What are you driving now?

john_unai

Aug 9, 2011
mtkb
I started with satria 1.5, pass it to my younger brother & now driving inspira 2.0. I like the satria more coz its manual:driver::driver:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
To get plenty aftermarket parts buy more popular car.......lol
I think for engine mounting, might be able to custom made the rubber/stronger materials then pump it into the existing mountings, no? Similar like changing suspension arm bushings...

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
My kids only got to drive my VR after they got full license and familiar with the NA Sonata first....lol
What is their comment on it after driving VR?

Yeah, they're juveniles now, so the mouths are getting smarter and smarter!

Actually they don't do any convincing, it's all my idea to get that car: something not too old, small so easy for new drivers, reliable and good fuel consumption, still cool and fun for young guys, manual and zippy to drive. So this Swift seems to be the only one that fits all that criteria.

Inspira? Naah not interested coz I don't like the shape, and it's probably slower and not as fun too. My kids don't like that car either. They follow me, only likes the previous Evo designs. :)

Other than Swift Sport, can't think of anything similar in that price range that fits your criteria. I have a friend whose older brother got himself a used Swift Sport as his first car. His brother like the car a lot.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Other than Swift Sport, can't think of anything similar in that price range that fits your criteria. I have a friend whose older brother got himself a used Swift Sport as his first car. His brother like the car a lot.
Yup exactly! Aside from the ron97 requirement (which I think might still have a workaround to tune to 95), the Swift Sport is a near perfect match. It's also seems interesting enough even for me to drive it once a while.

The other closest contender is the Ford Fiesta which is even cheaper but reliability is questionable, parts availability surely not as easy, RV is out the window, and I don't like the shape coz it's like an egg on wheels!

Jose

Aug 3, 2006
Subang Jaya
Hmm that's too often to replace engine mounting. Isn't there an aftermarket option to use stronger/better materials? Is this one of the main inherent flaw of this car, meaning others also have this same issue?
Yeah it's a common issue for Swift of this generation. Go and ask any of this gen swift owner i'm sure they've replaced their mountings before haha. and yes, that's what i did when i changed the mounting the 3rd time.. pump some kind of chemical into it. those reinforced mounts from RRP & Monster Sport Japan too expensive liao. :bawling:

There's someone i know who retuned it to run safely on Ron 95 with unichip. but the ignition timing is so low the sound when shifting very down, x syiok o. in the end he tuned it back to 97.

I think for engine mounting, might be able to custom made the rubber/stronger materials then pump it into the existing mountings, no? Similar like changing suspension arm bushings...
Not that I know off. Mounting are sealed in by itself. The only thing is to fill in silicone or some chemical to harden it more...:smokin:

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009

Wow... hope I could move on but still on uncompleted mission on my Evo8MR.
Remains "stock" in 9 years till today (mostly).
Thanks, it run smooth but it feel slow now.

Some of MLOCian already move on to GTR35 for long time.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Yup exactly! Aside from the ron97 requirement (which I think might still have a workaround to tune to 95), the Swift Sport is a near perfect match. It's also seems interesting enough even for me to drive it once a while.

The other closest contender is the Ford Fiesta which is even cheaper but reliability is questionable, parts availability surely not as easy, RV is out the window, and I don't like the shape coz it's like an egg on wheels!
If the engine is running on high compression, can it be tuned to accept RON95?

Fiesta I think if want to find manual variant, it is quite difficult to find. And they only come in 1.4 litre engine over here for manual.

Son don't like, but daughter loves it......lol:driver:
Your daughter likes cars but I can't see the reason why your son doesn't like a car with good power. So much easier to drive.

Feels slow because after 9 years, you got used to it's power dy........lol:driver:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

Photos please!

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Yeah it's a common issue for Swift of this generation. Go and ask any of this gen swift owner i'm sure they've replaced their mountings before haha. and yes, that's what i did when i changed the mounting the 3rd time.. pump some kind of chemical into it. those reinforced mounts from RRP & Monster Sport Japan too expensive liao. :bawling:

There's someone i know who retuned it to run safely on Ron 95 with unichip. but the ignition timing is so low the sound when shifting very down, x syiok o. in the end he tuned it back to 97.

Ic, does the engine inherently has a lot of vibration hence often busting up the engine mounts? Does it have a balancer shaft to reduce vibrations like some Mitsu engines (4G63/67)?

Thx for the info. If later I really buy this car, I will ask you more things. :) I saw got a few facebook clubs also in Malaysia for this car and quite active ya.

If the engine is running on high compression, can it be tuned to accept RON95?

Fiesta I think if want to find manual variant, it is quite difficult to find. And they only come in 1.4 litre engine over here for manual.
Yeah I suppose not easy since this is still normal MPI and not yet a GDI engine. My Mark X has even higher compression (12:1) yet no issues using 95 coz it's GDI. But I think still can be done as proven by the next generation SS which able to use 95 and make more power at the same time too.

Yup, they're 1.4ltr version, got several on sale, actually even more than the SS!

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Yup, son into computer stuffs, games and also works in that line.....:driver:
Common interest among most young people now. I'm also into those but not as much as cars.

Photos please!
Yes indeed!

Ic, does the engine inherently has a lot of vibration hence often busting up the engine mounts? Does it have a balancer shaft to reduce vibrations like some Mitsu engines (4G63/67)?

Thx for the info. If later I really buy this car, I will ask you more things. :) I saw got a few facebook clubs also in Malaysia for this car and quite active ya.

Yeah I suppose not easy since this is still normal MPI and not yet a GDI engine. My Mark X has even higher compression (12:1) yet no issues using 95 coz it's GDI. But I think still can be done as proven by the next generation SS which able to use 95 and make more power at the same time too.

Yup, they're 1.4ltr version, got several on sale, actually even more than the SS!
According to here, the newer Swift Sport does use back the same engine but somehow being able to tolerate RON95. https://paultan.org/2013/06/06/suzuki-swift-sport-is-here-manual-rm98k-cvt-rm103k/

http://www.mudah.my/2011+Ford+Fiesta+1+6+M+-55125788.htm seems like there is a 1.6 here but is that a mistake?

Jose

Aug 3, 2006
Subang Jaya

hi guys...
just installed Works adjustable cam pulley on my D16. i think my regular workshop didn't do properly, low-end is worse now :p need to send to specialist tuner.

any recommendations please, Klang Valley.

Thanks a lot!