WTA:BT 20V engine noise

YUZZRAY

Oct 18, 2005
KAJANG,SELANGOR
I just swap my engine 4A-FE with BT20v.. The problem is,in the morning, when in cold start the engine runs very quiet.. But after the temperature alredy hot, it start making noise like 'taxi diesel engine'.. why?... anyone facing this problem before?.. is it because of the type of engine oil that i'm using?.. (rm55 WIN brand) or my engine got a problem?. any suggestion from all sifus here?...

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
dun worry, it's normal. it's the intake pulley sound. usage of good oil can reduce it, but will not eliminate it. WIN brand? at rm55, i suppose it's mineral based?
suggest u use at least semi-syn from reputable brands such as eneos, pennzoil, Q8, motul, and others. check older threads on feedbacks from fellow forummers on the types of oil they used. it has been discussed for some time.

nappx

Sep 13, 2005
kLaNG-kEy_tEE
change to adjustable campulley. & used good reputation oils...such as Motul, Q8, Eneos, Torco...

jack84

Nov 11, 2006
ya, change both of the cam pulley to adjustable 1. It can eliminate the "diesel sound"
Btw u can also gain abit power and respond for ur engine 1 stone 2 birds ...i am sure u will like it ! :biggrin:

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
ya, change both of the cam pulley to adjustable 1. It can eliminate the "diesel sound"
Btw u can also gain abit power and respond for ur engine 1 stone 2 birds ...i am sure u will like it ! :biggrin:
correct correct correct.
jack, i heard your engine now sounds like subaru wrx already? hehe. some says sounds like high cam also..:)

YUZZRAY

Oct 18, 2005
KAJANG,SELANGOR
TQ to all sifu.... one more thing i want to ask..I'm using oil temperature meter.. when in high rev, the temperature goes until 130 degree celcius.. is it normal?..

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Jul 5, 2004
Damansara
4age20v.blogsome.com
1) service your VVT pulley...will eliminate the diesel sound...FYI new VVT pulley cost around RM800++ ...

2) Check water pump healthiness, Service your radiator...if using toyota coolant or other coolant do change after runnin few hundred thousands km...

Good luck...

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
1)
2) Check water pump healthiness, Service your radiator...if using toyota coolant or other coolant do change after runnin few hundred thousands km...

Good luck...
wah boss...few hundred thousands km ar?? bisnes lingkup la like dat...lol. i think change once a year or two is okay. afterall the coolant is only abt rm20.

yuzzray : if sepang u whack 8k rpm for a few laps, oil temp will hovers around 130-140. in street if whack 8k rpm once a while, it normally not more than 110. This temp is without oil cooler. so think yours is not normal. and what oil temp meter u using? electrical or mechanical?

YUZZRAY

Oct 18, 2005
KAJANG,SELANGOR
wah boss...few hundred thousands km ar?? bisnes lingkup la like dat...lol. i think change once a year or two is okay. afterall the coolant is only abt rm20.

yuzzray : if sepang u whack 8k rpm for a few laps, oil temp will hovers around 130-140. in street if whack 8k rpm once a while, it normally not more than 110. This temp is without oil cooler. so think yours is not normal. and what oil temp meter u using? electrical or mechanical?[/QUOTE

130-140?!..thats out meter meh.. I'm using omori oil temp & oil press meter.. item comes with Halfcut.. just PNP.. Lucky me ne...:burnout:
never using this before.. just too afraid engine kong only.. he..he.. what type of engine oil that you use?..

jack84

Nov 11, 2006
correct correct correct.
jack, i heard your engine now sounds like subaru wrx already? hehe. some says sounds like high cam also..:)
ya...just like the high cam..:biggrin:.
i think need to retard the pulley ...cos advanced too much.:hmmmm:
The power from 3k-7.8k all the way ...
Now my car fuel consumption super high.... like drink water ....
Lolz....banzai change ur pulley to adjustable 1 la seem ur sepang kaki:biggrin:. I heard tat still got1 set at choy there...:biggrin:

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
hmm, omori meter. good stuff. like i said, try use better oil. i'm using Eneos semi syn. if u dun mind higher price, go for Motul.

YUZZRAY

Oct 18, 2005
KAJANG,SELANGOR
ya...just like the high cam..:biggrin:.
i think need to retard the pulley ...cos advanced too much.:hmmmm:
The power from 3k-7.8k all the way ...
Now my car fuel consumption super high.... like drink water ....
Lolz....banzai change ur pulley to adjustable 1 la seem ur sepang kaki:biggrin:. I heard tat still got1 set at choy there...:biggrin:
change to adjustable campulley. & used good reputation oils...such as Motul, Q8, Eneos, Torco...
Bro nappx, how much cost that i have to pay for adjustable campulley?.. any lobang for a good and cheap one?...

nappx

Sep 13, 2005
kLaNG-kEy_tEE
ok..where to get campulley? i throw question to u back...what brand of campulley u want? if aerospeed or others brand except toda...you can get at any performance shop at sunway..

but for me go for TODA.

nowdays difficult to get toda part..not many shop keep stuff for 4age/20v. 3weeks ago..i search one to one shop at sunway...no stock...lastly i call kegani..yes..he said got for BT..but when i went there, he forgot to update their inventory..no more toda adjustable VVT pulley for BT..only got for SVT..nevermind la...still can use...but for exhaust i think still have few...but until today..don't know la...he bring new stock or not...

so...up to u..got extra money..go for toda for more realiblity & got value for second sale..he he he...

YUZZRAY

Oct 18, 2005
KAJANG,SELANGOR
For me money is no.2.. the first thing is if I change the campulley to adjustable one, is it really can reduce the 'diesel engine noise'?.. If can, then I'll go for it.. thx to all the sifu for your suggestion..

The new Jaguar F-Pace has officially made its Malaysian debut. Launched by Jaguar Land Rover (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd. The F-Pace is the first sports SUV from the British carmaker, bringing together the renowned sporty bits from the company’s passenger cars and the everyday usability of an SUV, all in one package.