Tyres.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
What tyres are you guys running and how would you rate them?
Now using Continental Conti Sport Contact (CSC) 5 and 3. I'd say these are excellent tires especially the CSC5, very good in the wet and excellent in the dry. I cannot comment yet on the durability though coz I've only used it since last October or just over 10k km and they're all still in very good condition. However got inputs from bro VR2 who is a well known tire sifu here that these tires are a bit prone to sidewall cracking or bulging but fingers crossed hopefully won't happen on mine. :biggrin:

Bro. wabbott from NZ and since he posted in MAC thread, probably tyres for the trek. If up size to lower aspect ratio probably can use those Contis too.
The Sports contact in most tyre test fares pretty well. Like CSC5 have been in the top or top 3 in most test, and now CSC6 also. However OEM CSC3 that came with car fitted with them, Many had sidewall bugle after half way use. Actually saw one on friend's the local Jetta. This one bulge until burst. CSC5 another friend had sidewall crack

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
hi there wabbott. so i notice u drove airtrek. is it a turbo model? any mods done?

well right now im using achilles atr sport 2. so far so good even on rainy day. on hot day, maybe just enough grip for my slow car.. my brother currently on RE003 and heard it quite good on hot day, plenty of grip. on rainy day, its a so-so.. if you plan on tracking those RE003, it would be a bang for buck..

C99D-MMC5537

Jan 9, 2008
Yup I have an Airtrek. What are your opinions on the Bridgestone Potenza RE003s?
Re003 have a very good dry grip with best steering feedback. For me the dry grip is as good as GTradial Champiro SX2 (my previous track tyre.m) which treadwear rated at 200. Re003 is 220. But sx2 soft sidewall make it lose to this cheap re003. But the aquaplanning resistance is terrible. Currently im running on re003 and planning to go back to GY Eagle D5 which i previously use when it worn out.

Note: my current track tyre is Kumho Ecsta V720 and for me the best tyre in its class. Treadwear 200.

wabbott

May 4, 2016
Wellington
Hi 4gbanger,
Yup have a turbo model Airtrek, no modifications as of yet spending the money bringing it up to a healthy state. In the five months I've had it, I've only done 1,000km of driving. So far have done a heaps of maintenance items plus a bit of work on the transmission, getting the RE003s fitted tomorrow, was actually thinking about the Netuon Sport 2 or Altenzo Sport Comforter but kind of got put of them (reviews were pretty good though)

How much cheaper are the Netuon Sport 2 or Altenzo Sport Comforter against the RE-003 over there?

wabbott

May 4, 2016
Wellington
Over here, the cheapest I could get the Altenzo Sport Comforters (225/45/18s) was $168, cheapest for Neuton Sport 2 was $122, and RE003s on special was $231 each. (normally $318 each)

Yah! The Neuton are cheaper, even for my size 215/45R17, RE-003 is around RM300plus the NT8000 is RM220, so about RM100 difference

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
it all depends on your application. if you just plan to drive just on the street, you can get those cheaper tyre. if plan on getting it to track, better get those re003s or achilles 123s

GSR blues = turbo and fueling probs..huhuhu :(

Guys..hi and thanx for droping by..i have a few problem and i'm new to Turbo and forced induction..so hopefully the sifu's out there can lend me a few tips and advice..

o.k..my last prob was done..but noe i have a new prob..which is that i'm ysung a TD05HL from a vr4 rs..the stock injector for that engine is 510cc..but currently i'm using only 390cc..so my prob is this,when i get into the boost rpm,everything is good till 5500rpm..but...