16 or 19mm for Honda City gm6

ben18181

Jul 8, 2020
My jazz full stock on Potenza Re003 went 160km/h still stable. Steering wise is abit on light side. Because I always drive wira with heavy steering so for me jazz steering is very light. Hahahahahha
But i have heard re003 dont grip really well in wet road but i have never used it before so i cant comment much on it.

Ok let's break down this sentence a bit.

You driving in the soaking wet rain and you want to go 140km/h? If not and you're going a more sensible 90km/h then the RE003 is plenty good. Most people will never really be able to fully utilize a UHP tyre so unless your driving skill is that good (and I'm not saying it isn't, maybe it is), the RE003 is a pretty decent tyre. If you're comparing side by side with other water-type-thingy tyres then RE003 isn't as good as the PS4 or the Goodyear Assymetric 3.

But then again like you've discovered, Michelin and GY don't make tyres your size. So you'll have to give and take on some things here and there.

If comfort is what you want go for either one of the earlier 3 tyres you said. If performance is what you want get something with harder sidewalls. But do something about that floating first I guess.

KHNG940413

Dec 25, 2015
johor bahru
Wet grip is not well when the tread is around 20~30% lah~ Normal drive heavy rain I drove is around 120km/h also no issue.
But I don't encourage drive fast at rain la.
Now even have Re004 better wet grip. You can go and check out 1st

leinnz

Sep 28, 2005
wet roads dont speed la. other life are important too.

Reactions: KHNG940413

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
I am planning to upgrade my tyre to 195. Michelin xm2+, Toyo tr1 or Continental UC6, which is a better choice?
Your choices are abit weird. XM2 is comfortable, soft. TR1 is UHP but drives like shit worse than ATR Sport but wet is better (I have used about 4 sets of ATR Sport, 1 set of TR1). UC6 sounds expensive.

Find RE003 or 004, or PS3/PS4. These are guaranteed good tyres.

Btw, the calculator seems to say 6JJ can take 205.

Your choices are abit weird. XM2 is comfortable, soft. TR1 is UHP but drives like shit worse than ATR Sport but wet is better (I have used about 4 sets of ATR Sport, 1 set of TR1). UC6 sounds expensive.

Find RE003 or 004, or PS3/PS4. These are guaranteed good tyres.

Btw, the calculator seems to say 6JJ can take 205.
Conti tyres, don't get way laid by their name. UC6 as in Ultra Contact sound powerful but actual in between CC (comfort) and MC (Max). Max is below PC (Premium) then only comes CSC (Sports) Now got EC (Extreme contact). FC (Force contact) is their Extreme category tyres.....lol

205 on 6JJ depends on the series too. If 45 series 6.5JJ is min, if 50 series then can. This is due to sidewall bending in as 205 is roughly 8 inch wide already ....

ben18181

Jul 8, 2020
Conti tyres, don't get way laid by their name. UC6 as in Ultra Contact sound powerful but actual in between CC (comfort) and MC (Max). Max is below PC (Premium) then only comes CSC (Sports) Now got EC (Extreme contact). FC (Force contact) is their Extreme category tyres.....lol

205 on 6JJ depends on the series too. If 45 series 6.5JJ is min, if 50 series then can. This is due to sidewall bending in as 205 is roughly 8 inch wide already ....
So I can actually install 205/50/r16 to my car?

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013

1594428968910.png

2014 city? 6 years old? Don’t know mileage covered and road conditions. Check absorbers, if they are dead it’ll explain your floating feeling.

will be funny if you change tyres and you’re still floating.

KHNG940413

Dec 25, 2015
johor bahru
2014 city? 6 years old? Don’t know mileage covered and road conditions. Check absorbers, if they are dead it’ll explain your floating feeling.

will be funny if you change tyres and you’re still floating.
You reminded me mine also I haven't change the absorber before for my jazz. Year end might switch a set new kyb since the mileage is already 83k km. I also wanna throw a set of tein spring but since my dad is driving more I don't want to risk scratching the bottom of my bumper as he use to driving hilux so is hard for his to get use to it driving low car so fast. Hahahahaha

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Well, my Persona bought new from factory hasnt had the absorbers changed. Year end should be changing.
Car is 2012 and 167000km, far from smooth driving. KYB stock abs have held up really well, no floating, just soft.
Most bushings have been changed.