ideal cruising temperatures for 4age 20v?

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
huhuhu...your car water temp reading is weird la...post the result after you change thermostat...i'm a bit curious to know too... :listen:

and how is your radiator water level...??
Water level full..

It's a 22 year old engine afterall.. With a 22 y.o. Thermostat.. Hehe

I'll keep u guys posted :wink:

Water level full..

It's a 22 year old engine afterall.. With a 22 y.o. Thermostat.. Hehe

I'll keep u guys posted :wink:
Wah! thermostat unchanged for 22 years.....really can tahan.....My vr also 22 years but changed once if not mistaken...

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
Wah! thermostat unchanged for 22 years.....really can tahan.....My vr also 22 years but changed once if not mistaken...
i didn't know if d previous owner change it or not..

but these 10 yrs i own it.. never change.. until recently discovered this weird temp readings.. :biggrin:

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
changed my thermostat.. new original toyota genuine part

rate 82deg celcius..

temp meter still d same.. suspected culprit.. radiator fan always on.. :banghead:

changed my thermostat.. new original toyota genuine part

rate 82deg celcius..

temp meter still d same.. suspected culprit.. radiator fan always on.. :banghead:
Check Radiator clogged? or water pump and/or radiator fan running optimum speed?

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
Check Radiator clogged? or water pump and/or radiator fan running optimum speed?
it was running cooler than it should..

i think it's bcoz fan running all d time.. plus my aircond is bypassed too..

it's impossible to get a mechanic to spend time on this..

they suggest to get new wiring.. easier for them to install.. but the cost :banghead:

so, i guess i got to do it myself :wink:

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
The ECU wont allow the VVT to be trigger if the temp is too low...
One of my customer wired his SVT aircon fan to be on always, end up his engine temp always running at 1/10 scale. At the end, he has to "wait for temp raise to enjoy the power" :biggrin:

So please wire back your aircon wiring if you dont want to potong stim :biggrin: :biggrin:

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
The ECU wont allow the VVT to be trigger if the temp is too low...
One of my customer wired his SVT aircon fan to be on always, end up his engine temp always running at 1/10 scale. At the end, he has to "wait for temp raise to enjoy the power" :biggrin:

So please wire back your aircon wiring if you dont want to potong stim :biggrin: :biggrin:
actually, i have no clue how to wire back d aircon & d fan..

any suggestion/method will help.. :biggrin:

it was running cooler than it should..

i think it's bcoz fan running all d time.. plus my aircond is bypassed too..

it's impossible to get a mechanic to spend time on this..

they suggest to get new wiring.. easier for them to install.. but the cost :banghead:

so, i guess i got to do it myself :wink:
Funny, because the thermostat should control the temperature?:confused:

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
Funny, because the thermostat should control the temperature?:confused:
yeah.. I was thinking d same thing..

maybe bcoz d thermostat have a lil hole n a loose plug in it.. around 2mm i think..

i asked d seller, what's that for? he said it's for air bubbles to go out..

that hole leaking xtra cool water inside my engine i think..

so, need to hotten d water a bit by setting d fan on auto on/off

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
if u can see, it's on the north east of that thing

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
Bro, how much u bought this termostat?
Rm70 with d o-ring

---------- Post added at 08:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:10 PM ----------

It's new original Toyota genuine parts :wink:

how do those ppl raise their bonet for hot air to come out???

need to change de hinge or just selit a piece of metal in between de hinge's mounting?