Perdana V6 Community Forum *

xorcist128

Feb 3, 2010
sorry out of topic again, but i have a noob question.

can anyone pls explain about the O/D function for the perdana? just got the car and im quite confused about it. coz it shows O/D OFF on the dashboard - meaning its off or on? which is the one thats more fuel saving and etc? anyone, pls advise. thanks

gringo...wah u found so fast ah? u should get the complete halfcut bro, so wont make u pening later on...

xorcist, OD off mean u running on 3 gears only with higher revs, if OD on (means no light) meaning u driving on 4 gears lor....for better fuel consumption, the reason for OD off (3 gears) are meant for city driving, so it wont stress out your gbox, it wont change gear that often, but normally ppl will leave their OD on .hope this explains bro.......
if u have any questions, just ask.

Man_Perdana

Nov 16, 2008
KB Kelantan
Hi.. I'm new here.. last 2008 i've installed RVR engine on my Perdana.. the problem is the aircond compressor are too close to the body and its make an annoying sound.. Are there anybody use this RVR engine before and facing the same problem.. any solution..Thx

RVR is an MPV but also using 4G63T engine, almost 95% similar to evo engine,
for example airtrek & evo7, both diff vehicles, but same engine

RVR - Recreational Vehicle Runner

Man_Perdana

Nov 16, 2008
KB Kelantan
Its a 4G63T engine.. Similar but not the same as EVO 2 engine n oni have TD04. Its come with auto n manual transmission. Correct me if i'm wrong.. THX

mkdreamervl

Jul 6, 2005
Ah.. godammit i forgot. Perdana with V6 engine need to modify mounting to fit in Evo 1-3/RVR engines whereas 6a12TT/6a13TT are just plug and plays right.

Another hassle, Eh guys.. If u modify ur mounting... and lets say * TOUCHWOOD* ur car accident, insurance will let u claim anot ? they sure kacau say u mod mounting right ?

xorcist128

Feb 3, 2010
gringo...wah u found so fast ah? u should get the complete halfcut bro, so wont make u pening later on...

xorcist, OD off mean u running on 3 gears only with higher revs, if OD on (means no light) meaning u driving on 4 gears lor....for better fuel consumption, the reason for OD off (3 gears) are meant for city driving, so it wont stress out your gbox, it wont change gear that often, but normally ppl will leave their OD on .hope this explains bro.......
bro, thanks for ur reply. so ure saying OD off is better for fuel consumption?

why would ppl use OD on when OD off saves / makes ur gbox last longer?

those "many" ppl that leave their OD on -- is that why perdana always got gbox prob? i duno, just an assumption.

Man_Perdana

Nov 16, 2008
KB Kelantan
Yup.. u r rite... i'm used the manual TT mounting for my RVR engine... i asked 1 of my fren just now n he said tat 4 those who using the RVR engine should modified the aircond compressor position and modified the engine mounting oso...

yup, as long as your engine is endorsed....

man,
for your problem, it could be a simple job, just tell your mech to
adjust the placement of the compressor, if cannot make a bracket to hold the compressor in place so that it wont hit the body.....

xorcist128

Feb 3, 2010

bro, thanks for ur reply. so ure saying OD off is better for fuel consumption?

why would ppl use OD on when OD off saves / makes ur gbox last longer?

those "many" ppl that leave their OD on -- is that why perdana always got gbox prob? i duno, just an assumption.

no, OD on is using 4gears, thus it will have better fuel consumption
majority ppl will drive using OD on, it wont stress your gbox so much....

nope, the problem with perdana gbox is because it overheats quickly, thats y
ppl will install ATF coolers, to cool down the ATF in the gbox......i also recommend to use toyota ATF type 4.

r3dster

Mar 26, 2006
so what model does a 2wd 6a12tt comes from?
toyota ATF type-4.....how many liters does the geabox needs?

xorcist128

Feb 3, 2010
no, OD on is using 4gears, thus it will have better fuel consumption
majority ppl will drive using OD on, it wont stress your gbox so much....

nope, the problem with perdana gbox is because it overheats quickly, thats y
ppl will install ATF coolers, to cool down the ATF in the gbox......i also recommend to use toyota ATF type 4.

ouh.. so lemme get this straight.

1) OD on = when theres no indication on the dashboard - correct?

2) OD on is the better choice because it will not stress the gbox so much as it changes gears more often?

3) I read somewhere about ATF coolers also.. but what does ATF stand for? :embarassed:

4) What is the current price to install the ATF cooler? 1.5k?

222 - from eterna 1.8 (2wd) flywheel 8.5"
232 - from eterna tt (4wd) flywheel 9"
312 - eterna (2wd) flywheel 9"
322 -not sure got or not...by thats my gbox code....

xorcist,
1. correct
2. correct
3. Automatic Transmission Fluid
4. if halfcut rm150+ installation approx rm50-60
brand new hayden rm550 with installation.

Hi guys~plan to find l2 turbo engine
Do u guys have any recommend on any halfcut shop to find it at klang or klang valley?
Nid reccomendation pls~