Getting Started!

turbolover

1,000 RPM
Nov 17, 2005
Hey fellow enthusiast,
I'm currently driving a putra with an auto tranny.I'm thinking of transplanting a 4G93T(GSR).Although i have driven a turbo before but i'm still a novice in the turbo world.I was driving a bolt on turbo which i just bought second hand.Sold it away about 4 years back.
Now what i intend to find out is how much is a half cut of the GSR?What r the rates for the workmanship of the transplant?How much do i have to pay to get the car and the new engine no. to be approved?Will i be harrassed by JPJ officers?Do i have to get the engine ported and what parts do i need to change after i purchased a half cut?
I plan to use the original intercooler as the Vr4 IC that i was using tends to heat up the engine as it is blocking the radiator.Don't shoot me down if i figure it out wrongly:_:
Cause the last time when i own one it always heat up if i keep the the speed at a constant 170kmh and also it heated up when i was driving up cameron n genting.
Anyway i will be darn happy if you guys can answer all my queries.Happy driving!

Cohiba

Known Member
Oct 12, 2006
well the gsr halfcut nowadays range from 5K-7K usually...depending on mods and condition....

rates for workmanship on engine transplants usually is around 1.2K-2K depending on what needs to be done and where u do it....

i dont think it should be a problem since your planning to dump in another 1.8lit engine..only dif is that the gsr has a 'T' at the end...hehe...but it takes quite long to get the letter from Putrajaya....maybe a lil duit kopi can speed things up a little... :)

about the intercooler, i dont think its the VR4 intercooler....alot of people i know are using bigger intercoolers than the VR4,and their temp is fine....maybe radiator bocor or something...hehe....

hope that helps

turbolover

1,000 RPM
Nov 17, 2005