Good tyre for 195/50 R16 size

itachi0968

May 27, 2011

I'm driving a Mk7 Fiesta and I was wondering, which kind of tyre are best for all weather and also good for occasional blast down winding roads. I did a few look outs in the market but have no idea about what tyre do best. I'm currently on stock Conti CC2 from the factory. I'll also appreciate if you guys do provide the price range for the tyres so that I can plan ahead for the budget. Thanks guys :cheers:

Bro., the Conti you mention is CSC2 (Sports Contact 2), right? I have not seen a CC2, because from CC (Comfort Contact) they went to CC5 already....
As for this size 195/50R16, not many choices at the moment. If yours is already the CSC2, it is already meant for wet / dry performance.
Others in this size are Falken ZE-912, GY Assurance fuel max and probably Toyo T-1R

itachi0968

May 27, 2011
Mine's running on ContiPremium Contact 2 sorry for the wrong info. My mind are more like biased towards Michelin PS3 but I dont find any in this size. If its good already then I should just stick back to this OEM tyre instead. Thanks :D

---------- Post added at 12:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:35 PM ----------

vr2turbo,

Is it possible to get Goodyear F1 Asy2, Michelin PS3, Bridgestone Potenza within this size? I did some search online and found out that CPC2 have quite a poor thread wear and that is not really good as I do quite a few highway trips recently.. Thanks in advance :)

Mine's running on ContiPremium Contact 2 sorry for the wrong info. My mind are more like biased towards Michelin PS3 but I dont find any in this size. If its good already then I should just stick back to this OEM tyre instead. Thanks :D

---------- Post added at 12:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:35 PM ----------

vr2turbo,

Is it possible to get Goodyear F1 Asy2, Michelin PS3, Bridgestone Potenza within this size? I did some search online and found out that CPC2 have quite a poor thread wear and that is not really good as I do quite a few highway trips recently.. Thanks in advance :)
Oh! it is the CPC2. Premium contact is in between CC and CSC, sort of comfort performance, for comfort and quiet.
If you want durability as mentioned long lasting then you cannot go for UHP tyres as normally they wear faster but grips better.
As mentioned also 195/50R16 not many choices. I don't think they have in PS3. GY Asy 2 starts with 215/45R17 upwards. The only tyre I saw was a Jap made Falken ZE-912 but it cost RM300 each. Other then that Conti have the CSC1 but this is very old technology. First CSC and now already CSC5, so it is way back technology.
I will try and check what other tyres have but I don't think got much....

itachi0968

May 27, 2011
ahh then its okay lah dont need to trouble you so much.. like that stick back to OEM better cuz priced around 250+ if not mistaken. thanks for the help tho :)

you are welcome, but I will still be checking them out as got other members asking also.....

itachi0968

May 27, 2011
vr2turbo,

may I ask, should i stick to CPC2 OEM for Fiesta or go to CSC3? As what I've read from a UK forum quite a lot user of CSC3 are satisfied of its ability and according to their ratings overall are better than CPC2. Now my worries are does changing from CPC2 to CSC3 will affect the road noise as its considered as UHP in their forum. Thanks!

vr2turbo,

may I ask, should i stick to CPC2 OEM for Fiesta or go to CSC3? As what I've read from a UK forum quite a lot user of CSC3 are satisfied of its ability and according to their ratings overall are better than CPC2. Now my worries are does changing from CPC2 to CSC3 will affect the road noise as its considered as UHP in their forum. Thanks!
There are a few who did mention CSC3 being noisy and they are much harder (bumpy ride)
If CPC2 meets your requirement you can stick back to them...these are mid level tyres...comfort performance...

itachi0968

May 27, 2011
Ahh thanks for your info! really appreciate it! Then i should just stick back to original CPC2 provided. Thanks for the help :D

you are welcome.....my friend on 185/55R16 also going for CPC2 after going round asking for 195/50R16 and 195/55R16

azlan96

Sep 21, 2011
Ampang
Sorry for replying an old thread, I am also driving a Fiesta

After searching at tyrereviews UK, the highest rated tyre for this size is the Vredestein Sportrac 5, any idea where can I get this tyre in Malaysia?

I searched Michelin website, no tyres available for this size

Goodyear, they have Assurance TripleMax, is it ok?

azlan96

Sep 21, 2011
Ampang

According to http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre-Size/16-Inch-Tyres/195-50-16-Tyres.htm , the best tire for this size is the Vredestein Sportrac 5, which I dont think I can get it locally, Michelin Malaysia have no tyres for this size, Goodyear has the Assurance TripleMax with the so called HydroGrip technology.. Better than CPC2?
I don't think any import on the Vredestein Sportrac 5. As for GY Triplemax look more like NCT5. Thread pattern plenty of sipes. Once these disappear the wet traction should be bad.

Are you willing to up size.
205/45R16 - diameter smaller by 1.75%
205/50R16 - diameter bigger by 1.66%
Both within the 3% ruling

205/50R16 will have like Michelin PS3 and GY F1D5...:driver:

Just saw this new budget tyre have your size. How good, don't know. Have not tried...
Rovelo Sports A1

azlan96

Sep 21, 2011
Ampang
205/50/16 looks too thick..

If no other choice, I might have to choose RE003 Bridgestone. I do mileage tracking so every decimal of the mileage counts..

How about Toyo DRB? Checked toyo website and they have the DRB for 195/50/16..

Dunlop Sport BluResponse?

this morning my fren found that his car is gone when he going to work.....he suspect car get stolen by midnight.....his car is wira special edition black colour..wif engine 1.8 twin cam..16 sport rim..others all standard...location car stolen is sg.buloh new village...