B16B or B16A engine

montecrito777

Aug 14, 2005
Hi Bros,

I'm looking fo B16B or B16A EK half cut. can any 1 share how much wil be the price.

My single cam engine kong, planning to convert , pls advice.

amdfaisal

Sep 6, 2004
Bawah jembatan
maybe u can try to do a search here. if my memory serves me right, there was a thread on B16A B16B not too long ago.

anyway, what is ur budget bro? if u r like me with other priorities, u can opt for the B16A which is powerful enuf compared to ur SOHC engine

c00lric

Nov 4, 2004
B16A:
Engine, gearbox (LSD/non LSD), wiring ECU - 4500-7000 (EG/EK)
Installation - 1500-2000

B16B:
Engine, gearbox (LSD/non LSD), wiring ECU - 9k-11k (depends on year & condition)
Installation - 1500-2000

evoX2

May 11, 2005
KCH
depend on ur budget and goal.

if u are lazy to mod, then go for b16b. but if u have lots of time and enjoy the process of modding, then go for b16a, use the balance to start ur own mod.

10KRPM

Dec 24, 2006
B16B anyday. But why B16B when you can go quicker with a B18C?

evoX2

May 11, 2005
KCH
maybe he is getting the half cut, still can use the ek9 dash, meter cluster etc.

Hikaru

Aug 13, 2004
Atlanta, GA
photobucket.com
Hi Bros,

I'm looking fo B16B or B16A EK half cut. can any 1 share how much wil be the price.

My single cam engine kong, planning to convert , pls advice.
Well I think your question doesn't make any sense without mention out your budget.

If budget is not an issue, forget about B16B and go for B18CR.

The price is way too different for B16A and B16B and you won't find your answer without your budget.

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
maybe he try to do comparison which one is better.. if majority say b16b oso almost same with b16a the he might getting b16a... n vice versa...
after getting answer then he will start kumpul duit if his current bajet not permitted.

b16a EK RM7-8k..

and to make it same with type r u need to spend on this
b16b cam + vs = RM1.5-1.6k
b16b valve = RM400
b16b intake manifold = 1.5k
b16b lsd = 1.4k
b16b ecu = 0.5k
b16b extractor = 0.4k
b16b head = 1.2k

total different = 7k + 7k = 14k

so better get b16b engine conversion @RM11k
but that one if got intention to mod ur b16a to r...

hehe... btw, avantech got 1 unit engine package for b16b now.. selling at 10.5k only. please pm for details if u interested.

Hikaru

Aug 13, 2004
Atlanta, GA
photobucket.com
maybe he try to do comparison which one is better.. if majority say b16b oso almost same with b16a the he might getting b16a... n vice versa...
after getting answer then he will start kumpul duit if his current bajet not permitted.

b16a EK RM7-8k..

and to make it same with type r u need to spend on this
b16b cam + vs = RM1.5-1.6k
b16b valve = RM400
b16b intake manifold = 1.5k
b16b lsd = 1.4k
b16b ecu = 0.5k
b16b extractor = 0.4k
b16b head = 1.2k

total different = 7k + 7k = 14k

so better get b16b engine conversion @RM11k
but that one if got intention to mod ur b16a to r...

hehe... btw, avantech got 1 unit engine package for b16b now.. selling at 10.5k only. please pm for details if u interested.
business, business..... kekeke.

But anyway, hattech has pointed out very clearly the difference of both engine in terms of price and it is definitely way better off to get the B16B if you plan to upgrade to type R later, might as well put it one shot.

Bear in mind that, however, you will get yourself the dashboard, climate control and meter cluster for the price of EK4 halfcut mentioned here between 7~8K while you only get the engine for 10~11K.

hattech-v

Oct 10, 2004
Seri Kembangan
www.avantech.com.my
its only worth if u got ek4 99 hafkat with 99 spec dashboard with that price... if 7-8k only got ek 96 hafkat better use back ur original dashboard... haha

or maybe get a complete car from singapore... hehe

evoX2

May 11, 2005
KCH
if getting a b16a, it is not worth to mod into b16b already. its "better value" to get some aftermarket performance part.

how come in kuching here, b18cR is cheaper than b16b? i know one B18CR with 25k milleage going for 10k only. anyone interested? can shipped to kl :P
B16B here is too hard to source in kuching.

Hikaru

Aug 13, 2004
Atlanta, GA
photobucket.com
its only worth if u got ek4 99 hafkat with 99 spec dashboard with that price... if 7-8k only got ek 96 hafkat better use back ur original dashboard... haha
EK4 black dashboard definitely much nicer, if Japan one with digital climate control much shiok, got hot air with fully automatic air flow system... shiok gila ni...... kekeke

Does anyone had idea where to custom made Heat shield in KL and selangor area, I had been quote to exhaust shop, but most of them refuse to do so.