r cam 1300
n so on..... may cost more then 10 k

so y go for b16a/b16b
since b20b got a very good torque if best of fuel consumption then b16a/b16b
its gets lot of low rev power for city/street/uphill driving

u can ask for those has try b4 b16a vs b20b+vtech (i mean both also stock on piston/head/cam) on their own car he will tell what the different

even hattech -v also go for b20b very soon
ada betul ka suhaimie...:P

BtLeJuiCe

Jan 13, 2005
Oh.. means still use back stock B20 piston and conrods etc?

Suhaimi no need B20 vtec already so fast! Kasi orang chance overtake la mie! :P

budin99

Mar 19, 2006
DcLoo...
If I already got the B16A inside, mean I can save some penny here :-
- vtech head rm 600
-eg ecu+wiring 800
-distributer rm 300

BtLeJuiCe

Jan 13, 2005
You already have a B16A then you would want the B20 bottom block, not the VTEC head because you already have it. Don't forget your brake upgrade, safety is important when you go fasssst.

dcloo

May 11, 2005
You already have a B16A then you would want the B20 bottom block, not the VTEC head because you already have it. Don't forget your brake upgrade, safety is important when you go fasssst.
yes.. this most important
when ur car was over 170whp original ek 4 disc won't allowed u stop safety
this i have happen on myself last time so i upgrade it to 4 port
now fell more comfort when driving at high speed/drag...

dcloo

May 11, 2005
DcLoo...
If I already got the B16A inside, mean I can save some penny here :-
- vtech head rm 600
-eg ecu+wiring 800
-distributer rm 300
if u have 10k budget can change lots ler..
ahhaa....
piston/con rod/cam/block guard
ur car can go pretty fast ....:omg_smile:

budin99

Mar 19, 2006
if u have 10k budget can change lots ler..
ahhaa....
piston/con rod/cam/block guard
ur car can go pretty fast ....:omg_smile:
heh heh heh..

DcLoo, mind to share how to make the B20 save to rev more than 8K rpm??? I have seen the block guard broken into pieces in one of the workshop here (block belong to the mech)..some say by doing the balancing can withstand to 10K rpm and some say need to change most part. any advice?

2nd2none

Sep 13, 2006
Bro,

I've heard There's no way u can rev more than 8K wif da b20b block unless u send ur block 2 DART(in US) 2 request them 2 resleeve it 4 u. Even that also depends on what size of da piston that u r using. DA safest bet is remain 84 / 84.5 wif resleeve set that mayb u can rev till 10K rpm.

This is a feature of MadMike's MadBul, the awesome FD3S equipped with 26B normally aspirated rotary engine pushing upwards of 600 horses. This is arguably the epitome of rotary and FD3S goodness, the sound of it is ungodly awesome and in my honest opinion puts any engine to shame.

MadMike with MadBul...​