Toyo Teo Plus, T1R or Bridgestone Turanza ER300?

dyii95

Sep 11, 2012
Miri
ahh i see.. im using it on my toyota but my car dont really have the power to test it's limits.. been doing a lot of cornering at 80-110 dry and wet though..

csl

Aug 22, 2005
Malysia
As the price different for 4x 15" tires isn't big, get continental or dunlop. Silverstone should be black listed cuz even Kenda is far better than it. I used 2 times Silverstone on different cars with different size and series and kena 2 times tire pregnant. Toyo tires are good but T1R need higher pressure else outer thread will be ate up faster than the middle thread. Korean tires are good for drifting, even KU36, but not good for those race driver wannabe (like me and many people out there). Michilin and yokohama are overpriced and falken must have a boss that not ngam with insurance companies. Bridgestone is quite fair but not too sure for the small size tires although never heard people complaint about it.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
No need for me to answer mah! Plenty of sifus around.....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 06:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:52 PM ----------

Bro., you have to set your priorities you want. Of the 3 tyres mentioned Teo Plus should be entry level, ER300 are mid and T-1R are UHP category.
PS3 are good in wet and dry and are comfortable too but price should be around RM300 per pc.
Try GY F1 D5, Hankook V12 Evo for performance.
Yoko C-Drive 2 also have soft sidewall, mid range tyres. Price in PJ around RM250
Whether Teo plus better or T-1R better depends on what. Grip should go to T-1R and comfort to Teo plus.
Many tyres - brands and model for your size. Here are some....
195/55R15
ALTENZO SPORT COMFORTER - RM190 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
BRIDGESTONE POTENZA RE002 - RM355 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
BRIDGESTONE TURANZA ER30 84V - RM206 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
Continental CC5 - RM200 Best Drive, Jln Prima SG 1, Sri Gombak (Aug 12)
CONTINENTAL COMFORT CONTACT 5 85V - RM207 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
CORSA 122 - RM175 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
GOODYEAR ASS. FUEL MAX - RM245 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
Goodyear Assurance Fuel Max - RM225 SLWH Tyre, Jln Tuanku Antah, Seremban (Nov 12) +B
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM260 Jazz Tyre, Bukit Mertajam (Feb 12) B+A
Goodyear F1 Directional 5 - RM260 SLWH Tyre, Jln Tuanku Antah, Seremban (Nov 12) B+A
Hankook Ventus V12 Evo - RM210 Tek Ming (Sunway), Jln PJS 11/24, Petaling Jaya (Oct 12) V+B
Hankook Ventus V2 Concept - RM220 Hankook Tyre, Jln 15/1a, Bangi (Nov 12) +B
Kumho Ecsta SPT KU31 - RM195 Weng Tat, SS14 Subang Jaya (Mar 13) V+B+A
Kumho Ecsta SPT KU31 - RM210 Weng Tat Tyre, Jln SS 14/2, Petaling Jaya (Oct 12) V+B+A
Kumho Ecsta XT KU37 - RM240 Tayar Karib, Persiaran S2 B1, Seremban 2 (Nov 12) +B
KUMHO KU31 85V - RM203 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
Michelin PS 3 - RM 269 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
Michelin PS3 - RM275 HupShun, SS3 (Sept 12) V+B
Michelin PS3 - RM280 Weng Tat Tyre, Jln SS 14/2, Petaling Jaya (Oct 12) V+B+A
Michelin PS3 - RM285 Tek Ming (Sunway), Jln PJS 11/24, Petaling Jaya (Oct 12) V+B
Michelin PS3 - RM285 Weng Tat, SS14 Subang Jaya (Nov 12) V+B+A
Michelin PS3 - RM290 V Care Tyre, Jalan Bandar Rawang 10, Rawang (May 12), V+B+A
Michelin XM2 - RM 264 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
Michelin XM2 - RM260 Tiong Tyre, Jalan 21/18, Sea Park, Petaling Jaya (Sep 12)
Neuton NT8000 - RM170 Kean Lee Hin, Jln Ipoh, Kuala Lumpur (Dec 12)
Nexen N'blue HD - RM200 Kean Lee Hin, Jln Ipoh, Kuala Lumpur (Dec 12)
PIRELLI P6 85V - RM252 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
SILVERSTONE NS700 85V - RM200 3S Specialists Ara Damansara (Feb-13) B+A+N.Gas
Toyo DRB - RM315 Tayar Karib, Persiaran S2 B1, Seremban 2 (Nov 12) +B
Toyo Proxes T1R - RM250 Yoon Song, Lebuh AMJ, Melaka, (Dec 12)
Toyo Proxes T1R - RM290 Modern Tyre, Jln Tampin, Seremban (Nov 12) +B
Toyo Proxes T1R - RM290 Weng Tat Tyre, Jln SS 14/2, Petaling Jaya (Sep 12)
Toyo Proxes T1R - RM330 Tayar Karib, Persiaran S2 B1, Seremban 2 (Nov 12) +B
Yokohama A-Drive - RM210 SLWH Tyre, Jln Tuanku Antah, Seremban (Nov 12) B+A
Yokohama Advan DB - RM295 Kean Lee Hin, Jln Ipoh, Kuala Lumpur (Dec 12)
Yokohama C Drive 2 - RM240 SLWH Tyre, Jln Tuanku Antah, Seremban (Nov 12) B+A
Yokohama C-Drive 2 - RM230 Kian Hoe Yokohama, Jalan USJ 19/4, Subang Jaya (Sept 12)
Yokohama C-Drive 2 - RM240 Tiong Tyre, Jalan 21/18, Sea Park, Petaling Jaya (Sep 12)
Yokohama C-Drive-2 - RM240 Kiat Mun, Jalan Reko, Kajang (May 2012)

---------- Post added at 06:06 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:02 PM ----------

Federal 595 RSR are extreme tyres. Very good for dry, so so in wet only.
You want better wet then look for Max or UHP tyres, but dry will loose the extreme...
Kumho KU36 also very good for dry only.
Not many sizes for 205/50R15 and this size also quite expensive
Tire sifu had spoken! :)

No lah! Many sifus here. For example have not use Silverstone before, but like bro. csl have use before so he can give real world review and feedback.....so everyone chip in is best.....:adore:

mh wong

Feb 14, 2012
all sifu,

last time, I'm use to buy tyre fr drawing tmk 2 for my van, I bought those new tyre fr those new car which change rim, it's cheap. 14 inches only rm100.00. wen I install front, its sway left n right, aftrrbchange to Goodyear, problem soft...Silverstone..=no gud:hmmmm:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
GT Radial should be a good choice if looking for relatively cheaper tires but still with decent performance & quality.

kendrick92

Jul 13, 2011
GT Radial should be a good choice if looking for relatively cheaper tires but still with decent performance & quality.
GT Radial tyres are made from where? which kind of GT Radial tyres are good to be used? can give some comments? :adore:

all sifu,

last time, I'm use to buy tyre fr drawing tmk 2 for my van, I bought those new tyre fr those new car which change rim, it's cheap. 14 inches only rm100.00. wen I install front, its sway left n right, aftrrbchange to Goodyear, problem soft...Silverstone..=no gud:hmmmm:
i was previously using silverstone m5....very bad quality, after 6-8mths of use the tire bengkak....summore car used only on weekends. from that day i ban silverstone for life.

Never use local brands before. All the while on imports. Tested once Dunlop local made but Japan Sumitomo pattern design. Wet performance was very very poor, could be due to local rubber compound formula. Even later use Dunlop and Goodyear models either from Japan or Germany....

ColdPlay

Jun 16, 2010
There are few tyres model which made into my 'lousy' category list. Silverstone M3 and M5 are the worst. Acceptable dry grip but wet grip is worst. Tyres literally skid everywhere during rainy day.
Even during slow braking from 70km/h. 2 unit bulging after 4 months.
Drove friend's BLM fitted with it and same story.
Another one is Goodyear NCT5. Tyres has lousy grip with 70% tread. Worst case sidewall wear out much faster although I check the pressure every 2 weeks. Fitted on daily ride. Changed to now discontinue C.drive after that and no sidewall wear out issue.

Then again, those are my experience few years back. Not sure if the manufacturer has taken a step to improves it though.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
are they durable & liable? how is the comment and price for them?:biggrin:
They're good enough. I've used BAX before for almost 1 yr (before I sold the car) and quite good for the price I paid, so good value for money, surely cheaper than other more well know brands (GY, Michelin, Yokohama, Toyo, BS, Dunlop, Pirelli, etc.)
VR2turbo also have tested the high performance range HPY and he claims pretty good as well.
FYI, Michelin has some shares in GT Radial.

---------- Post added at 09:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:49 PM ----------

There are few tyres model which made into my 'lousy' category list. Silverstone M3 and M5 are the worst. Acceptable dry grip but wet grip is worst. Tyres literally skid everywhere during rainy day.
I've only experienced Silverstone in a rental car (Viva) during my trip to Langkawi for 4 days. Even in the dry the grip is very low, it understeered all over the place! Maybe the car also contributes to the poor handling...

are they durable & liable? how is the comment and price for them?:biggrin:
Like bro. 6UE5t mentioned money for value. My friend on BAX2 also mentioned not bad for that value.
Yup, I am still on the HPY and they are pretty good, but this model start from 17". 215/45R17 only RM320 per pc. where Michelin is like RM500 plus, even with 80% of Michelin performance is good enough, since we don't go all out in out daily drives....

---------- Post added at 08:50 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:38 AM ----------

Another one is Goodyear NCT5. Tyres has lousy grip with 70% tread. Worst case sidewall wear out much faster although I check the pressure every 2 weeks. Fitted on daily ride. Changed to now discontinue C.drive after that and no sidewall wear out issue.

Then again, those are my experience few years back. Not sure if the manufacturer has taken a step to improves it though.
Most tyres even entry level are still okay in the dry. It is in the wet that puts them apart. So far local tyres that I have tested are more towards comfort and durability to cater for mass market.
As for NCT5 this is due to the sipes (small cuts) in the pattern. These sipes soften the rubber and aid in grip. Problem with NCT5, these sipes starts to wear off very fast. Probably too shallow. By 30% wear the sipes already starts to disappear that is why you lack grip at 70% thread. By 50% looks bald already.

New NCT5 (This one is off different size so pattern differ slightly)

Probably 15% wear only

Middle sipes almost gone, side sipes still have

Grooves still deep but middle sipes worn off, side sipes starts to wear off too

---------- Post added at 08:53 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:50 AM ----------

They're good enough. I've used BAX before for almost 1 yr (before I sold the car) and quite good for the price I paid, so good value for money, surely cheaper than other more well know brands (GY, Michelin, Yokohama, Toyo, BS, Dunlop, Pirelli, etc.)
VR2turbo also have tested the high performance range HPY and he claims pretty good as well.
FYI, Michelin has some shares in GT Radial.

Seems major owner now is China Chinese...

BMW E21 (oil consumption)

Hey everyone, Im planing on getting a BMW E21 as a affordable 1st car.
Ive been reading alot about the E21 and the 323i model interest me the most.
My concern about getting this car is about the oil consumption.
Im posting this here in hopes that you guys out there can share with me about the oil consumption of the E21.
323i is 2.3 I have a feeling that it might drink petrol like water or maybe not,
cause maybe since its a beemer and not a vtec the...