Any nissan murano owners out there??

DjAtB

Dec 26, 2005
hi there,

Since is Nissan forum, wondering if there are any owners of Murano here...need some advice of the car...

Actually i'm in the mid of getting one soon, 2005 or 2006 2.5L, I need some guidance on what are the issues that I need to check and whats the maintenance like...n most important where can I service my car due to Tan Choong Malaysia wont be accepting our reconditions car so need experience workshop to handle it...

Hope to get some replies soon...thankss!...

davidhoryk

Dec 11, 2009
the only problem i ever had last time was the door lock wouldn't lock itself(spoilt), ended up with a professional accesories shop modifying the thing with another mechanism and its okay again :)

DjAtB

Dec 26, 2005
the only problem i ever had last time was the door lock wouldn't lock itself(spoilt), ended up with a professional accesories shop modifying the thing with another mechanism and its okay again :)
Ic, where do you send your car for normal servicing? Is the parts easily obtain? Is it expensive to maintaining the car?.....

What model is your ride? 2.5L too??...

seanyeo82

Jul 14, 2006
Hi there!!! do you manage to find a good workshop to service your murano ? Because I'm having one 2005 2.5L Murano, would really help if can direct me to workshop that is good at fxing nissan murano...

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
d 2.5L Murano is running d same engine as d 2.5L X-Trail...so,maintenance is almost d same....any competent workshop w a proper diagnostic tools will b able 2 handle dis car..n since it's a 2WD,it's actually cheaper 2 maintain compared 2 a X-Trail....i'm driving a 2005 CBU model n so far,d problems i've encountered is same like davidhoryk,i oredered d lock mechanism thru a spare part shop,can't remember how much but definitely ALOT cheaper thn getting it frm Tan Chong & also my crank position sensor KO-ed,car can't start....took 1 frm a used 2L Serena engine(it's d same sensor)...settle....RM50 fren2 price frm my trusted mechanic....but in Kuantan lar!hahahahhahah
overall,it's a good car.....FC so MUCH better compared 2 my previous 2003 2.0L CR-V....

seanyeo82

Jul 14, 2006
I also heard that 2.5L Murano is sharing the same engine as the X-trail, however i think i might
have a bit more problem than u guys, I have power door lock issue, engine starting issue, over
heating issue and side mirror issue...feel so depress...but i still like the design...but i just cant find the right workshop to fix it...anywhere else besides kuantan???

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
midship,
care 2 share more details?d 2.5L Murano is using d QR25 engine...well,all dis while i tot d X-Trail is using d same engine,no?dat's wat my mechanic told me.n they do look d same.can u share w us ur information?thx

found my old records.d door lock actuator cost me RM620 back in Januari 2010.had 2 replace 2!n o yeah,had problem w my radiator too.top end cracked whn d mileage was only abt 80,000km???!!!..damn it.lucky it was only a small crack coz i was stil zooming up n down Kuantan-KL-Kuantan w.out realising it(d darn radiator is sorta tucked away,dat's y i din realise d crack) altho i had 2 top up d radiator water slightly(whc never happened b4).cost?RM180 2 fix.oso in Kuantan.cheap,eh?ahhahahahah
1 more thg i really like abt d Murano is it's handling.used 2 run 20"...damn,it'll corner like it's on rails!now back 2 18",it's more comfy but can still whack Karak hiway like i'm driving sum Japanese sport car!hahahahahha.....n owh,sum1 told me d suspension can actually b adjusted(soft,hard) via d control panel near d LCD screen,i tried it,felt sum difference in terms of stiffness.....but i can't really tell if dat's really d function coz it's all in Japanese....ahhahaha

midship

Jul 22, 2004
Across the pond
www.nismo.com.my
My mistake as I was thinking of the 3.5 which uses the VQ series.

The 2.5 does employ the QR engine series.

If you require new genuine Nissan parts, do drop me a PM along with the 10 digit alphanumeric part no.

seanyeo82

Jul 14, 2006
Thanks for the parts offer, but before I could start ordering parts i need to know what is really wrong with my car....so anybody outside please help...do you know which workshop around klang valley area is very good with 2.5L Nissan murano... :adore:

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
seanyeo82,
read my post again,i belive ur problems r similiar 2 mine.
1)door lock issue-it's d lock mechanism.whn u arm ur alarm,d door just won lock,right?der's no 2 ways abt it.n i dun think any shop can actually fix or modify d mechanism.u can try,no harm,but i've seen d internals.usually once KO,sumthg pecah inside.

2)starting issue-u'll suffer frm sudden engine shut down,thn hard 2 start up...n sumtimes just plain hard 2 start,right?it's probably d crank sensor.der's 2,top & bottom.get a used unit frm a C24 Serena or X-Trail(2L/2.5L,they r d same).

3)Overheating problem-check ur radiator,most prolly d top plastic portion cracked.i suffered frm dis @ 80,000km.

4)side mirror problem-so far,i din encounter dis.wat's wrong w urs?d mirrors won move or it wont fold?

seanyeo82

Jul 14, 2006
akuma,
1) so for the door lock meaning i have live with it...ok then
2)for engine start i will try to check with the crank sensor, and in addition there was white smoke from my exhaust recently, so i'm not sure wat's wrong with it now.
3) as for over heating i have already change the top plastic cover, however i suspect there is a blockage but not sure where is it, try checking the hose..but found nothing in it.
4) for side mirror the auto folding is not working...can't fold... any ideas?
Thank you

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
1)not saying u'll hafta live w it lar.replace d lock mechanism lor?or u can try c ads in Motortrader,those shops dat specialises in fixing locks & sliding doors(usually Toyota lar) n ask if they can fix/modify d Murano's unit?good luck

2)white smoke ar?all d time or early morning only?if u ask me,d Murano's engine is a pretty simple unit.any competent workshop shud b able 2 diagnose it.i got a few mechanic frens in Sri Muda,Shah Alam.but they mainly specialise in high performance cars(VTECs,Turbos,etc)..not sure if he's keen 2 take in a Murano,hehehehhee.....

3)whr did u replace d radiator's top cover?a good radiator shop will clean d radiator n do a proper leak test n of course monitor d hoses after installation.seems like d shop u went to did not do a very complete job OR ur previous overheating issue oredy spoilt sumthg in ur engine(warped head/block?)

4)side mirror i can't help u.so far mine no problem so i never bothered 2 take 'em out n dissect 'em(hahahahahah)......go jln2 chop shop ler..so many Murano 1/2cuts lately..i'm pretty sure sum1 brought in d doors too..or u can simply drop by any of d acc shops u checked out 2 solve ur problem no.1) n ask them if they can fix it too?

cheers n good luck

Justin Davy Lee

From Facebook
Aug 26, 2010
Sorry to kacau thread, but since you guys are Murano owners, you guys might be able to help me..I need a set of standard springs for the Murano urgently..New or used condition doesn't matter..Pls contact me at 012-3254920 if anyone has for sale..Thanks so much!

yen187

Sep 19, 2004
Hi All murano owners... can share the maintenance of the car?
like normal maintenance how much...
FC how much since it was mentioned that better than CRV...

please share as much details as i'm waiting to sell my bmw and get a SUV and the murano looks very sweet and found a few second hand ones at about 100 to 120k...