Anyone DIY fibreglass?

ndselvam

May 20, 2006
Cam Cover

Hi Bro ,

I've done cam pulley cover with fiber glass- reason is the transparent cover to expensive and i like DIY -I never took any pic since my camera is in spoilt .

got the finished mold fist layer done - must do few more adjustment to it.Will post the product result once i get my camera and some time to complete the project

next is custome eyelids for my iswara since aftermarket too crappy and expensive for me--it cheap to get fiber and resin by kg -- will cost bout rm 200 - 400

with this ammount i plan to do fiber speaker boards and strengten my door panels...

Will update on my small project first --

Cheers - fun to do fibering too

ndselvam

May 20, 2006
yeah thats a good example by khguan - this one all sifu ready -- me just newbie learnig ......

that a good project by khguan which gave me alot of idea and intrest into fiberglassing

ndselvam

May 20, 2006
Well that link - they are monster la bro KHGUAN , We all cacing also can la - but intresting la can get idea --

I got more idea on to do my own body kits -but not extreme like the link -conver sylvia to ferrari dont dare... can save money abit okie la...

I ll share my product soon - forgot to take photo.

ndselvam

May 20, 2006
fiberglass

for easy job buy fiber kit - cost around rm 25 got fiber cloth and resin + harderner .

the paste is abit tidious compared to this = for noob like me i choose fiber kit then i strenthen the final product with the fiber paste in can cost bout rm 30 then if you going to spray need to smoothen with putty -

i got one tong of putty - anyone wanna share can l0--- keep so much also nothing to do - one tong i buy with harderner cost rm 50 -used for my bumper body ketuk and alot of thing

still got alot .....:regular_smile:

ndselvam

May 20, 2006
fiberglass

Not selling anything - i jsut got some extra putty - putty is to smoothen the surface only.

U can do up ur bumper with it if u have paint crack or broken piece that u fixed

This putty aka is simen tampal only---

sharing for diy purpose - we all share share do diy

not a seller - me also noob only trying very best to save $$$$

Edward Chew

Jun 29, 2006
Oh oh, i see. Now im clear a bit about putty. haha. cause die cast also got using this putty, but i got confused. hehe
So, kind of you. haha
Then how to DIY whole bumper ah? Do fiberglass? I got my friend sketched the bumper on the paper liao...
Im so noob in this. hehe

ndselvam

May 20, 2006
fiberglass

Well to do whole bumper huh is big project - haven go that far yet - now only main main with skirting n lips..

well basically this are the stuff u need-

Power tool - grinder ,sander drill n bits

then u need to make a mould of your original bumper then take out the ruff base then use styrofoam or any foaming material to form the design on to the ruff base

then one u get the foam hard enuff cut out the design including bracket hole and rest of the stuff needed

then fiber la -- can use fiber clotsh and resin withh be easier

this just basic i know -- i only touch up broke fiber - i never really did whole bumper

maybe we join n try i got some power tools

would be intresting but need a big place as the dust from sanding n smoothening process and fber dust will be massive

got big garrage can try la

alot of idea - ucan see the web link by prolog

materials are not hard to get

time n energy n location will be issue

Hello. Am nubie here. Can tell me good workshop to convert gta auto to manual. And what gearbox is reliable. Thanks