Advice on buying Mazda RX-8

May 1, 2012
Gemas
Hello there..
i'm a newbie here..
just wondering that i can get some advices here..

i'm planning on buying a Mazda RX-8..
so, could any of you tell me things that i need to know about this car?
i know that this car runs on rotary engine..
need advices on maintenance and etc..

does it worth the money i'm spending on it..??
does the car performance is really suits it's prices..??

csl

1,000 RPM
Aug 22, 2005
Malysia
RX8 Club Malaysia

Do not buy if you budget is just ngam ngam pay the installment. Plenty people did that and proven that the ownership not gonna last long.

ixeo

4,000 RPM
Jun 26, 2005
KL, Malaysia
I second that advice. Don't buy.

K2 stanley

Known Member
Mar 24, 2009
Not don't buy just that if u buy Rx8 u must have the passion on the car n rotary.
Like me n my bro said she's our second wife, need attention, need care and just meet at the weekend.
Once u knew her well, u will hve great fun with her and how sexy she is.
Anyway this is just my personal view.

Jaymz

Oct 27, 2011
Johor bahru
1) Cost maintain this machine?
Idemistu Rotary oil cost 58-68 RM per bottle (1 Quart, 0.94L), you need 5 bottles each service, 4 for engine, 1 for top up.

Gear oil depends on brand, you need about 4-5 bottles.. about 150 RM max.. change every 20K KM..

2) How to maintain? Same like normal engine?
Warm up your car before driving.. if forced to drive cold engine.. keep rev below 2k..
Normal engine? no..

check engine oil at approximately every full tank of oil.. or everytime..
check radiator level..

all these before driving.. :3

3) How about labour charge? Workshop?

Different area charges different price.. where are you at?

4) How about spare parts?

Tons of spares and aftermarket ones.. price wise are the same as evos and subarus