Alternator over heat

mines998

Dec 1, 2010
Hi! Folks
I having a problem with my alternator lose efficency due to high temperature. I need you all help me brain storm how to solve the problem. If you familiar with 6A12 engine you should know the alternator where is the located. Even with thermal warp but still too hot. My exhaust piping is side by side with alternator location around 1inch gap only. Any idea is ok for me...TQ

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
can u reroute the zorst pipe sir? how did u determine the problem was with temperature?

mines998

Dec 1, 2010
The exhaust piping is no where to move already due to the confine space. During cool start my charging voltage is 13.5V but once the engine get heat up it drop to 12.6V if spray water on the alternator the voltage back to 13.5V so very obvious is the alternator losing efficency once get heat from the exhaust. Now I need a solution how to reduce the heat from exhaust to alternator...I even think can i put a fan to blow it?

shah5755

Apr 20, 2007
Pj....kch
doesn't it the exact position for alternator and the exhaust manifold for the engine?if yes i think u shud send ur alternator for check...if not u put extra thermal wrap to ur exhaust manifold....

mines998

Dec 1, 2010
The alternator is on ori position but the exhaust is re-lay out due to convert to single turbo. I think is my bad didn't foresee this problem during modding. Now I need a solution to reduce the heat at that area...anyone got a good idea?

minikar

Jun 24, 2005
Cyberjaya
How bout heat-shielding your alternator, those jacket-like aluminum thingy for car battery etc
Else, custom a carbon fibre to separate btw ur alternator and exhaust

A photo of ur engine bay would be nice :)

mines998

Dec 1, 2010
Ya thinking to buy those premium type alluminium sheild to cover alternator Is quite common use on those turbo car but the price is kinda expensive 1 square feet about SDG180 and need to order from UK. :bandhead:

yep...try do aluminium plate heat shield to separate those two item... :adore:

mines998

Dec 1, 2010
minikar said:
Alamak...US? Local got distributor?

---------- Post added at 11:46 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:46 AM ----------

DanzEterna said:
can use the front extractor heat shield, i removed mine cos installed downpipe.....
i still keep it at home if u want it.
Thanks bro I see what I can do 1st....

Hi there! I've been following your forum for some time now. So I thot I would contribute something.

Guys, a few days ago, a flying metal sheet hit my car. It caused a few scratches to the bumper and left side skirting and door. Sigh.. so I thot I will need to send it for respray... ... until I tried this product called Formula 1 Scratch Out® Scratch and Haze Remover

I bought it from ACE Hardware store in Mid Valley. It helped removed the scratches..but not the deep ones or the old...