185/60/R14 can fit small car?

g9000z

May 2, 2014
Hi Sifus,

This is my 1st post here. need some advice on changing the tyre size.
My car now using 165/65/R13 (Atos)
can I change to 185/60/R14?

its a wider tyre, can I use myvi rims to cater this tyre?

Thanks in advance :biggrin:

Hi Sifus,

This is my 1st post here. need some advice on changing the tyre size.
My car now using 165/65/R13 (Atos)
can I change to 185/60/R14?

its a wider tyre, can I use myvi rims to cater this tyre?

Thanks in advance :biggrin:
By calculation you cannot use 185/60R14 as the overall diameter is bigger by 6%. Your car will suffer at pick up, FC will increase, car will be harder to stop from high speed.
Right size is 175/55R14 but I don't think there is such a tyre size available.
You can use 165/55R14 , overall is 1.4% smaller or 165/60R14 which is 1.6% bigger however tyre choices are little.
For the rims check your Atos PCD. I remember Myvi is PCD 100, if same, then check the offset and lastly the center bore whether big enough to go in the front.

g9000z

May 2, 2014
By calculation you cannot use 185/60R14 as the overall diameter is bigger by 6%. Your car will suffer at pick up, FC will increase, car will be harder to stop from high speed.
Right size is 175/55R14 but I don't think there is such a tyre size available.
You can use 165/55R14 , overall is 1.4% smaller or 165/60R14 which is 1.6% bigger however tyre choices are little.
For the rims check your Atos PCD. I remember Myvi is PCD 100, if same, then check the offset and lastly the center bore whether big enough to go in the front.
Thanks for your answer.
However, I have some noob questions.
why 185/60/R14 will have wider diameter than 165/60/R14
from I read that the '60' is the tyre profile, and the only difference will be the tyre width.
please explain a bit.
:hmmmm:

Can go for 165/50/15 if want bigger rims hehehe!

165 or 175 14" tyre will be good enough

ken yeang

Atos's wheel arches aren't big to begin with. I suggest to stick with 13 or 14 inch rim.
Anything more, FC and car performance will suffer...Besides, the car isn't that powerful, and taxing the car with bigger wheels aint helping.

Atos's wheel arches aren't big to begin with. I suggest to stick with 13 or 14 inch rim.
Anything more, FC and car performance will suffer...Besides, the car isn't that powerful, and taxing the car with bigger wheels aint helping.
atleast 165 14" k-car tyre easy to source and have a lot of option too

g9000z

May 2, 2014
Hmm, yeah the wheel arch is quite small.
I guess will just change to 165/55R14 lah. :biggrin:
I thot initially want to get a wider tyre, but no choice, car limitation.

Thanks for your answer.
However, I have some noob questions.
why 185/60/R14 will have wider diameter than 165/60/R14
from I read that the '60' is the tyre profile, and the only difference will be the tyre width.
please explain a bit.
:hmmmm:
185 is the width, 60 is profile therefore for
185/60 is 185mm x 60% = 111mm sidewall height
165/60 is 165mm x 60% = 99mm
sidewall is 22mm bigger (radius), therefore diameter is 44mm bigger already

Test here....
Visual Tyre Size Calculator | Kouki Tech

---------- Post added at 05:46 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:44 PM ----------

Can go for 165/50/15 if want bigger rims hehehe!
No point unless can get good performance tyres, if not 165/65R13 to 165/60R14 to 165/50R15 all 165 width only, however to 165/55R14 got slightly more tyre choices. Even 165/65R13 very little only...:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 05:48 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:46 PM ----------

165 or 175 14" tyre will be good enough
175 will be good but 14" got 175/65R14 which is too big.....

---------- Post added at 05:49 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:48 PM ----------

Hmm, yeah the wheel arch is quite small.
I guess will just change to 165/55R14 lah. :biggrin:
I thot initially want to get a wider tyre, but no choice, car limitation.
Yup, I think no choice, because even to 15" still 165 only......:bawling:

ken yeang

install wide body/fender arches.......wide-wide tyres oso can use....eheheheh...

ken yeang

if tyre no stock, can order....

My frenz drives an old school car, wanted a kangkang aggresive look that compliment the wide fenders he installed.....so he ordered his type of tyres from tyre shop...At Putatan samor

ken yeang

that is why, better stick with standard spec....No worry about rubbing, performance deterioration and save money...Save all the headache and heartache.

Anyway, puncture isnt a problem. Can tampal easily. Besides, that old skool car is just a sunday drive. My fren hardly bring the car far away. The further distance was for a photo session. hahahahah...

Today, we are all the way at Melaka, the historical city of Malaysia. We have no prejudice on what car we work on, as long you love your car, we are always here to give your car our best.

Upon arrival, we inspected the car for surface...