Up Close and Personal with Maclaren MP4 by KC's

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
thedetailers.blogspot.com
I dream a dream..............Susan Boyle sung through her hearts and not her look and got the whole world attention

My client called me to book for a detailing date, He desire an ultimate protection on his new Mclaren
This is one of the 10th unit brought in, it also have been sitting in a warehouse for quite some time!

I foresee work and lots of works to be carried out, eg swirls from constant wiping and general dusting, oxidizes aluminums part, degraded plastic! A huge task to get her perfect

This car is so rare in Malaysia, most probably 1/10 was shipped in!

It has been almost a years since I last post, almost at the verge of giving up detailing! if I were to tell anyone that I have not been in detailing ...... most of you would believe! but yet my Passion did not stop! and I have moved on since last Year back on my own....as always my way with my passion....did many more ride and yet to find time to post!

God has always been very kind of me.....for allowing me to handle such an exotic ride.....

after a good good body wash , now going in to details and deeper cleaning......

some areas who need greater attention than the other
eg Wheels, Door jams, Cervices and exhaust

moving to the upper rear

now the work which requires sweat begin

the calippers

the side air intake and vent

moving into the interior

The McLaren MP4-12C is an exotic sports car from the same British company that produced the legendary F1 supercar. A purpose-built two-seater with a midmounted, twin-turbocharged V8, the MP4-12C pushes modern automotive technology to its limits, and the result is a uniquely composed and confidence-inspiring drive

But... TOGW .....the previous detail polish and wax residues..

TOGW

More TOGW

I see lots of work to be done

front bonnet cleaning

check all cracks and cervices

beneath hood cleaning

tape to do 50/50% comparission

work begin

you notice something

see what is being remove
dressing oil which cover it

Dressing only cover up temporary , as the colour its fade…ugly side of it comes out!

OPC Applied

hours later it is protected by OPTIMUM COATING on these unpainted colours

my ultimate aim is to protect the car from outside in...not only paint....but interior cracks and door jam to leather seats

Therefore all dressing oil had to be removed prior coating!

Proper preparation is the ultimate important for these unpainted plastic….many would have just applies dressing and cover it

Therefore all dressing oil had to be removed prior coating!

Proper preparation is the ultimate important for these unpainted plastic….many would have just applies dressing and cover it

Moving to the engine bay, Picture taken before .....look at the dressing wearing out! Smears!

OPC at work

rinse off

pure and neat as natural...ready for maximum protection on the heart and soul of this ride

many many hours later

after Opticoat the intake and engine parts

Thanks to TOGW for giving me more work

More from the previous TOGW.....the previous detail polish and wax residues..

look carefully

the previous detailer not only gave me a chance for this job but also work!!!

it almost took me 2 hours to get around these unpainted plastic and clean up

Deeper cleaning begin! it is the most challenging to correct and clean wax residue from unpainted plastics! For the wax being just absorb and stay permanently!!!!!

look again

more work and the only way to get this out quickly is Kerosene

which I do not practice that...so OPC is my best companion

tada

now my turn to tape up and becareful not to allow any compound polish residues stick on this delicate area

many many hours later

after opti coated

many hours later this is also protected permenantly by OPTI COATING

OPTI COAT these unpainted area is the best deal of protection one can ever find....they are unpainted ! residues of wax or polish sticks permanently! When this is not tackle, the car looks ugly even when other parts is done perfectly

opti coat 50/50% before and after

ta da

---------- Post added at 02:28 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:21 PM ----------

moving to interior

I had to OPC the whole interior prior coating on leather, carbon fiber and carpet area

state of the art

i admit tempted to try to press this

gear knobs????? where

opti leather for the interior

before

50/50% before and after opti leather coat

before opti leather coating

after opti leather coating - the leather looks and feels more plushy (with greater protection to come)

tada

another 50/50% before and after opti leather
\

ta da

before

50/50 %

now

Fit for F1 race

moving on to body work

paint prep

Awesome paint

niceeeee

tada

The colour

Wheels before

Wheel after clean

Before coating applications

After opti coat applications- the wheel colour depeened

After opti glass

Some finishing picture

thanks for viewing yet another detailing journey of me

wishing you of good health and fun filled weekeds

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
another job well done KC
Thanks Tom
for all your wonderful assistant.....never could have done it without your cheers together along with all the ZTH forumer

looking forward to catch up with you

Wah! kc2 sifu suddenly appear. Long time no hear from you......As usual nice job....:driver:

KC : Can you share the mixture for OPC to clean those panels and leather like you did? 1 part OPC 5 parts water?

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
KC : Can you share the mixture for OPC to clean those panels and leather like you did? 1 part OPC 5 parts water?
hi buddy
long time no hear from you ya

1:3 will do

25%
must rinse off immediately :love::love::love:

Wah! kc2 sifu suddenly appear. Long time no hear from you......As usual nice job....:driver:
Hello kawan you missed me ke? my phone remain ma
belanjalah makan

:stupid::stupid::stupid:

hi buddy

25%
No la.. I quiet only in detailing section. Hehe.

When you say rinse off, do you just wipe off with a wet microfiber or spray with water and wipe? I'm referring to leather specifically

hi buddy

25%

Hello kawan you missed me ke? my phone remain ma
belanjalah makan

:stupid::stupid::stupid:
Isn't 1:3 even stronger...33% woh!

Not miss you lah! miss your post.....hahhahahhahahhah:rofl:

---------- Post added at 08:06 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:05 AM ----------

No la.. I quiet only in detailing section. Hehe.

When you say rinse off, do you just wipe off with a wet microfiber or spray with water and wipe? I'm referring to leather specifically
Yup, for me if leather cleaning, wipe off with damp cloth before it dries...:driver:

Halo all sifu-sifu here ! Just one question. What's the maximum thickness of rim spacer can a wira studs take (don't consider the tire width)? 5mm? 10mm?