CA18DET cf SR20DET

Hawke

Sep 3, 2004
To all the Sifus around,

Need your help on how to tell the difference between a CA18DET engine and an SR20DET engine.

Is the engine type found on the engine itself? Do they look different? If so, how?

Also, how do you know which model the engine is? Eg. read in another post that 1991, there were 2 types of SR20DET, one which runs at 175 hp and the other runs at 205 hp.

Learning about RWD engines now.

Thanks in advance

SideWaysGrey

May 12, 2004
Seremban, NS
Keep getting this kinda post all the time.
U can read up on old postings. Therez more than U ask for in there. Or do a search in Yahoo or Google.

Hawke

Sep 3, 2004
I have read all the posts. I am not so much interested in the difference in specs, etc. cause like you said, it has been covered, but how do I physically tell the difference in an S13 engine bay whether it is a CA18DET or an SR20DET?

That is the actual question I would like to know.

7urn57yl3

Oct 9, 2004
Originally posted by Hawke@Jan 24 2005, 21:39
I have read all the posts. I am not so much interested in the difference in specs, etc. cause like you said, it has been covered, but how do I physically tell the difference in an S13 engine bay whether it is a CA18DET or an SR20DET?

That is the actual question I would like to know.
The CA18 has an ugly rocker cover. The SR20DET's rocker cover is nicer. hehehe.

Man.... maybe pictures will help. google CA18DET pictures then do the same for sr20det... should help.

nyapheng

Jan 25, 2005
if i didnt miss out
ca18det is from RWD 180sx
but the sr20det is from silvia or pursal
sr20det got two type
one is 205HP and the other one is 230HP which diffrent on the 4 port direct injection useful on high rpm

BabyGodzillaGTi-R

Nov 24, 2003
4 port direct injection?
er what's that?
Sounds new.

SideWaysGrey

May 12, 2004
Seremban, NS
CA18DET

SR20DET

DoNuT

www.drifthouse.net
???? heheheheh

anyway guys ca18 det it's top feed and sr20 is side feed. horse power totally different.

sr20 det comes in FF and FR and so does ca18 det too.

sr20 det there are a few model, 52f red top black top kouki and 65f s14 vtc or s15 6 speed vtc.

i think this thread has been posted up before try search this up you might able to find it .:)

akimoto

Nov 20, 2003
wahlau....d ca18det cam cover damn ugly man......

question: Can I use SR20DET cam cover on my ca18det??? Cannot tahan d ugliness of ca18det cam cover!!!!

Hawke

Sep 3, 2004
Thank you to all sifu's. Really helpful.

guest18

Jul 4, 2004
out of curiosity ...
how does ga16de perform in comparison to mivec
performance wise fuel consumption and reliability

also anyone using fj20det or qd18de ?
realy want to know old school

narx

wow question of the day man...

i`ll leave this to sunnyboy

his car can tapau a lot of cars ber tiang tiang..

hahahaha

7urn57yl3

Oct 9, 2004
Originally posted by DoNuT@Jan 25 2005, 10:11
???? heheheheh

anyway guys ca18 det it's top feed and sr20 is side feed. horse power totally different.

sr20 det comes in FF and FR and so does ca18 det too.

sr20 det there are a few model, 52f red top black top kouki and 65f s14 vtc or s15 6 speed vtc.

i think this thread has been posted up before try search this up you might able to find it .:)
weyyyyy.... rnn14 SR20DET no have ah? :P

that's 54c! 4 throttle! Power Xtreme!

hahahaha... parts oso xtreme... :rolleyes:

eg9 bodykit wanted especially seat n spoiler..contact me = 0129345136