4g15 use 4g92 manual gearbox

kaihoong

Jun 1, 2019
Hi sifu2,
Before I am planning to mod my 4g15 vdo. After get advise, I plan to upgrade 4g93/4g92. Now my gearbox having problem, i ask for machanic overhaul need cost rm800+-. Than I direct buy a 1.6 gearbox (F5M222VRXG) complete set since future will upgrade to 1.6/1.8. But the problem is mine 1.5 can handle with this gearbox? I also will change new clutch set and flywheel, what size of clutch is better for now and should I use back 1.5 flywheel?
Please advise.

brokenjars

Jun 7, 2012
Kedah
Your 4g15 will be able to handle the 1.6 gearbox if its just plug and play. Maybe just the gear change characteristic change a bit.

kaihoong

Jun 1, 2019
Your 4g15 will be able to handle the 1.6 gearbox if its just plug and play. Maybe just the gear change characteristic change a bit.
I check my 1.5 gearbox final ratio is 4.322 and F5M222VRXG is 4.032. What is the different between this?
What flywheel n clutch should I use,
Option 1:
4g15 ori flywheel + 8/8.5 inch clutch.
Option 2:
Supertouring flywheel + 8/8.5 inch clutch.
Which is best performance for current situation

Personally I would not mix and match for peace of mind. Replace the whole engine and GB from a 4G93.

Displacement babeaaaaahh

Personally I would not mix and match for peace of mind. Replace the whole engine and GB from a 4G93.

Displacement babeaaaaahh
Yup, agreed. Power from displacement. How good your clutch, no power from engine, what to transfer?......

kaihoong

Jun 1, 2019
No choice, future will upgrade to 4g9x, I will not spend to fix 1.5 gearbox. Just want to know how was the performance like pickup or top different

1.3 and 1.5 gear ratios are shorter. 1.6 and 1.8 are taller. You want acceleration or top speed?

Reactions: sanekit

sanekit

Dec 9, 2015
Hi sifu2,
Before I am planning to mod my 4g15 vdo. After get advise, I plan to upgrade 4g93/4g92. Now my gearbox having problem, i ask for machanic overhaul need cost rm800+-. Than I direct buy a 1.6 gearbox (F5M222VRXG) complete set since future will upgrade to 1.6/1.8. But the problem is mine 1.5 can handle with this gearbox? I also will change new clutch set and flywheel, what size of clutch is better for now and should I use back 1.5 flywheel?
Please advise.
gear ratio longer. will take a while to get up to speed compare to your 1.5 gearbox. means your car will have no pickup except for 1st gear and 2nd gear. 3rd up to 5th gonna take a while and maybe will have trouble going uphill. can plug and play iinm but flywheel size maybe different.

kaihoong

Jun 1, 2019
gear ratio longer. will take a while to get up to speed compare to your 1.5 gearbox. means your car will have no pickup except for 1st gear and 2nd gear. 3rd up to 5th gonna take a while and maybe will have trouble going uphill. can plug and play iinm but flywheel size maybe different.
Yes, flywheel different lock with 4g15. That mean I need to lighten flywheel for improve pickup.

hello there car sifu.

please help me on deciding which one is better.

lightened Crank pulley:

Zerone vs Works vs Jasma vs aerospeed vs mythelogy

exhaust system:

i was thinking to install Dsport full exhaust system but i was just wondering,is there any other brand which is good for performance but > (low noise):biggrin:.

spark plug:
BRISK A-Line Yttrium vs Brisk Silver Racing vs Denso Iridium.

best coolant for myvi 1.3(traffic jam+aircond 24/7)

best lubrication for 5000km fast...