ArticlesDragFeaturesSepang International Circuit

Sepang Drag Battle – Round 1

You have to admit it, every time you hear the word drag battle or drag racing, you unconsciously think of the 1000hp, 20ft long, fire breathing funny cars with tyres as wide as your house. I almost always used to picture that but that was before I visited the Sepang Drag Battle that took place not too long ago.

It truly is amazing watching how people come up with ways of reaching the ultimate drag nirvana; light weight, high power, insane traction and of course, trailing arms (is that what they call it?). There were cars there that were never intended to be used as a drag car, and I’m sure that never even crossed the manufacturers minds when it left the factory, cars like Proton Iswara for example are meant to serve as a cheap transportation option for the young, aspiring whoever and taxi drivers, but here it was, all bored out to cut down on weight, stripped like a porn star and using what seemed to be a long steel tube as a rear axle. This seemingly redefines the meaning of hardcore dragging, the only thing missing was 1000hp’s.

Of course the turn-out was massive and the crowd was great with different clans backing their own drivers and teams though nothing spilled over from bad blood. I guess here people do their talking with their machines instead of their fists, sound like something out of a movie? Well, thats probably because the atmosphere really was like that with engines screaming, people cheering, jumping, hugging one another as others hang dejected. You have to be there to experience it, they even let you get as close to the track as possibly without disregarding safety. I personally was in the way of some sucky drivers torque steer but it truly was close encounters of the drag battle kind.

I used to agree with the notion that dragging was a sport where the deepest wallets win. If you have enough money to get your modifications right and money for lightweight equipment not forgetting an endless tyre supply, you pretty much have a podium finish before your race even begins. I know it sounds really cliche to declare I’m a convert, but the fact of the matter is, I am ! I can appreciate the amount of thought and patience have gone into building these machines. Its not easy to come up with ideas on how to make a faster lighter car especially when your budget equals that of a ice cream vendor and your opportunities for testing are virtually non-existent. Sepang Drag Battle – Round 2 happening 31st May 2008. Catch you there.

Winners-Round 1

Class A – Open – Dizon Chen Teck Sun (Mitsu Evo IV)

Class B – 2WD Forced Induction – Jamsari Jahya (Nissan)

Class C – 2WD Normally Aspirated – Mohd Maziz Abdullah (Honda)

Class E – K Car – Mohd Amiri Naaem (Perodua Kancil)

Class F – Avantech On The Road Class V-Tec Category – Suhaimi Hamid (Honda Civic)

Non V-Tech Category – Ahmad Nizan Ibrahim

Non V-Tech Category Mark Darwi

Click any one of the thumbnails to view the full gallery:

DSC_7114 DSC_6778 DSC_7212 DSC_7131DSC_6784 DSC_7196 DSC_7113 DSC_7109DSC_6806 DSC_7128 DSC_6781 DSC_7187DSC_6752 DSC_7264 DSC_7051 DSC_6855DSC_7189 DSC_7115 DSC_7039 DSC_6765DSC_7161 DSC_6761 DSC_7217 DSC_7192DSC_6810 DSC_6747 DSC_6721 DSC_7093DSC_6788 DSC_7174 DSC_7126 DSC_6726DSC_6833 DSC_7007 DSC_7170 DSC_6812DSC_7045 DSC_7237 DSC_7274 DSC_6741DSC_7179 DSC_6732 DSC_6723 DSC_7129DSC_7070 DSC_6853 DSC_7125 DSC_6773DSC_6829 DSC_7244 DSC_7242 DSC_6783DSC_6753 DSC_6897 DSC_7106 DSC_6769DSC_6786

B
  • B
    Bernard
  • Apr 16, 2008
When this event start?
When is Round 2?
S
  • S
    skunky2
  • Apr 27, 2008
bro,

round 2 at 31may.

will very proud of our malaysia event
  • May 11, 2008
What time this event start?
  • May 12, 2008
Anybody knows?
A
  • A
  • May 12, 2008
it already had passed.. i believe the upcoming 2nd round wud be on the 31st of may..

gate opens at around 630pm.. practice runs, setting ups, and heats at around 930-10pm.
  • May 12, 2008
thank you, bro!!!
  • May 13, 2008
This event is free entrance??
  • May 18, 2008
I'm come from Nilai, I know how to go Sepang but dunno where the Sepang Circuit located. Who can provide me the map of Sepang Circuit?
Is that the Sepang Circuit easy to find when I reach Sepang?
D
Terrific work! This is the type of information that should be shared around the internet. Shame on Google for not positioning this post higher! Come on over and visit my site . Thanks =)
D