aftermarket suspension

Seraph

Jun 20, 2004
okay i gotta ask this....alot of people say SGTi and Waja ride and handling(R&H) very good, etc etc.

using aftermarket parts, lower arm, suspension, coil over absorber, etc etc.

can make a stock wira for example have better R&H than SGTi by using aftermarket parts alone?

or is there a need for alot of tuning of the suspension and stuff?

and what does adjustable suspension mean? high-low?

what about those suspension which can lower the car to almost the floor when its parked but can move it up for normal road use?

i know nuts about the parts of the suspension so if can explain abit please do too. :P

sorry ah sifu's toh toh chee kao :lol:

kRiminaLz

Docklands/SAlam
hmmm... for wira,
the affordable way is to use the evo3 arm, absorbers n spring... that alone can improve your car better than the gti's...

but if u're into aftermarket parts, i suggest u still use the evo2/3 arms, with good suspensions e.g tien or hwl (hwl easy to service n easy to find parts), n racing bars (strut stabilizer etc.)...

a soft/hard high/low suspension is of course better.. high/low means? of couse the height lerr.... soft/hard? the damping n stiffness..
correct me if i'm wrong hehehe... :D

wildboar

Jun 24, 2004
Originally posted by Seraph@Dec 21 2004, 02:03
okay i gotta ask this....alot of people say SGTi and Waja ride and handling(R&H) very good, etc etc.

can make a stock wira for example have better R&H than SGTi by using aftermarket parts alone?

what about those suspension which can lower the car to almost the floor when its parked but can move it up for normal road use?

i know nuts about the parts of the suspension so if can explain abit please do too. :P

u can make ur wira handle like a ferrari if u had enuf $$$...i would recommend titans if u r the fussy type who likes to customise ur ride until it is 101% perfect...titans are able to customise ur suspension needs to ur liking..or in other words, fine tuning...like their ad says..."we dont just sell suspensions, we sell solutions"...

there are quite a few ways to transform ur cars R&H...suspensions, PU bushes, tires, bars, body stiffening, etc etc...all depends on how deep ur pocket is...

adjustable suspensions could be just hi/lo, just soft/hard or both together...

quote"what about those suspension which can lower the car to almost the floor when its parked but can move it up for normal road use?" ...been watching F&F lately?? :D those r hydraulic suspensions (or is there another term? hhmm...brain not fully working yet)..u dun see those in m'sia...mebe just a handful...but its quite common in US and Aus...it basically uses compressed air..there is a tank, sumthin like nos...so after a few show off sessions, u will need to refill the tank (or buy a new one)...

Seraph

Jun 20, 2004
Originally posted by wildboar@Dec 21 2004, 09:06
quote"what about those suspension which can lower the car to almost the floor when its parked but can move it up for normal road use?" ...been watching F&F lately?? :D those r hydraulic suspensions (or is there another term? hhmm...brain not fully working yet)..u dun see those in m'sia...mebe just a handful...but its quite common in US and Aus...it basically uses compressed air..there is a tank, sumthin like nos...so after a few show off sessions, u will need to refill the tank (or buy a new one)...
actually saw one car in this mag which had maybe only 1 finger clearance from the floor, but the mag guy just stated its can be raised to normal ride height for normal use and lowered for track use, i damn blur!

is it the same as those hyrdraulics in NFSU2 where it can make the car jump up and down?

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
Originally posted by Seraph@Dec 21 2004, 02:03

it's all in the basics

you need good basics, such as:
better chassis (R3's is double seam welded)
better rims and tyres (helps!)
less weight !

Waja is a stiffer chassis than the M-cars (Wira/Putra/Satria etc..)

The SGTi's rear arm are welded with an additional plate to make it stronger, with better anti-roll bars too!

and then: only suspension comes into play.

changing to harder lowering springs wont help AT ALL.
that's the worst way to go and TRY to get handling.
it'll look good, no doubt.. but it's not designed to give 1st class handling la.

adjustable suspension usually means:
height adjustables,
damping rate adjustable..
spring rates (got choice la)

those suddenly high suddenly low ones?
hydraulics le... $$$$

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
Originally posted by ngwei2402@Dec 21 2004, 21:22
sorry...aftermarket means...2nd hand or what?
:lol: you guys ar..

aftermarket means:

usually better, NEW from Factory, higher spec and better performance than Original Equipment (why? cos it's cheaper..)

2nd hand is -chop-shop, breakers' yARD (not yeard :P)

ngwei2402

Dec 20, 2004
don't like this lah

ur english is good,
but not everybody as good as u...

anyway thx

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
Originally posted by ngwei2402@Dec 21 2004, 22:05
don't like this lah

ur english is good,
but not everybody as good as u...

anyway thx
eh dun la say until like that :P

cos my last post hor, got typo liaw :P

better edit it soon :lol:

suspension stuff, best to get new lo..

Seraph

Jun 20, 2004
The SGTi's rear arm are welded with an additional plate to make it stronger, with better anti-roll bars too!

like tat plain vanilla wira/satria/putra cannot get R&H like GTi or R3?
without mucking around with alot of stuff and if workman no good sure fuckup, right?

:(

ninja_iga

Dec 1, 2003
Originally posted by Seraph@Dec 21 2004, 22:18

without mucking around with alot of stuff and if workman no good sure fuckup, right?

haha

actually, the best base to start from is the Putra

it's the stiffest STOCK M-car chassis.

in anything, if poor workmanship, sure fuck up wan.

R3 is a totally new beast altogether
best to let the R3 boys fill you in.

Danny

Originally posted by Seraph@Dec 21 2004, 22:18

u can visit workshops that are specialised in body stiffening. My friend did his satria for RM700 (not inclusive of respraying).

Guys yesterday me and my friend and this car was involved in an 3 car accident
this lady driver who was driving this iswara WJQ 9782 did an illegal U-turn infront of pelita mamak at ss2 at around 12.40 and she suddely braked and put signal to u-turn, so natural instinct my fren jammed his braked when the iswara infront stopped right in the fast lane of the road to make a u-turn, and i was driving behind my friend, my friend managed to stop in time but as for me i was behind him and i didnt...