BT 20v sound like typewriter

amien

Jul 12, 2010
sabah
all sifu 20v...
my engine had this sound after replace valve seal..my fren said the sound come from shim..
how to solve it..is it need to change a new shim:hmmmm:
how much to replace it...

casconaro

Aug 17, 2007
Normal bro my car are same........ After porting........no need tochange shim lah.......

it could be of your mech. mixed al the shim and not installed it according to their original arrangement because shim might have different thickness according to the shim bucket+camshaft clearance.. :adore::

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
I think we have discussed about this typewriter/diesel sound on 20V engines before. Most likely it is due to the VVT intake cam pulley that's causing the sound. Replacing with a new VVT cam pulley should resolve this issue (personally worked for me).

Good luck!

starlife

Feb 26, 2007
yaya ... ST / BT ... were same .... tik tik tak tak ... was da shim .... after u replace it wit new ...it will come back after 2-3 months .. depends of ur driving (GANAS or not)

meg_omen

Oct 28, 2004
Home - Klang; O
Welcome to the world of 20V...:proud:

noise...
- re-check shim/valve clearance
- vvt pulley... service or change
good luck...:burnout:

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
we dont have this with the 4e, lol

personally, i think the shims clearance shudnt be dat obvious, imo its down to the quality of oil dat u r using. what oil do u use sir?

iam using a mere 4g91, and i think everybody knows how dis engine TICKS; like a mesin jahit yo!!!! what i found was, it only ticks when iam using certain oil jer, and certain brands keeps it quiet. total is one of the expensive oil dat kept it quiet, but i cudnt afford to maintain dis brand, so went to sum other brands instead. i hope dis helps sir

plank

Jun 10, 2009
IPOH- SETIAWAN
same as me...
But the typewriter sound decrease a little bit when i using Chemlube oil,,,,
the sad news is my lubeoil decrease day by day,,, weekend must top up.....

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
err, i know of a guy dat uses chemlube and it doesnt evaporate dat much sir. what grade of chemlube did u use? is there any leak in the engine bay? do u notice any white smoke when revving it up hard? chemlube is one of the best choice out there imo

plank

Jun 10, 2009
IPOH- SETIAWAN
i'm using 10w40,,, i think i use wrong SAE,,,, bcos my engine already clock 134***km,,
1 month 1 liter,,,,, after this change to 20w50...
my engine dont have any leak,,, when high rev sometime black smoke come out... white smoke 'tak perasan',,,

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
please check the pcv sir, its a valve on totp of the cam cover, if ur engine is in good condition and not consuming oil, no leak anywhere in the bay, then dats the only possible way to experience oil loss. its just a cheap replacement jer tu..

---------- Post added at 11:47 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:45 AM ----------

10w-40 is a good choice for dat mileage sir, whereas 20-50 may be too thick for ur application. the thicker oil may solve ur problem, but i wud suggest u check all other possibilities of the oil loss before changing to a thicker oil as it may not be necessary

plank

Jun 10, 2009
IPOH- SETIAWAN
thanks xtremeleo for your suggestion,,,, i will check the pcv
from wikipedia - A plugged or malfunctioning PCV system will eventually damage an engine. better change my PCV,, how much cost to change PCV,,,

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
Brand new VVT pulley should cost around RM800... or you could get a recond VVT pulley for RM400 inclusive of installation.

Dear friends,

Just want to get some info for solid mounting. How's the performance, reliability, and the cost... Anybody have experience.....

ZAM