421 Vs 41

carsial

Jan 23, 2006
hi zthrians...
before i wud like to mod my exhaust..wud like some opinions from u guys..
1) its said tht 421 has more lows and 41 has more highs..is it true?
2) if i'll b using 41...will my FC b higher if i travel on busy roads wompared to 421?
thanks in advance!
hope for the reply...cheeers!

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
1) its said tht 421 has more lows and 41 has more highs..is it true? - YES
2) if i'll b using 41...will my FC b higher if i travel on busy roads wompared to 421? - YES

:) .. 421 is common and just go for it .. dont end-up on illegal mods.

Nieto

Aug 10, 2006
but if use automatic transmission, dun use 4-1... u will lost a lot of power

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
xtorm said:
hmm i sue 4-1, really fast rpm, smooth high rev, an iswara feeling pull at 7k is fun...hha

4-2-1, more torque for the hills climb...

wahhh u SUE 4-1 haaa??? so keng haaa??? :p

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
4-1 is for hi rev.

As engine speed increases, the exhaust will need to go out faster. The collector at the 421 will reduce the flow. Therefore you will notice 4-1 primaries are usually very much longer than 4-2-1

4-2-1 is for low and medium revs. The collector acts as a siphon to expedite valve overlap scavenging and boost back pressure.

Howeverm if customizing is possible, you may increase the primaries' lenght of the primaries on the 421 tp get higher rev flow or reducing the primaries of the 41 vice versa, the point is to get something in between.

Nieto

Aug 10, 2006
may i ask, y sum extractor flexible? i heard flexible will be better~?? any different flexi and not flexi??

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
All extractors are flexible/

It only depends wat they use.

For example Protons, they use a flexible hose which looks like a pineapple.

If not mistaken, Honda engine don use "pineappales" but they have a ball joint with spring retainers

These flexible joint allow for engine movement and vibration.

cooljas

Jan 24, 2005
I can say, if the engine is fully modded eg, high cams, hi compression piston, port n polish...using a 4-1 on a fully modded engine it will gain power at every rpm..ppl say it will kill the torque n will improve in high end which i believe tis saying is 'bullshit'!
For those basic mods i will recommend 4-2-1 n it will be sufficient enough...if basic mod engine use a 4-1 then it only kills the torque

Juz my point of view, hope tis helps!!

swap aka SWAP

May 31, 2005
PENANG/IPOH
It also type of the 421 or 41 brand ma..me used svt 20v..eng standat also can used 4-1..cusco brand la..eng feel light..very easy to go to 6k rpm..ya..41 for high rev eng..

i have just change my battery and after changing my battery..my RPM dropn to 400 when the car is idle and the whole car vibrate like crazy..before i change the battery my car RPM is around 800 plus....what happen to my car..izzit that when i change battery my ECU tend to reset it self? so do i need to reset or DYNO my car?by the way..i am driving a kelisa..so anyone can help me?