The engine was opened apart.

1. Engine block checked, tested the deck for flatness
2. Cylinder head checked, tested for flatness
3. New gasket
4. New water pump
5. New thermostat
6. New radiator cap
7. Radiator flushed and cleaned external of the car, pressure tested
8. Radiator fan working properly, added additional Panasonic 12" auxiliary fan in front
9. Coolant using distilled water + Toyota long life coolant 70/30 mixture
10. There's a large front mounted intercooler in front of the radiator, covering about 40% of the radiator, but I doubt this is the problem since other Myvi turbo runs with front intercoolers didn't overheat
11. Stock (OEM) tune, boost not increased, still stock 0.8 bar

Car overheat when rempit up Genting.

I'm out of ideas, so any smarty pants got idea? :confused:
See izso, your car overheat, is peanut compared to this.

:biggrin:

What oil you using? What weight? You've pretty much covered all the basic issues so I'm going to skip those. Btw, does it overheat when rempit-ing on flat roads? You might need an oil cooler or just reduce that boost la. Didn't know 0.8 was stock!

Oh btw this is probably a stupid question but when you said "stock" ECU, I assume the K3VET ECU yes?

Yes K3VET ecu. Engine oil is Cusco 5w30 fully synthetic.
Flat roads, out meter @ 220km/h indicated by Pivot Speed Meter also doesn't overheat.

hur hur hur.
got ghost.

Yes K3VET ecu. Engine oil is Cusco 5w30 fully synthetic.
Flat roads, out meter @ 220km/h indicated by Pivot Speed Meter also doesn't overheat.

hur hur hur.
got ghost.
Actually, I think you need a baffled oil pan. Oil suffocation? Is the turbo water or oil cooled?

Turbo is both water and oil cooled. Problem is coolant temp is going up, not supposed to happen.

romen_

Aug 31, 2005
Hi bro!

haha you are using a stock radiator meant for a non-boosted car. plus your intercooler is blocking cool air, and your turbo is cooking the radiator from the inside. what were you expecting?

high speed runs your car is cooled by the strong air blowing against the radiator..
but try a hot day stuck in the jam.. im sure your aircon will start to feel less cool :)

Based on my experience in running my own eg in sepang, you should:-
- change to a low temp thermostat (68 degree and below, works wonders, dropped idle coolant temps by 10c) ~ RM200-300
- change to a new, thick radiator. Branded ones please. Mines / Koyoo / HKS china-mali at your own risk ~ RM200-700
- install foam around all the gaps around your radiator ~ RM5
- change to a smaller number plate ~ RM80 (for my car, went from 3 laps overheat to 5 laps overheat.. pretty good in my books)
- change the stock fan to a more powerful one (keep the 12" panasonic fan). you may have to wire it to be always on
- install an oil cooler for your engine oil ~ RM500 - 1500

Do it in the order I suggested :)

Blocking area around radiator:-
Project 200SX - Track Ready? > MotoIQ

myakac

Jun 13, 2010
myself have myvi turbo last time. to me, myvi engine bay is quite tight so not much heat ventilation can improve. using X4 bonet scope (the functional one ) can reduce the heat a bit..

Hi bro!

haha you are using a stock radiator meant for a non-boosted car. plus your intercooler is blocking cool air, and your turbo is cooking the radiator from the inside. what were you expecting?

high speed runs your car is cooled by the strong air blowing against the radiator..
but try a hot day stuck in the jam.. im sure your aircon will start to feel less cool :)

Based on my experience in running my own eg in sepang, you should:-
- change to a low temp thermostat (68 degree and below, works wonders, dropped idle coolant temps by 10c) ~ RM200-300
- change to a new, thick radiator. Branded ones please. Mines / Koyoo / HKS china-mali at your own risk ~ RM200-700
- install foam around all the gaps around your radiator ~ RM5
- change to a smaller number plate ~ RM80 (for my car, went from 3 laps overheat to 5 laps overheat.. pretty good in my books)
- change the stock fan to a more powerful one (keep the 12" panasonic fan). you may have to wire it to be always on
- install an oil cooler for your engine oil ~ RM500 - 1500

Do it in the order I suggested :)

Blocking area around radiator:-
Project 200SX - Track Ready? > MotoIQ
Thanks for the constructive suggestions.

Do you know of any reputable radiator for Myvi? I used Synergy for a while, the fins are not that dense, other than being a bit thicker than stock its not that great. I inspected an original Koyo Radiator, the fins are much denser (like OEM radiator).

leonl

Aug 16, 2009
USA
Water temp goes up, you might want to check to make sure raidator is properly bleed. Little air in the radiator system can cause that. My M3 took a year for the overheat to happen. I even took it to autox and track, nothing. One day, it happened & I topped it up. That is it.
Remember coolant goes all the way through the heating core inside the car and out, sometimes air trapped inside and it takes asometimes to completely bleeded all the air pocket out. Good luck.

Also, check engine oil if there is coolant in it. Hopefully not. That will be expensive.

or tebuk lobang on the bonnet to help hot air coming out when there's not enough cold air pushing in

Jac83

Apr 29, 2007
or tebuk lobang on the bonnet to help hot air coming out when there's not enough cold air pushing in
Good idea only if u go for a specialist or some1 who know what they are doing otherwise during rainy days u might find your car stalled due to short circuit or engine bay flooded. Always go for original hood with vent if possible as those had gone through proper r&d by qualified personnels to be reliable and problem free.

Original vent is for intercooler on the top. His intercooler is in front already...Now need ventilation only...:driver: