VTEC open at 5500rpm

wasteg4te

Sep 22, 2005
jb
im now using eg convert to eg9.
running b16a in stock condition
and i have some questions,
is it true Vtec will open based on rpm reading?
and each gear with different rpm.
coz i got this information from my mechanic
i just confused because my b16a have a different story
every gear Vtec will open at the same rpm reading (5500rpm)
or my Vtec got some problem.
agains. sifu's help me please

UKDMEK4

Sep 13, 2005
batang kali
yes, vtec definitely will engage at the same rpm through out the gear changing and 5500 seems ok for stock ecu

eg9_05

Jun 7, 2007
vtec will engage on 5500rpm at every gear......and on ur ECU only received 1 signal only when rpm reached 5500rpm the vtec solenoid will working then ur vtec engage lar....your foreman isit expert o does he know abt vtec...........o just normal foreman????

wasteg4te

Sep 22, 2005
jb
i think my foreman just know nothing.
he used honda accord vtec 2.2
wah....
dangeroes man... bila2 je boleh jahanam enjin orang.

toya_flywheel

Oct 25, 2007
dats y la i didnt send my car to cincai2 pomen..not every pomen know bout Vtec.ur xperience same wif my last time xperience bro.,but now good enuf la..hehehe...i think for stock b16a Vtec will engage @ 5800RPm laa...unless u did rechip oledi..

seanlee

Jun 30, 2004
maybe your foremen driving a faulty vtec leh....who knows..maybe he driving a mod ecu vtec also dunno....

but ..you can use Vtec controller to control the vtec engage...

GT_AUTO

Oct 25, 2005
K.Trg
toya is right.vtec engage at 5800 rpm for manual.if auto,if i'm not mistaken
is 5500.

jackywlc

Aug 31, 2006
Bro, try to get a VAFC for the setting...........manual B16A VTEC will only engage at 5800 rpm.......

wasteg4te

Sep 22, 2005
jb
wah
VAFC can control vtec engage at different RPM meh?

Throttle

Oct 31, 2007
Ya laa.... u can even control the air/fuel ratio... now in market is VAFC2.

Since HIDs are not really street legal, I have got a problem with my headlight low beam beams (not bright enough) and HIDs are out of the discussion. Have any one tried changing PIAA bulbs / Phillip bulbs?
Any recommendation ? I would prefer PIAA northern star white (4400k) but isit bright enough?
Any one tried it or even xtreme vision 100% or sylvania ultra? I am really lost cos of so many brand and reviews.
Please help , thanks. Currently still using my standard bulbs. Any thing that I...