4G92 MIVEC questions, anyone running one

If you're gonna run ethanol please make sure you check your fuel lines and the pump regularly. It'll corrode your pump and all if it wasn't designed to handle it and you don't want to have a leaking fuel line.

If you do a quick google you'll see there's a lot of complaints with E85, particularly on cars not designed for it and all their fuel pumps, regulators and filters are in terrible shape. Corroded and in pretty bad shape. I donno how these people drove with problems like this.

well...if E85..definately need to overhaul your fuel line and pumps

but if just E10 (or anything below 30%) still relatively safe....just dont use walbro or any gerotor type of aftermarket fuel pump...

use the turbine type composite type fuel pump just to be safe on corrosion issue (that will lead to fuel pump pressure loss over long time)

E85 is like running on ethanol already. He wants to try E20 which is 20% ethanol.
One thing ethanol octane is higher but mileage reported is less......lol

E20 is cheaper here, because they are trying to promote it more I think, they don't officially even claim the octane rating is RON98+ it is still marketed as RON95, the higher octane is just because ethanol just gives a higher octane, which is good for performance car lovers like us but 99% of the population don't care about that LOL

I will try and figure out a nice way to get my air intake out of the engine area, the problem is here in Thailand in rainy season the roads flood a lot so I cannot go too low with the air intake or it might suck in water. This car still has to be my daily driver, so need to keep it practical.

I might go for some bonnet vents to keep under the bonnet cooler at speed at some stage, my bonnet could do with a respray anyway, not thought about it much yet though, but maybe something like this

This should sit over the exhaust manifold area so no electrical parts to be affected by rain, do you think this would help with under bonnet heat or be more trouble than its worth with rain getting in the engine bay?
In that case maybe a replacement performance air filter is better for you. Just slot back into original filter box....:driver:

jay_lancer

Aug 21, 2015
Thailand
well...if E85..definately need to overhaul your fuel line and pumps

but if just E10 (or anything below 30%) still relatively safe....just dont use walbro or any gerotor type of aftermarket fuel pump...

use the turbine type composite type fuel pump just to be safe on corrosion issue (that will lead to fuel pump pressure loss over long time)
Thanks, that is exactly what I need to know, I have been running E10 for the last 2 years on my old 4G18, and not changing the fuel pump as yet, I will see how it manages with E20 and if I do have to change it I know what to avoid.

Are fuel pump's generally universal, or would I need one to fit exactly my fuel tank?

Thanks, that is exactly what I need to know, I have been running E10 for the last 2 years on my old 4G18, and not changing the fuel pump as yet, I will see how it manages with E20 and if I do have to change it I know what to avoid.

Are fuel pump's generally universal, or would I need one to fit exactly my fuel tank?
As far as I know the fuel pump are made for specific models. Aftermarket may have too, but if special pumps, then need to mod in.....:smokin:

jay_lancer

Aug 21, 2015
Thailand
As far as I know the fuel pump are made for specific models. Aftermarket may have too, but if special pumps, then need to mod in.....:smokin:
Done a bit of research online, there are lots of options that are compatible with my car out there, I will probably go for an E85 compatible fuel pump and fuel hose, then I know it will defiantly be fine for E20, and I am ready if I want to go E85 in the future (will need to change the map or ECU to do this so more expensive)

Have you hear of Kemso?

They have a pump that looks good value that would fit:

Nope, but have not played with pumps much, and that one looks just like mine. Probably Mitsu use for many models of their make.

Done a bit of research online, there are lots of options that are compatible with my car out there, I will probably go for an E85 compatible fuel pump and fuel hose, then I know it will defiantly be fine for E20, and I am ready if I want to go E85 in the future (will need to change the map or ECU to do this so more expensive)

Have you hear of Kemso?

They have a pump that looks good value that would fit:

just make sure your fuel pump dimension and in/outlet position at the oem pump...
make sure new pump have the same placement and dimension... else quite troublesome to modify fuel pump assy to fit...

jay_lancer

Aug 21, 2015
Thailand
I don't have my car back yet, it is running great when warm but very rough when cold.

I was meant to get it last week but the shop showed me the problem and spent several hours checking every sensor as well as changing the plugs.

Eventually they called an ECU specialist to check the ECU and it showed up as having a fault (my Thai was not good enough to understand what the fault is, but I guess something about how it controls the electronic choke)

Currently the shop is trying to find a replacement ECU, hoping one can be found soon, if not worse case I might have to go for an aftermarket ECU and find somewhere to map it.

thanks for everyone's input so far, I have the use of another vehicle sometimes but I am itching to drive my car!

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
aftermarket ecu....all the reason to mod the car more and more to fully utilise the ecu function.....
Thats one strong reason to never stop modding.

Mitsu ECU seems to be the weakest, many got issues with them. Even mine have been repaired before....:hmmmm:

I don't have my car back yet, it is running great when warm but very rough when cold.

I was meant to get it last week but the shop showed me the problem and spent several hours checking every sensor as well as changing the plugs.

Eventually they called an ECU specialist to check the ECU and it showed up as having a fault (my Thai was not good enough to understand what the fault is, but I guess something about how it controls the electronic choke)

Currently the shop is trying to find a replacement ECU, hoping one can be found soon, if not worse case I might have to go for an aftermarket ECU and find somewhere to map it.

thanks for everyone's input so far, I have the use of another vehicle sometimes but I am itching to drive my car!

the ecu or the electronic choke a.k.a fast idle bypass mechanism on the throttle body thats actually didnt work?

jay_lancer

Aug 21, 2015
Thailand
the ecu or the electronic choke a.k.a fast idle bypass mechanism on the throttle body thats actually didnt work?
The shop had spare throttle body's which they tried changing along with several other components before getting the ECU guy over, good suggestion though, I appreciate it!

they said that it was running fine before they took it to the exhaust shop for the custom pipe. I wonder if they welding there did something to the ECU?

The shop had spare throttle body's which they tried changing along with several other components before getting the ECU guy over, good suggestion though, I appreciate it!

they said that it was running fine before they took it to the exhaust shop for the custom pipe. I wonder if they welding there did something to the ECU?
Hope they remove the battery terminal when doing the welding, but for exhaust normally the welding done off the car, then just hook up to the car when ready, or yours require welding while on the car?:hmmmm:

to all those sifu out there just wanna ask u guys .. wheter a W124 260E benz can fit a supercharger with its stock engine ??