Ford Cortina MK3 rebuild

whatdamn

whatdamn

Sep 29, 2004
Cheras, KL, Mal
hi guys,

just inherited a 1974 Ford Cortina MK3 and would like to know the following things:

1. body work/restoration/rust removal

2. engine transplant or stick with the 1.6 kent crossflow and mod from there

3. any other advice from other mk3 cortina owners/previous owners

thanks.

ken yeang

ken yeang

Congrats!!!

Maybe putting on some pic of your ride can help other ZTH members to offer their advices/comments....:_:

fstr

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
nick, rebuilt ur engine, put in a weber dcoe, contact ramly (escort kaki), he also has a focus engine fully rebuilt on the stands...ask him see wanna sell or not lor ehehehhehehe :p

whatdamn

whatdamn

Sep 29, 2004
Cheras, KL, Mal
fred,
thanks for the advice. was thinking of doing that since the kent 1.6 crossflow is kinda good from what i've gathered from the internet. the thing is, where can i find weber products in kl?

will post a pic of it later.

gonna collect the car now. so if any of you see a matte black cortina cruising or stuck along the federal highway on the way to tmn connaught cheras, then wave or stop by and give me a hand k?

haha.

update later. :)

meantime, keep the ideas/advice coming.

whatdamn

whatdamn

Sep 29, 2004
Cheras, KL, Mal
calling it a day from stripping the interior of the cortina.

sad to say, there are holes here and there. but so far from what i can see, the main beams of the floor pan are not affected. it is the portion of the floor pan where passengers put their feet which is a prob.

hope it can be welded back.

pics will be up sometime tmrw.

i guess i will update this thread whenever updates are available.

whatdamn

whatdamn

Sep 29, 2004
Cheras, KL, Mal
updated signature so that ppl can identify the car as stated in the topic of the thread.

umm, i heard that cars above the age of 30 are entitled to vintage car insurance or something like that...any info to share fellow forummers?

whatdamn

whatdamn

Sep 29, 2004
Cheras, KL, Mal
anybody has contacts for vintage car body restoration specialist? or a competant panel beater/painter?

pls post.

i could use all the help i ca get. :)

have a blessed merry christmas to one and all.

whatdamn

whatdamn

Sep 29, 2004
Cheras, KL, Mal
removed the door trims earlier, and discovered more rust! argh!!!

also, the B pillar on the passenger side is rather weak from the rust. most probably due to rain water seeping through the unaligned doors.

confirmed that bodywork is gonna cost a fortune.

whatdamn

whatdamn

Sep 29, 2004
Cheras, KL, Mal
more pics have been taken, but unfortunately, due to the quakes in taiwan i cannot access photobucket to upload them.

will update as soon as possible.

nobody has any idea regarding body restoration workshops huh?

E3newbie

E3newbie

Aug 20, 2006
Friend, that is a DANMED cool car!! Please make sure you try to mate it with something with omph under the hood! Please update on your progress.. I've been dreaming of a ride like that!

whatdamn

whatdamn

Sep 29, 2004
Cheras, KL, Mal
e3newbie,
thanks. most probably will rebuild the current engine lest add some upgrades here and there. main concern is bodywork as the pics i will post when this whole internet quake problem is solved will tell.

nobody has any info on weber carburetor pricing and availability?

Hassan

Hassan

Jul 1, 2005
Yo bro... nice car!~ I have a 72 mk3 1600GT, the gt engine quite different than the 1600L... the engine spec is totally different, my advise to you, better you stick with that engine first... try and put the 4 throttle weber... superb, mine are going about 8000rpm... without high cam... if complete with high cam, sure can get up to 10,000rpm!~ superb, standby botol buat isi minyak ok but the perfomance is really satisfying!~ Just renew my roadtax and insurance for a highway test/setting!~ the car was actually my dad's... he use it for about 32 years... I've asked him before about the top speed... he said that she can go up to 130mph... I've never tested it yet, cause there's still a lot of restoration to do... I got problem with my chassis, going to rebuild it 100%, I dunno where to find the parts in KL, but I do know that u can get it at Kedah, Batu Pahat, Pontian, Kulai, Kota Tinggi, and also JB... Try to make appointment with this guy, [email protected]... tell him that "Hassan" introduce him to u... He should be able to help u!~ We are brothers!~ Glad to know a cortina mk3 owner! this is my mail [email protected]... mail me!!! the cortina mk3 scene here in JB is getting hotter!~ CORTINA RULES!~

I'm thinking of repainting my satria neo R3 in a matte color. something like the original fire red but in matte finish. i am hoping if you all can recommend me a shop or something for me to get an estimate. thanks~