Will drifting spoil the car?

greatharold

Sep 1, 2004
Drifting on stone/sand ground...will it spoil the car?
For e.g. the suspension, ball bearing and engine..

Stressing the engine at 5k rpm for around 3-5 seconds, any damage?

Noob here... :rolleyes:

DRFT_240sx

hahaha..... 5k? drifting i think its more like hitting redline usually......=)

Autoracingsyndicate

Sep 1, 2004
Originally posted by DRFT_240sx@Oct 9 2004, 08:09
hahaha..... 5k? drifting i think its more like hitting redline usually......=)
:lol: Totally agreed...mayb even hittin ova the redline.... :)

WAJA2003

Find a big place to drift lehh
In wet floor is realy best...but u r FF or FR???
If FF put two pcs plate(fast foor carriage plate) on u rear wheel n pull up u handbrake to lock the tyre n plate.......then press gas pedal n feel drifting lorr

DRFT_240sx

if u are doin it on sand...it will definately damage your car if not engine wise... suspension and underbody cosmetic damages....

greatharold

Sep 1, 2004
Proton wira is FF or FR?
What is FF and FR?

I only know FWD and RWD...
FWD-front wheel drive
RWD-rear wheel drive

WinDz

Mar 29, 2004
Originally posted by kher@Oct 9 2004, 23:54
drift will damge engine, tyres, suspension n ur wallet( petrol).
yea true. and sometimes ur car and urself too.. so careful when playing around ler.. especially for proton cars u have to be extra careful.. get a harder springs for ur car before playing.. its dangerous to play with stock wira springs, it flex like mad ( just my self experience so far, playing butt sliding, pls do not flame me if im wrong..)

Originally posted by nickoholic@Oct 11 2004, 01:24
windz,y use harder spring?
btw,how can FF proton cars drift? i thought they can't..
Everything's possible :lol: Automatic gear Wira Aeroback pun boleh :D just a matter of whether u can control it or not is the problem!! :rolleyes:

gti88

by using common sense, you'd know that by drifting, spirited driving
it will cause more wear and tear to the car's engine, suspension,etc
as compared to normal driving.

but if you actually drift and you love to drift,
i dont think you'd mind the repair bills and such.

WinDz

Mar 29, 2004
nickoholic: if u ask me .. i dont call all this drift la.. just more like ass dragging... (own opinion and experience, again pls dun fire me.. >.<)by using a hard springs ur car will yaw less .. cos last time when i use stock springs.. car yaw like hell when i do heavy cornering and when i counter the car goes 360 degree.(luckily that time no car, if not im sure dead) im pretty satisfy using hard springs to play around now even my butt memang suffer la going out bumps.

Everyone seems to like it but i see it as just another proton with a different name. IMO i dont think that Persona is going to sell successfully, just as the proton canselor ( or how do you spell this ). I was hoping to see another model completely. I havent seen it in real life yet so i cant quite judge, but still i have only seen a canselor once since its launch. anyone seen a canselor more than once on the roads?