very noob guy asking about audio here [SERIOUSLY]

~*Lil-Ms-Tweeter*~

May 5, 2009
~*Lil-Ms-Tweeter*~

a function of a HU is to become the source of your sound system :)
be it radio, cd, mp3, dvd etc

if you're a casual listener, can go for HU with not so extreme features/price.
if you think/believe that you are those very picky when it comes to ICE, can go for those high end ones.
the pre-out(RCA) is to connect to amps. So, it is advisable to get HU with what you need and just a little bit more. reason: if you plan to upgrade later, you might not need to change your HU if it is 'good enough'
if you're on a limited budget, just get something with the most reasonably priced and within your budget.
do you have plans/future plans for your ICE? Like how many amps want to put in, speakers?

what is the genre of music that you mostly listens to?

about the 24bit thing, if the HU is cheap, probably can go for it. If not, maybe no need because there might be a chance that you might not be able to hear the difference anyway. At least I can't. :biggrin:
Hi Cacin bro...
waiting for u to answer this one la... :proud:

For the time being, maybe all I need to do is...
just being grateful wiv what I already have (sound frustrated hah?)
I still dont have any budget for ICE but
definitely I will upgrade my audio system in future...
If not whats the point I'm here... am I rite? :biggrin:

All I need to do now...
make fully research on ICE...
and I guess I probably choose SQ than SPL...
I dunno what kind of music I like...
cos... I can layan evry kind of song...
even dangdut Amelina some more... :biggrin:

But my most all the time fave of course R&B, Pop...
so...
I guess SQ is good for me... rite?

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
since lil ms tweeter oledi kantoi us pm-2 togeder-geder, then i share my answer to her with everyone lah, maybe can benefit other readers...

first reply:
dont believe much on HU specs, the bits and this and that all. HU is all depend on $$$, the more expensive, the better the sound, so just buy whatever u can afford, or my advise for newbies, buy 2nd hand, u can get something worth twice the money, bcoz most 2nd hand items are sold at half price.

2nd reply:
best thing is to follow ice forums, like mycarhifi.com, icehifi.com then u will know the HU that is normally used in good SQ cars.

the bit bit story is never ending argument la, coz can still find old 1bit players that sound better than 24bit

for the pre out voltage, more is better, but i can still show u some players with 4V sound better than the ones with 8V.

so thats why i say its pointless to compare specs. u only have to compare sound, in the end there are only a few HUs that are common to good SQ systems

alpine 9835 - 800 used
alpine 9855 - 1000 used 2000 new
alpine 7998 - 1500 used
pioneer p80 - 1200 used 1800 new
clarion hx-d2 - 2500 used 3800 new
clarion 9255exl - 1000 used
mcintosh mx406 - 3500 used
mcintosh mx4000 - 4500 used
mcintosh mx5000 - 5000 used
pioneer p9 - 3500 used 8000 new
alpine 7990 - 3500 used
alpine 9990 - 5500 used, 9000 new

cacin

Mar 9, 2005
alpine 9835 - 800 used
alpine 9855 - 1000 used 2000 new
alpine 7998 - 1500 used
pioneer p80 - 1200 used 1800 new
clarion hx-d2 - 2500 used 3800 new
clarion 9255exl - 1000 used
mcintosh mx406 - 3500 used
mcintosh mx4000 - 4500 used
mcintosh mx5000 - 5000 used
pioneer p9 - 3500 used 8000 new
alpine 7990 - 3500 used
alpine 9990 - 5500 used, 9000 new
none of the eclipse made it into the list? :)
like CD8061 or probably the CD8455?
how about older alpines like the CDA-9815 or CDA-7949?

personally used the Eclipse CD8053, Alpine CDA-9815 and CDA-9835....
all got pro and cons to me....:)

If you want to study first, can also try www.bcae1.com. This is for 'basic' car audio knowledge. doesn't talk about equipment etc.

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
sori la taip laju without thinkin much, but 8061 boleh la masuk...9815 pun ok

if start masuk 7949, kena masuk 7939, 7909 semua haha...

cacin

Mar 9, 2005
Hi Cacin bro...
waiting for u to answer this one la... :proud:
err..... why waiting for me to answer eh?
thought you already asked sifu Zenn? :) (he's also my sifu :D)

just some sharing on the pro and cons
Pro
CDA-9815 - 'pigtails' rca preout connectors. Easy sub out Off.
CDA-9835 - nice display, separate DC/DC converter. Easy sub out Off.
CD8053 - 5 para EQ for mid and high each. 'pigtails' rca connectors. Individual L/R level adjust.

Con
CDA-9815 - 5 para EQ only
CDA-9835 - No pigtail RCA (only for sub out got) and 5 para EQ only.
CD8053 - No Eq for sub out. 7 pairs of RCA pigtails! Sure make installation hard if your din space is cramp. No even FM requency (only odds ie 89.9)......

drexchan

Nov 23, 2004
Bukit Jalil
drexchan.fotopic.net
how bout 7100?
My favourite.

supports active control of slope and x-over for tweets, mids and subs. 11-band eq. time aligment in both level (1 db res) and phase (0.1 mili sec res). sub phase control.. ah.. many more.

ah, not much diff from the rest of those equivalent ones.. LOL!

But I just like it.

cacin

Mar 9, 2005
My favourite.

supports active control of slope and x-over for tweets, mids and subs. 21-band eq. time aligment in both level (1 db res) and phase (0.1 mili sec res). sub phase control.. ah.. many more.

ah, not much diff from the rest of those equivalent ones.. LOL!

But I just like it.
woh... didn't know the EQ was 21 band....
Is that for all outputs? nice colour display also right?

vishnnu

Sep 29, 2008
thanks Howie for advising me on the cd7100:wavey:

~*Lil-Ms-Tweeter*~

May 5, 2009
err..... why waiting for me to answer eh?
thought you already asked sifu Zenn? :) (he's also my sifu :D)

just some sharing on the pro and cons
Pro
CDA-9815 - 'pigtails' rca preout connectors. Easy sub out Off.
CDA-9835 - nice display, separate DC/DC converter. Easy sub out Off.
CD8053 - 5 para EQ for mid and high each. 'pigtails' rca connectors. Individual L/R level adjust.

Con
CDA-9815 - 5 para EQ only
CDA-9835 - No pigtail RCA (only for sub out got) and 5 para EQ only.
CD8053 - No Eq for sub out. 7 pairs of RCA pigtails! Sure make installation hard if your din space is cramp. No even FM requency (only odds ie 89.9)......
like i told you... I've been following this forum discussion almost a week...
rasa bangga la you'll answer my oh... so stupid question la... :biggrin:
great to know evryone is extremely nice here...
so...
hallo!!!!:itsme:

bafukie

Apr 22, 2006
the list is actually not exhaustive... but it guides u to choose the head or brain of the system. so choose wisely :biggrin:

cacin

Mar 9, 2005
like i told you... I've been following this forum discussion almost a week...
rasa bangga la you'll answer my oh... so stupid question la... :biggrin:
great to know evryone is extremely nice here...
so...
hallo!!!!:itsme:
no question is stupid. :) because everyone need to starts somewhere.

all of us are here to help each other out :)

Guys, I am driving a Proton Persona Elegance.
Do you guys have any idea how to take out the hub?
I probably know how to adjust the drums but don't know to access the internals.
And also would like to clean it.
I have only seen other popular cars.
Not sure about my car myself. Don't dare to touch it if without any experienced guidance.
Thanks.

2003-2007 Honda Accord Brake drums clean and adjust - YouTube