Tuning engine timing..

built

Mar 23, 2006
ThunderGod_Cid said:
my lecturer just tuned my car today... i forgot whats the rpm according to the manufacturer's book, cant rmb d. but its kinda high abt 1k.

well, f*** perodua... my kancil 1 year old, everythng stock. lecturer said the timing belt was installed less 1teeth, if u guys know what it means.
so instead of adjusting the valve clearance according to the pistons or crankshaft pulley, he had to adjust according to the distributor rotor.

he said, the timing belt like that results to higher fuel consumption... n0w kancil stock can run at 140km/h on 12inch rims.
Valve clearance :

Stock - Intake 0.25mm, Exhaust .30mm

U guys try setting it to 15,20 or 20,25 n c. you'll like it.
hi sid,
i suggest get the timing belt installed correctly. and the
140 km/h thingy... a BIG no-no. not only with a kancil,
other cars too, imho.

gohlex

Jan 26, 2006
guys, if i'm not wrong, kancil 850 auto is using efi,not carb.
the screw u guys mentions is for a carb engine right?
i wonder knight manage to find the screw or not...

correct me if i'm wrong, don shoot me ya.hehe

built

Mar 23, 2006
goh, you may be right.

if the kancil has a efi system, then dun
time tuning the engine. the timing will
be self corrected by a ecu. check the
ecu, imho.

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
built said:
goh, you may be right.

if the kancil has a efi system, then dun
time tuning the engine. the timing will
be self corrected by a ecu. check the
ecu, imho.
Pardon me for butting in, I'm using Kancil 850 EZI (Auto) EFI DOHC since 2003.... it's the same as Kelisa 850EXi Manual. The engine code is ED-DE

Me thinks that all auto version of Kancil mata bulat (My fren says Small Litre Kancil = SLK :X-: ) use the same engine. on Pero2 website...it quotes 50hp on wheel

But when I went for my first service, the perodua svc ctr in kajang accused me for changing engine and refuse to entertain me... it tooks multiple calls to Pero2 just to set thing straight!

Well, back to the topic... U need to scan ur ECU for any errors... if non critical errors found or already fixed, clear the error log and let the car idle for a while... then tried to adjust the idler screw... me myself never knows where this thingie is since i was on meeting... just send the car to Pero2 centre and off I went to my meeting.. picked it up in the evening...

My current FC is 15km/l... my car is using KN open pod + noisy exhaust setup, when it was standard, it can get up to 18km/l

IMHO, ur FC is bad la. Worst if your car is standard setup!

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
ThunderGod_Cid said:
erm... can tell me why no-no??
Ever drove a kancil at 140km/h? noticed the engine sounded rough? noticed that you can "take off" anytime?

enuff said :X-:

ThunderGod_Cid

Dec 2, 2005
hehe... rpm at 5 or 5.5 lidat. n a lil take off, 130km/h jz nice.
well, maybe using 14s or 15s rim would be stable at 140km/h

punktuichea

Apr 17, 2006
built said:
knight,

mechanics charge for tunning b'cos there are
more to just to turning a screw behind the carb.

basically, are only 2 elements, initial timing and
air-fuel ratio.

1st set your engine to the recommended idling
speed. then set the engine timing (initial timing).
this can only be seen with a timing light. it look
like a laser gun. the timing is mark at the pulley.
after your initial timing is set, you have to fine tune
the air fuel-ratio until you get your idling to specs.
refer to your car manual for the idling speed and
the initial timing. air-fuel ratio is usually 14:1 (if i
remember correctly).

if you do not have knowledge about initial timing
(position before or after TDC) and dun own a timing
light, forget about tuning the kancil yourself. you'll
screw the engine up. you may get better mileage
but the car will be under power and stuff like that.
or you'll get black smoke from your exhaust b'cos
of incomplete combustion. many things can happen.

have a nice day.
broter...i think u should gain more experience.
wat u talk juz from book.
witout timing light stil can adjust the timing...
even the fuel ratio oso can.
is depend how u work on it.
after u work 1 or 2 year...u can do it.
these all juz basic tuning.not a big matter.
add oil !!!
im oso a student actually.

skyline2m

Jul 20, 2006
Kota Kinabalu
isnt that there are some medcine that can last the battery life(only for maintance battery)
i've saw this thing called 'batt aid' but i havent try it
it is cube that we put it inside battery to clean up the plat
it can be found at the car accessories shop
i've saw it b4 at eneos car accessories shop
tell me if u've tried it

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
skyline2m said:
isnt that there are some medcine that can last the battery life(only for maintance battery)
i've saw this thing called 'batt aid' but i havent try it
it is cube that we put it inside battery to clean up the plat
it can be found at the car accessories shop
i've saw it b4 at eneos car accessories shop
tell me if u've tried it

a good maintenance battery can last for few years...mine didnt add anything oso use until now...bout 4 years in wrx. juz make sure ur car running at expected voltage/current flow....

my2cent

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
built said:
if kancil has a auto choke, the idling speed
shud be the same with or without the air-
cond on, imo.

isn't auto choke are used for adjust the air fuel when the engine is cold so the engine is easier to start and can warm up faster? how come related to aircon on/off idling?

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
hehe...if stock at 130km/h already floating..lucky mine still okay at 145km/h....lolz...

Convicted_Knight

Jul 17, 2006
hehe.. floating ah? we both same lah howiechoo.. 145km/h still ok.. although my needle show over 140km/h.. i still can get enuf of the speed.. damn..

Which is from japan spec.. intrested to know more .. anyone to share.. any upgrade for YRV to share..