4g13 piston.... maximum oversize

razo007

Sep 7, 2011
Kedah
hye... i wanna ask to all sifu2... 4g13 blok engine... what maximum oversize piston that can fit into 4g13 blok and still safe?? and how much that 4g13 blok can be robore??

spoon civic

Jul 12, 2012
terengganu
hye... i wanna ask to all sifu2... 4g13 blok engine... what maximum oversize piston that can fit into 4g13 blok and still safe?? and how much that 4g13 blok can be robore??
gud question....any members that know pls give answer.....................

wira4g13p

Sep 11, 2009
u can put in sleeve...then find 2nd hand piston or bigger.
..i did mine...used it for long distance travel. Millage 120000km...no problem. Do it at kota bharu

---------- Post added at 12:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:00 AM ----------

sleeve cost about rm400. Done at engineering shop...piston 2nd hand rm200..

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
dont bore your block exceeding 2mm from your original pistons.
i'd say 2mm for race purposes

1.5mm for weekend cars

& 1mm for daily driving..

the problem is not with the block u bore.. it's the leaking of head gasket.. even with metal head gasket

Gudluck :burnout:

better go for 4g15 block....

razo007

Sep 7, 2011
Kedah
i've heard people put in 74mm piston.. taken from mitsubishi lancer colt.. is it still safe or not?? n 73mm piston.. what car use that size of piston...

p/s: sorry.. i think i don't want to hear any suggestion of changing to block 1.5... now i want to try tweaking 4g13 original block and see how much it can get...

well if thats the case.. just follow the 2mm oversized piston value limit....

and the rest proceed to powerzone for their full engine build (balanced and fully blue-printed engine) if not mistaken the engine making around 140hp with healthy street-driveability torque :adore:

S16

Nov 17, 2010
Melaka
4g13 owner here... currently on 74mm pistons, if not mistaken those are 4g12 over-sized pistons. ... U can bore it safely up to 74mm. Better pick up than a stock setup. But if u aren't in tight budget, go for 4g15 block with 78mm piston. You will never regret as that gonna be my future project.

waltertan

Mar 2, 2011
For 4G13 engine block the maximum oversize pistons limits is 74 mm, which is originate from 4G12 engine. Original 4G13 pistons size is 72 mm and is high compression. You need to bore your block cylinder another 2 mm which is acceptable. Some of the user install 4G15 pistons and the size is 75.5 mm, but you need to take the risk due to cylinder side wall become very thin, and is really depends on luck whether the side wall crack in high rev. Even the cylinder side wall is not crack you still need to face high temperature issues due to 4G13 radiator is small in manual car.

if you use 4G12 pistons in 4G13 block, due to it pistons is low compression it is good for turbo setup and you will gain extra boost, but for NA setup you will face problem in loss pick up and loss hp. I can feel that after i install the 4G12 piston in my 4G13 engine, the power is worst than original 4G13 pistons. Plus high fuel comsumption due to your engine loss power. Therefore, for my opinion go for 4G13 73 mm high compression pistons.

If you insist want to install 4G12 pistons in your 4G13 engine, you need to skim your engine head for another 1 mm. This will lower down your engine head for more compression, and regain the power loss. But you will face tempreture issues due to extra heat, you need to change your radiator to wira 1.6 double layer size radiator to stand the extra heat.

After you have skim the engine head for 1 mm without any problem, you can try to skim another 0.5 mm. But I'm not sure whether the pistons will hit the valve or not. For my experience i buy another 4G13 head to skim for 1 mm, and after they have install everything and before they starts my car i was sweating and praying hopefully does not having any problem. Therefore, to skim another 0.5 mm is really a challenging, and if the pistons hits the valve please don't blame me if your valve become banana size or your piston surface has crack. Even you have pass this, you still need to see whether or not the water temperature raising with your big size raidator can stand the heat or not. Therefore, if you face any 1 of the both issues that i mentions, you can say bye bye to your engine head, once skim there is no going back. So try at you own risk.

For my humble opinion, get the 4G13 73mm oversize high compression pistons. You will get less hassle, less worry and less money spend. Even if you do all the works for installing the 4G12 pistons in your engine, from my estimation if your put 4G13 73 mm oversize pistons the compression ratio and the hp will be the same or maybe higher.

Therefore, compression ratio is very important for NA car, below is the compression ratio for 4G13, 4G12 and 4G15 for your preference:

4G13
Piston size 72mm
Piston surface raise + 1.9mm - 2 mm
Compression ratio 9.5:1

4G12
Piston size 74mm
Piston surface down - 1.9mm - 2mm
Compression ratio 8:1 or 8.5:1

4G15
Piston size 75.5mm
Piston surface flat 0mm
Compression ratio 9:1

---------- Post added at 10:29 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:45 AM ----------

This are my pass year experence for tuning my Proton Wira 4G13 SVDO Aeroback

By the time my car is in age 7 or 8 when to dyno test:
4-2-1 extractor
Straight flow muffler
Wira 1.6 Fly Wheel (without skim)
HP is 74
Torque is 12

Install piggyback ECU Unichip after tuning
HP 85
Torque is 14

Few years later overhaul engine skim flywheel extra 1 kg, go for dyno again
HP 94
Torque is 12

another few years later port & polish engine head manifold intake and out, go for dyno again
HP 98
Torque is 12.5

another few years later engine got white smoke rebore cylinder block install 4G12 pistons, go for dyno
HP 78 (Is like SHIT)
Torque is 11

Now skim engine head 1mm, feel the power is coming back. will go to dyno later

croydon

Jun 10, 2010
Langkawi
Just for info: -
bore X stroke
4g13 = 71 x 82
4g15 = 75.5 x 82
4g18 = 76 x 87.3
timing belt snapped, decide to upgrade to 4G15 after bought 4G15 block piston crankshaft complete form RM300

waltertan

Mar 2, 2011
Just got my dyno result 4G13 with 4G12 pistons and skimmed head 1 mm

HP 100.9
Torque 131.8

Very impressive and satisfied.

PPS or Magic Glare... which one is better ah? what's the difference?