What Toyota RWD turbo to get??

GTII

Oct 19, 2004
For around RM 50K??

Has to be reliable and quite modern ie early 90s
Only engine I can think of is the 1GGTE?
Common here?
Parts?
body? maybe a Cressida? or any other makes more popular in Msia?

Dont really want to go Nissan..
but a Cefiro with RB20 is a pretty good value.
And more nissan aft market parts available right?

What do u guys think??
Dont really want to go to the dark side. hehe

turbo10

Dec 11, 2003
sg petani kedah
i suggest crown mark II..with rm50k budget...so many room for improvement..put in 1jzgte/2jzgte..some suspension and brake upgrades, some cosmetic upgrades..u got a really nice monster..hehe

2 Old 2 Rusty

Nov 18, 2006
For a budget of RM 50k, you can also get an older model of the Lexus. I think it's the LS models. My neighbour sold his for RM 30+k, converted to 1JZ-GTE, auto trans earlier this year.

Was interested but was a little concerned with the body parts, not that many around.

2 Old 2 Rusty

Nov 18, 2006
This is the one:

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
how bout MR 2?celica ST185?

GTII

Oct 19, 2004
Thanks for the replies all :) ..

Crown MkII huh? havent thought bout that.. not sure how it looks like..
but is it easy to get parts/ panels for it?
JZs would be nice but wont the road tax be a killer? not sure how it works in Msia. I thought max 2000cc engine with a turbo (ie 1GGTE) . but the JZs are yumm!

The LS400 isnt too bad I suppose. A bit big and if parts/ panels are not easy to source, prob would b quite expensive to maintain?
Would be a nice cruise monster.. Jap VIP style :)

Are there many Toyota Chasers around?

What bout early model IS200/ RS200 Lexus/ Altezza? Whats the cheapest you guys have seen for them?

Cressidas MX70s?

2 Old 2 Rusty

Nov 18, 2006
how bout MR 2?celica ST185?
Err...MR2's MR (mid engine, rwd) & ST185's 4WD, right ? Not exactly FR mar...:biggrin:

What bout early model IS200/ RS200 Lexus/ Altezza? Whats the cheapest you guys have seen for them?
Don't think you can get an Altezza for RM 50k leh, more like double that amount.

kanazai2001

Jul 13, 2005
home
altezza is about 8Xk...
2 liters... 3SGE dual VVT-i (~210hp) or 1GFE VVT-i (~150hp)...
but out of ur budget...

if u prefer to do conversion, MKII got my vote... :itsme:
VIP style - no problem!!!
any 6 bangs (2 liters or 2.5 or 3 liters) or 4 bangs or more extreme V8 - no problem!!!
engine parts - no problem!!!
body parts n other accessories - e.e..e.e...r... -_-"

nissan - cefiro is the best choice...
any 6 bangs (2 liters or 2.5 or 2.6 liters) or 4 bangs - no problem!!!
engine parts - no problem!!!
body parts - no problem!!!
VIP style - e..e.e.e..r.r..r... -_-"

RT141 corona - CHEAP!!! :biggrin:

GTII

Oct 19, 2004
MKII you mean Crown right? not sure how the Crown Mk2 looks like.. did a bit of a search..
is it like the Sg taxis?? lol
dont think thats my style leh hehe
the MX Cressida would b ok ..but dont think i ve seen one in KL.

Cefiro ..yer...so far..cant go past that..but see what happens.

yer..altezza a bit expensive la.. since its a spare car only..and a bit of fun (track as well)

mr2 and celica.. hehe ..no .. I already got MR2 Turbo... need something else :)

Thanks guys..keep em coming :)

kanazai2001

Jul 13, 2005
home
GT...
MarkII n cressida r the same but different body shell (very minor different like wira n lanser)...
yea... MKII is used as sg taxi... but it is also common as VIP style at jap...
the most important is which 1 u prefer... MKII cRess cefiro laurer etc etc etc... ^^

GTII

Oct 19, 2004
thnx kanazai..
u got pic of the mkII? Someone ^ said a Crown MKII.. I only know of a Toyota MKII.. pic below.
I dont mind the looks of the Cressida.. dont think i really want the VIP style..but something that can look a bit aggressive :)

So which model is more common in Msia ie for parts etc?
Good workshops to do conversions n modifications?

as i mentioned earlier.. i prefer Toyota..but it seems that Nissan has got more / cheaper parts.. is that the case in Msia??

1992 Toyota Cressida Grande Review - Carsurvey.org

Never judge a book by its cover - Road tests and Car reviews - CARSguide

Toyota MKII
Garage |-"'|

kanazai2001

Jul 13, 2005
home
mark II:
1988 - a jap import stock
1993 - 1993 Toyota Mark II Tourer V
1994, 95, 96 (JZX90) - Toyota JZX90 MarkII Tourer V with GT30R turbo and lots of modifications
twin turbo
1995 Twin Turbo - Mark II
500 HP Drift Machine 1JZ HKS Turbo Setup
1996 Mark II Tourer V

chaser:
1992 - ... : Toyota Chaser Rides Sorted by Overall Rating - CarDomain Community

no problem with aggressive look or vip style... is a long car... n it matches both identities... :wink:

e.e..e.e..r... spare part price range is very much depend on what u r getting... popular motors n performance parts r very much in the same range regardless what brand is ur car... 6 bangs JZ RB r quite common in jap used parts shop... nissan laurel or cima parts r not common at all but u can get new cefiro parts from TC motor or 2nd hand from chopshop...

i guess the most important is what u like... :love:

GTII

Oct 19, 2004
Thanks Kanazai mang! :)

What have you got?

Who are the good mod workshops around KL for Toyotas?

kanazai2001

Jul 13, 2005
home
Thanks Kanazai mang! :)

What have you got?

Who are the good mod workshops around KL for Toyotas?

a lot... those i know of usually @ outskirts like gombak, puchong, kajang...
those ppl r the creators of RWD monsters... :adore:

by the way... MarkII @ motortrader... :itsme: