Accord Euro CL7R Braking Upgrades

EGK20A

Mar 31, 2006
Note : I do not own one yet, but I like to research and plan beforehand, so bear with me fellas.

Accord Euro R CL7R is quite a heavy sports saloon, no? If I'm not mistaken, the weight of the car is close to 1.4 tonnes [ that is almost 400kgs heavier than my B18CR'ed EG hatch ].

I have also read around, and Bien have already pointed to me that the stock 300mm discs are pretty prone to disc juddering due to disc warp, which seems to be a common problem to a lot of car manufacturers nowadays. Why does this happen? I presume that this is due to the quality of metal and the material mix that they use nowadays.

Unlike specialist braking companies, EBC, Project Mu to say a few, which produces really quality braking parts, but at a certain cost though.

I have used EBC Yellow Stuff pads with my current ride, combined with my stock - but - grooved discs, Mugen stainless steel brake hoses and Motul RBF 600, my car can stop from 180kph to 80 kph in an extremely short distance without locking the wheels. Bear in mind that the chassis in question's weight is only around 1 tonne.

Now, if my dream ride becomes a reality, I would love to save up to upgrade the braking [ I come from racetrack background, thanks to my dad who introduced to me Eddie Lawson, Wayne Gardner, Senna etc when I was 10 ] capabilities.

Right now, in my mind, I'm thinking about Project Mu, specifically, the Level Max 700 and Level Max 900i pads. Will they work with the Brembo blank discs or should I save up more to go for a full upgrade instead : Level Max 700/900i pads + SCR Pro Plus 6 + Teflon Brake Line.

I've tried Googling about the temperature rating of the Brembo blank discs, but I found none. :(

Tell me your brake upgrades and let's discuss!

Alastai(R)

Aug 1, 2009
Bro Bien
Next time let me wash my rims 1st b4 u post hahaha....

---------- Post added at 03:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:22 PM ----------

Note : I do not own one yet, but I like to research and plan beforehand, so bear with me fellas.

Accord Euro R CL7R is quite a heavy sports saloon, no? If I'm not mistaken, the weight of the car is close to 1.4 tonnes [ that is almost 400kgs heavier than my B18CR'ed EG hatch ].

I have also read around, and Bien have already pointed to me that the stock 300mm discs are pretty prone to disc juddering due to disc warp, which seems to be a common problem to a lot of car manufacturers nowadays. Why does this happen? I presume that this is due to the quality of metal and the material mix that they use nowadays.

Unlike specialist braking companies, EBC, Project Mu to say a few, which produces really quality braking parts, but at a certain cost though.

I have used EBC Yellow Stuff pads with my current ride, combined with my stock - but - grooved discs, Mugen stainless steel brake hoses and Motul RBF 600, my car can stop from 180kph to 80 kph in an extremely short distance without locking the wheels. Bear in mind that the chassis in question's weight is only around 1 tonne.

Now, if my dream ride becomes a reality, I would love to save up to upgrade the braking [ I come from racetrack background, thanks to my dad who introduced to me Eddie Lawson, Wayne Gardner, Senna etc when I was 10 ] capabilities.

Right now, in my mind, I'm thinking about Project Mu, specifically, the Level Max 700 and Level Max 900i pads. Will they work with the Brembo blank discs or should I save up more to go for a full upgrade instead : Level Max 700/900i pads + SCR Pro Plus 6 + Teflon Brake Line.

I've tried Googling about the temperature rating of the Brembo blank discs, but I found none. :(

Tell me your brake upgrades and let's discuss!
Bro,

If u r a hardcore trackie I think ALCON 4pod with 343mm rotor + feroda ds2500 pads would suit u.....

EGK20A

Mar 31, 2006
Weh Bien, tak habis2 nk racun saya. Sungguh not nice lolz!!!!!!

Nice setup Alastai(R)!!!! You're using AP Racing's 4 pot setup, so why are u recommending me Alcon's instead? Any particular reasons?

Question : Your AP racing setup looks huge, did u had to change to 18's? I forgot to add that I'd rather keep to 17's.

Your AP Racing, does it uses those gradual - sized type pistons, or similar - sized ones?

Bien, any of those Brembo blank disc users tried at SIC, any comments?

Alastai(R)

Aug 1, 2009
Weh Bien, tak habis2 nk racun saya. Sungguh not nice lolz!!!!!!

Nice setup Alastai(R)!!!! You're using AP Racing's 4 pot setup, so why are u recommending me Alcon's instead? Any particular reasons?

Question : Your AP racing setup looks huge, did u had to change to 18's? I forgot to add that I'd rather keep to 17's.

Your AP Racing, does it uses those gradual - sized type pistons, or similar - sized ones?

Bien, any of those Brembo blank disc users tried at SIC, any comments?
Bro,

Im on AP big4pot(piston size not sure)rotor size is 330mmx32mm brake hose is J'S my rims are 17x8 offset is 42.
Most 4potCaliper can clear 17' (SPORT)rims.
AP Racing is my personal fav.
Alcon most of my Sg fren are using it n its good for last breaking in track.in sepang i brake at 120m with my previous WILLWOOD but with ALCON they can break at 100m of cos u need to huv good tyres n coilover as well n with 343mm rotor it looks nicer also :biggrin::biggrin:

vtec_1088

Feb 7, 2006
kl perak
sorry if i'm interrupt.. anyone interested with spoon caliper used but almost new conditions.. used it 4 my dc5 but parting out car has been sold off.. interested just PM me with yr email addres n will send photos.. cheers

EGK20A

Mar 31, 2006
Stock rims are 17' x 7.5 width, right? So these AP 4 pots can still clear stock wheels?

Stock disc size are 300mm, and 330mm x 32mm can still clear 17's! Wow, I thought 17's can only clear 300mm discs, I learn new stuff today, thanks!

What discs are those bro?

You bought a complete bolt - on kit from AP Racing? What about the caliper bracket? Are they the proper ones [ machined or pressed from one piece with the correct heat treatment done on 'em ]? With these brakes can brake as late as 100m in such a huge car? Amazing!

343mm discs means : 18" wheels, that's a no - no for me. If my dream ride becomes a reality, I'd rather keep to 17's, more sticky tires to choose from lolz.

Bro,

Im on AP big4pot(piston size not sure)rotor size is 330mmx32mm brake hose is J'S my rims are 17x8 offset is 42.
Most 4potCaliper can clear 17' (SPORT)rims.
AP Racing is my personal fav.
Alcon most of my Sg fren are using it n its good for last breaking in track.in sepang i brake at 120m with my previous WILLWOOD but with ALCON they can break at 100m of cos u need to huv good tyres n coilover as well n with 343mm rotor it looks nicer also :biggrin::biggrin:

Alastai(R)

Aug 1, 2009
Stock rims are 17' x 7.5 width, right? So these AP 4 pots can still clear stock wheels?

Stock disc size are 300mm, and 330mm x 32mm can still clear 17's! Wow, I thought 17's can only clear 300mm discs, I learn new stuff today, thanks!

What discs are those bro?

You bought a complete bolt - on kit from AP Racing? What about the caliper bracket? Are they the proper ones [ machined or pressed from one piece with the correct heat treatment done on 'em ]? With these brakes can brake as late as 100m in such a huge car? Amazing!

343mm discs means : 18" wheels, that's a no - no for me. If my dream ride becomes a reality, I'd rather keep to 17's, more sticky tires to choose from lolz.
Bro
Stock euroR rims cant clear...only sportrims like Advan , Rays , SSR etc...the AP caliper bracket are direct bolt on for our cars so it is consider safe.
For Alcon 343mm rotor also can fit in 17' rims likes SSR type C ,Rays TE37 , RE30 , CE28n n Advan RS & Rz the rest im not really sure about it.

EGK20A

Mar 31, 2006
Owh, so if the owner keeps to the stock Euro R wheels, 4 pots is a no - no lah? :(

So I presume for a start, saving up for Brembo blanks + better pads + Project Mu Teflon/SS hoses + Project Mu G - Four335 lah. Since I don't think that if I do buy the CL7R [ the problem is still approval from my old man ], I can afford to buy aftermarket wheels lolz.

My personal preference are Enkei RPF1 and SSR Type F. Do these wheels, in 17's, able to clear even the Alcon 343mm 4 piston + disk set?

Bro
Stock euroR rims cant clear...only sportrims like Advan , Rays , SSR etc...the AP caliper bracket are direct bolt on for our cars so it is consider safe.
For Alcon 343mm rotor also can fit in 17' rims likes SSR type C ,Rays TE37 , RE30 , CE28n n Advan RS & Rz the rest im not really sure about it.

Alastai(R)

Aug 1, 2009
Owh, so if the owner keeps to the stock Euro R wheels, 4 pots is a no - no lah? :(

So I presume for a start, saving up for Brembo blanks + better pads + Project Mu Teflon/SS hoses + Project Mu G - Four335 lah. Since I don't think that if I do buy the CL7R [ the problem is still approval from my old man ], I can afford to buy aftermarket wheels lolz.

My personal preference are Enkei RPF1 and SSR Type F. Do these wheels, in 17's, able to clear even the Alcon 343mm 4 piston + disk set?
Bro
Brake kit are the silent heros i dont mind paying more for it if financial allow.
Enkei RPF1 is a good choice but im not sure whether can clear alcon for SSR Type F should be able...

EGK20A

Mar 31, 2006
Cool, you are right about that. Better chassis + brakes are much more appreciated by the experienced drivers rather than outright power. Everyone can drive fast on a straight, but in corners and braking department? Heheheh.....

SSR Type F is cool too. I dunno, but I got this fetish with spoked wheels lol. RPF1 got that F1 refugee looks, whilst SSR Type F got that WTCC looks too. :D

hehehehe, dream on dream on, when the ride is yet to be in front of my eyes lol.

Bro
Brake kit are the silent heros i dont mind paying more for it if financial allow.
Enkei RPF1 is a good choice but im not sure whether can clear alcon for SSR Type F should be able...

Aug 21, 2009
Johor
Me on Alcon + Wedsport TC-105N setup, other than great braking power, the brake kit
itself almost 2kg weight saving on each side, so improve handling as well. :proud: :proud:

EGK20A

Mar 31, 2006
Wah, nice lookin' Alcons, where did u buy 'em? Maximus SG eh? How much u paid for the wheels? I presume still 17's?

Me on Alcon + Wedsport TC-105N setup, other than great braking power, the brake kit
itself almost 2kg weight saving on each side, so improve handling as well. :proud: :proud:

Aug 21, 2009
Johor
Wah, nice lookin' Alcons, where did u buy 'em? Maximus SG eh? How much u paid for the wheels? I presume still 17's?
Yes, Alcon bought it from Maximus. Wed's size 17x8J, offset +42, RM7.2K.

My previous wheels - SSR Type-C RS 18" on sale now, condition 9/10, any bro interested ? :smile:

Unless you’re a rap star, a gangster from the ‘hood’, a super celebrity or just love the attention, please stick to your 18” OZ’s or whatever(they serve a purpose) or even 20” Avanti’s for your SUV or car. Ok, 22” are still acceptable but not this. 30” is huge and mind boggling but 40” !!?? I don’t know what to say, there are no words in my vocabulary. It’s not that I’m...