Toyota Gearbox problems

2leeph

Sep 5, 2012
CASE No.1

27 Jun 2012, 10:53 PM
My Altis (1.8G) started to had jerking problem few days ago & I've brought my car to Kajang Service Center to check the issue.
I was told my car gearbox got issue as the shift from gear 1 to 2 causes the car to jerk. I've just completed my 100,000km service last week and no problem was detected with my gearbox that time.
Now the Service center mention that they will charge for the gearbox repair as the car's warranty is over. They estimated the cost to be more than RM 10,000 which is totally unacceptable and I've not agreed for Toyota to check it further. I'm taken my car back now and I demand a proper explanation from Toyota on how this problem can happen.
My question is, how come my gearbox has issue when all my services was done in Toyota service center? I'm sure my car ATF oil was changed on schedule. My car is hardly 4 years old & just reached 103,000km mileage.
I'm completely dissapointed that the Kajang Service center mentioned that nothing else can be done although i just service my car last week. Is there any other way that Toyota can assist to fix this problem? Do I need to raise an appeal to Toyota to diagnose my car gearbox without any charge?
Regards,
Ruben

CASE No.2

30 Jul 2012, 12:47 AM
Am having the same jerking problem.My Altis (1.8G) started to had jerking problem few days ago & I've brought my car to Cheras Service Center to check the issue.
I was told my car gearbox got issue as the shift from gear 1 to 2 causes the car to jerk.
My car is hardly 4 years old & less than 50000km.

It seem this regular failure inexplicable of Toyota, given the company's reputation and feel that the company ought to be feeling a great deal of shame at the failing of a critical component such as the gearbox.

Hopefully Toyota to accept that this is a problem with the maufacture or design of the gearbox.
Does anyone have any more information on this problem?

Thanks in anticipation.
Regards,
2leeph

For further readings goto :
http://www.tribetoyota.com.my/forum/topic.dot?topic_id=2981

lkeong88

Nov 1, 2009
Cheras
All I can say is the manufacturer already did their job, they gave you 3 years warranty or 100 000km and the car did not have problems during that 3 years or within that mileage. You can't expect everything to be perfect, the 10k is to change a whole new gearbox, if you get it fixed outside its less than 3k.

Its just like human, some human live to 100 years old, some die at 50, and some say they don't smoke, dont drink etc but still die at 50, can you blame anyone? You want to claim warranty from God?

Not bashing you, but please think straight, if you are a manufacturer of a product, everyone claims with you after the warranty is over, you will go bankrupt in no time

j_l200s

Dec 16, 2004
agreed wit lkeong. Even human being can't tell u when they gonna die. same goes to mechanical/electronical parts. It doesn't mean u changed oil on time then the gearbox will not spoiled. Things just happen man. Even new car got gearbox problem...

"My question is, how come my gearbox has issue when all my services was done in Toyota service center?"
-if TSC can guarantee my car no problem after going there, then i oso wanna send my 20 years old toyota for them d... get what i'm trying to say?

it's all about PURE LUCK if u ask me... well, good luck on your issue... hope u can settle it cheaper rather than changing a whole new unit of your transmission.

Katsumoto

Nov 19, 2011
if everything last forever what the service center will eat ????

there a thing call wear and tear , dont like it build your own car lah

same as every bloody customer that come to my front door and complain about their car

wilm3

Aug 4, 2005
haha u consider so lucky....my fren new sonata in less than a year changed new gearbox n few ECU dy.....

2leeph

Sep 5, 2012
Dear Katsumoto,

if everything last forever what the service center will eat ????
IF the SC is negligent and incompetent for not trying to identify and rectify the manufacturing defect, then can forsee they will eat shit !!!!

there a thing call wear and tear , dont like it build your own car lah
5. When I purchased the car, there is an express and implied warranty that the car is suppose to be of merchantable quality and fit for purpose but instead the outcome TOYOTA is unreliable and moving backward. Furthermore I very disappointed with car qualities with this price we paid.

same as every bloody customer that come to my front door and complain about their car
I am deeply frustrated and angry with the level of after sales services provided by UMW Toyota, especially by Toyota service centre. They’ve cost me a lot of troubles, by passing the complain call from one person to another person as well as time. From my first experience with your customer service centre, i would say IT IS VERY UNPROFESSIONAL for what have u called yourselves as the professional. The reason am posting my complain because I feel that only by getting the highest authority's attention in Toyota. I find this regular failure inexplicable of Toyota, given your company's reputation and feel that your company ought to be feeling a great deal of shame at the failing of a critical component such as the gearbox; take a look at this web thread
1.) Tribe Toyota
2.) Complaints - Reckless Toyota Service Centre

What is Customer First?

Customer First is for you if you can answer 'Yes' to one or more of these questions?
•Do you want to increase customer satisfaction levels?
•Do you want to retain your existing customers?
•Do you want to differentiate your brand in the marketplace by delivering customer service excellence?

'Putting the Customer First ®' is the National Standard for Customer Service.

Of benefit to all service deliverers, Customer First has been achieved by hundreds of organisations in both the public and private sectors, nationwide.

In a nutshell, Customer First offers a proven methodology to help organisations such as yours achieve and maintain customer service excellence.

Customer First offers a practical approach to ensuring outstanding customer service is delivered everytime.

Why is excellent customer service so important?
•Whatever your organisation’s size, sector or specialisation, focusing on the customer at every step of the way is crucial to your ongoing success
• Excellence at the customer interface is the key to: ◦Building your business
◦Establishing a real competitive advantage
◦Winning more customers
◦Maximising your customers loyalty and future custom

But consistently excellent service is challenging to achieve
• Research shows that organisations are challenged by ◦Really understanding customer needs
◦Tailoring services to meet needs
◦Providing quality customer care and follow up
◦Identifying benefits that customers have gained from services

If your organisation is ready to tackle such challenges, then you are ready for 'Customer First' and we are here to actively support you to deliver outstanding service to every customer

Lastly i feel very disappointed and for Toyota if you were one of their staff, for your arrogant and unresponsible attitute.
But can't blame you because guess you already been facing tons of Toyota car complains to handle, right !!!
Right now I would not buy another and could not recomend that anyone else does. Clearly this is a problem occuring in toyotas and needs to be addressed!

Thanks in anticipation.

2leeph

Sep 5, 2012
CASE No.3

07 Nov 2011, 04:28 PM

Engine knocking sound while cruising/light

Hello all,

Just joined the forum, read some of the good reviews and advice here. Needed some help on a problem I have now. Thanks in advance for the tips.
After driving around for some time (say 15 minutes), and engage neutral, whenever I re-engage "D" and let the car cruise by itself or lightly stepping on the fuel pedal, I've noticed a slight knocking sound coming from the engine compartment, becoming more prominent up to 5km/h-10km/h and then disappears. High speed travelling no problem.
The noise is intermittent, sometimes it's there, and other times its not, but now getting more frequent. Tried telling Toyota about it, but the one time they checked, they stamped "cannot replicate problem' to my card. Going to get it serviced again next week, so wanted to see if there's anyone out there with the same problem...

Some background: using a 6-mth old DVVTi Altis 1.8G, using RON95 since day one. FC at 14.2km/l (I'm light on my feet! :-) )

==> http://www.tribetoyota.com.my/forum/topic.dot?topic_id=2542

xMika

Feb 28, 2010
I wonder if you really know much about how your engine functions and have basic knowledge about cars besides being pro in complaining lol .. you cant pinpoint the problem ??? when the problem occurs you as a driver should make a smart guess where the problem came from .. dont blame the service centre mechanic because their time spent with your car is barely 30minutes

2leeph

Sep 5, 2012
http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=77148

Here are the Toyota email addresses I got from a web recently:

Asia Pacific customer relation division: [email protected]

Another one, but not sure who is that: [email protected]

By the way, I think in order to make Toyota really think serious about our
complaints, we should act in group, not individual. What do you think?

You might want to write to Mr. Akio Toyoda, the Executive Vice President
of Toyota Motor Corporation!

E-mail: [email protected]

Cheers!

http://www.autoworld.com.my/forum/summary.asp?
summary=1&forum=ap111582596&page=1

to: [email protected]

hon_cs

Jan 23, 2004
bro, sorry for your issue. you keep saying they were not pro. may i know why you say so? because they cant diagnose your knocking and gearbox? to my understanding, changing atf oil is a way to protect and prolong your gb life span only. there is no guarantee says 100% your gb is protected wo. altis is well known for its reliability. seldom hear ppl complain about gb issue. i suggest bring your car to those gb specialist and ask for 2nd opinion. i see you've 2 issue during June and July. may i know is you car warranty still active during that time? If you filed case to toyota before warranty period is over and they never do anything then this might disputable. or else try tribunal.

2leeph

Sep 5, 2012
TOKYO, Oct 10 — Toyota Motor Corp said it would recall more than 7.4 million vehicles worldwide, the latest in a series of setbacks that have dented the reputation of Japan’s biggest automaker.

FGT

May 19, 2007
Erm now I'm officially confused -- what's the point of posting the problem here when your replies seem like you are not up for discussion to allow us to help you solve it?

nappx

Sep 13, 2005
kLaNG-kEy_tEE
read and ignore lah..i feel that, he post to show his 'tak puas hati' to toyota SC/toyota after his complaint not entertain by toyota or just info sharing how bad is toyota aftersales

piss...pisss...yea..

Yep, it’s another horrific Ferrari accident, this time involving a F355. From the looks of it, seems that the driver of the Skoda Superb slammed into the rear end of the Ferrari literally splitting the F355 into two pieces. As you can see in the images below, the F355’s rear-end (including the V8 powertrai) is located several feet away from the main body!