anything to clean brake dust that stuck on the rim???

contreasjun27

9,000 RPM
Oct 21, 2004
subang
sifu sifu...
i got a big problem...i got a very heavy break dust brake pad..
so my rims will have the brake dust stain on it..
and it is super hard to remove..
and my rim colour is white...omg...so dam obvious and look dirty on the rims

sebastian2hot

Aug 8, 2006
Re: anything to clean break dust that stuck on the rim???

Firstly, what have you tried using to clean your rim?

There is some products special for cleaning rims that can effectively remove brake dust.

I used turtle rim cleaner for sometimes. Now i'm using meguiars wheel brightener (detailing series, very strong cleaner). both clean my rims well only left some road tar on it.

After you clean your rims, you can always top up wit a layer of wax (for OEM painted rims) to improve protections and ease to clean next time.

KrisMas

Apr 1, 2008

Some pics please.....

There are specific method to tackle specific circumstances. Firstly, need to know the type of finish is on your rims.

Try cleaning them with a strong car shampoo wash first. If that doesn't remove all then you'll need a dedicated wheel cleaner. If it's still there then you'll need an industrial strength cleaner (that's safe for whatever finish on your wheel). If that also doesn't work, chances are, the dust is stuck and you'll need to clay it off.

Waxing/sealing your wheel would be a good idea. It won't really prevent brake dust sticking to the wheels but it would surely make cleaning them a lot easier.

Regards.

contreasjun27

9,000 RPM
Oct 21, 2004
subang

Firstly, what have you tried using to clean your rim?

There is some products special for cleaning rims that can effectively remove brake dust.

I used turtle rim cleaner for sometimes. Now i'm using meguiars wheel brightener (detailing series, very strong cleaner). both clean my rims well only left some road tar on it.

After you clean your rims, you can always top up wit a layer of wax (for OEM painted rims) to improve protections and ease to clean next time.
oh i see i see...
i'm afraid that using those strong cleaner will eventually faded my paint though haha..
anyway i will try...then maybe top up a layer of wax as u say bro

loose_end

Jul 29, 2009

Erm , using a toothbrush ?

pisces23

Apr 30, 2005

I had been using SONAX Extreme Rim Cleaner and it had efficiently cleant all dirt and brake dust off my rims, including those stubborn dirt trapped in those bolt holes.

contreasjun27

9,000 RPM
Oct 21, 2004
subang

I had been using SONAX Extreme Rim Cleaner and it had efficiently cleant all dirt and brake dust off my rims, including those stubborn dirt trapped in those bolt holes.
may i know where can i purchase this item???
and does it remove from like spray rims like 2k white color rims?

pisces23

Apr 30, 2005

I bought it at Sunway Mentari, at the Sonax distributor at the row of shoplots after the Shell station.
This shop also performs car detailing-wash, polish, waxing etc, so I believe it is quite easy to locate.

jc@

May 27, 2004

will the wheel cleaner cracks the rubber?
my wheel is a 2 piece type. Lots of dirt, unable to clean in between the gap.
will the wheel cleaner help?

ACQ2305

May 25, 2007
HeadHunters

break or brakes??

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com

yo bro, i'm using that too... thanks to Sonax, now after i using it to clean the used wheels, customer seems to more happy to buy it....

syong888

Dec 15, 2008
This tool is worth considering to be used with your applicants

KrisMas

Apr 1, 2008
...errr...I use a baby bottle brush...cheap and effective....

Mivec559

Oct 7, 2008

I bought it at Sunway Mentari, at the Sonax distributor at the row of shoplots after the Shell station.
This shop also performs car detailing-wash, polish, waxing etc, so I believe it is quite easy to locate.
hmm..onli sells at sunway?
is the sonax distributor sold at anywhere else such as accessories shop or etc?

<_< when my kancil get pick-up sure got sound jijiji.... come out from the dashboard, time to stop the car also... where can i fix it? i dunno where the screw located, not the 1 in the surface of dashboard, any others inside??? :(