Teens

csl

Aug 22, 2005
Malysia
came across with something and let me think back my teen's life. Can't really remember wtf was happened 2 decades ago, all the pictures just filled with clubbing, fcking, illegal street racing and etc. I guess today's youngsters are having even a better life :love::love: At least got high speed internet, i-thingy and etc to play with.

but while this happened, at some corners of the worlds, at similar ages teens did came out with something interesting. Some of the wordings even our local professors also need to find from special dictionary before can answer wtf is it.

for 2013
http://www.societyforscience.org/document.doc?id=494

for previous years please google ISEF

What I can say is we are having problems.

1. Education system failed. From framework to syllabus.

2. Teachers failed. Some doing own business and treat the job as extra money generator, some waiting for end of the month, some pass time, some aim for the retirement benefit, some this and some that. How many % from the teachers actually try the best to lead the students and bring up their potential and then suggest them for specific training/learning? My wife a teacher too kanasai.

3. Parents failed. Needless to say. 99% hopeless. Just dump the job to teachers and other people. As long as exam get A and able to show off to friends then it is ok.

4. Students failed. Myself also failed so I can't really condemn people. During that age, the IT technology is limited. Until finish form 5, the best computer I ever see is 486. All books in the school library are nothing serious. Today's students half got private driver, some got private transportation, gadgets, money, cyberlife, clubbing life, sex life and etc. Big volumn spoon fed from small. The volumn that knows how to appreciate LV and Dior increasing linearly year by year.

5. The social failed. The major part of the social nowadays only know how to push the blame to other people, especially the gov. But never think of its own fault. When adults always ask the gov for tongkat, wtf they expect the children will do? Perhaps, most people still want their children to feed them when they are old but they themselves just give parents RM50-100 a month and self spending fortune on cars, phones and etc. If KNN is the upgraded level of KNS, then this is KNNGCCB.
Luckily singapore is more advanced. They just came out a law that people must take care of their parents. Although this is openly put themselves in shame but at least they admit it. Looks like our face is still sibeh thick.

Of cause, 1 bamboo stick cannot hit all persons on the boat and fall into the water. There are exceptions. But just rather rare. the chance of striking Bigsweeps 1st prize is higher.

All people are different. Not everyone can become genius or excel in certain field. Some just plain Jane as natural. not getting awards doesn't mean failed. But people's award does reflect our problem. Face it or ignore it is up to individual's choice.

My son got music talent. I bought a small electric piano or whatever you call it for him. But I never even once try to sit down with him and try to guide him. I pay teacher to teach him because I believe teacher can do better than me. But I never think that he will be happier and put more initiative if I sits besides him. I work and enjoy my life with cars and some DIY shits. I'm so fck up as a father. Hope my problem will wake some people up.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
came across with something and let me think back my teen's life. Can't really remember wtf was happened 2 decades ago, all the pictures just filled with clubbing, fcking, illegal street racing and etc. I guess today's youngsters are having even a better life :love::love: At least got high speed internet, i-thingy and etc to play with.

but while this happened, at some corners of the worlds, at similar ages teens did came out with something interesting. Some of the wordings even our local professors also need to find from special dictionary before can answer wtf is it.

for 2013
http://www.societyforscience.org/document.doc?id=494

for previous years please google ISEF

What I can say is we are having problems.

1. Education system failed. From framework to syllabus.

2. Teachers failed. Some doing own business and treat the job as extra money generator, some waiting for end of the month, some pass time, some aim for the retirement benefit, some this and some that. How many % from the teachers actually try the best to lead the students and bring up their potential and then suggest them for specific training/learning? My wife a teacher too kanasai.

3. Parents failed. Needless to say. 99% hopeless. Just dump the job to teachers and other people. As long as exam get A and able to show off to friends then it is ok.

4. Students failed. Myself also failed so I can't really condemn people. During that age, the IT technology is limited. Until finish form 5, the best computer I ever see is 486. All books in the school library are nothing serious. Today's students half got private driver, some got private transportation, gadgets, money, cyberlife, clubbing life, sex life and etc. Big volumn spoon fed from small. The volumn that knows how to appreciate LV and Dior increasing linearly year by year.

5. The social failed. The major part of the social nowadays only know how to push the blame to other people, especially the gov. But never think of its own fault. When adults always ask the gov for tongkat, wtf they expect the children will do? Perhaps, most people still want their children to feed them when they are old but they themselves just give parents RM50-100 a month and self spending fortune on cars, phones and etc. If KNN is the upgraded level of KNS, then this is KNNGCCB.
Luckily singapore is more advanced. They just came out a law that people must take care of their parents. Although this is openly put themselves in shame but at least they admit it. Looks like our face is still sibeh thick.

Of cause, 1 bamboo stick cannot hit all persons on the boat and fall into the water. There are exceptions. But just rather rare. the chance of striking Bigsweeps 1st prize is higher.

All people are different. Not everyone can become genius or excel in certain field. Some just plain Jane as natural. not getting awards doesn't mean failed. But people's award does reflect our problem. Face it or ignore it is up to individual's choice.

My son got music talent. I bought a small electric piano or whatever you call it for him. But I never even once try to sit down with him and try to guide him. I pay teacher to teach him because I believe teacher can do better than me. But I never think that he will be happier and put more initiative if I sits besides him. I work and enjoy my life with cars and some DIY shits. I'm so fck up as a father. Hope my problem will wake some people up.
I couldn't agree more. I am barely 20 years old now.
Although I'm still controlled under my parents, i know why they are doing this.
See, i turned out not to be spoiled like the others, mentally at least.
I don't club, I don't smoke, I don't do anything stupid.
As for the fathering part, u haven't failed.
How old is your son?
When he is in middle school, he will know how to think by himself.
All you need to do is sit down and just talk to him nicely.
I always crave for father and son talk, i don't have that, not that i can remember of.
My father many times have discouraged me doing stuffs i like.
Athletics is what I'm good at. 100m,200m,400m, u name it, I can get gold.
Yet, I'm studying nothing I like now. Asked to study at TOC, now I'm studying marketing. :bawling:
Get to know your son like a friend. But not too close as they will feel awkward. :stupid:
Let your son do what he is good at, watch behind his back and see what he is good at.
Help him pursue that goal. Your son is probably younger than me.
All father should be like this. :hahaha:

Cheers.

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
I'm regret with the own old way and wanting to give more attention to my son as father as friend. I went on with the daily mundanes until I became more and more self-aware of my lousy fatherhood. I'm going to break the habit.

Chains of habit are too light to be felt until they are too heavy to be broken." - Warren Buffett

All of you guys missing the point! Dude, where's the pictures??? :thefinger: Not interested to see your hairy ass, I just want to see the chicks

f*** off man. Be serious abit lah.
Taking Ixeo seriously is difficult la. Chill a bit, he's ok. Besides this is the "General talk" section. Ixeo only has two modes - serious badass stone flicking bitch or wtfbbqyabbadabbadoo.

Right now he's the yabbadabbadoo. :biggrin:

My teen life was not as dramatic as csl's but not many people can say they survived an internal conflict in a country that still has (to date) real cannibals and was botak for most of my youth because of hair lice.

I don't see the current generation as pampered or whatever, they are just different because of the different lifestyles, requirements and availability of technology that just wasn't possible back then. I'm sure my sons kids will be big headed lazyass telepaths that use cranial communication implants.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Taking Ixeo seriously is difficult la. Chill a bit, he's ok. Besides this is the "General talk" section. Ixeo only has two modes - serious badass stone flicking bitch or wtfbbqyabbadabbadoo.

Right now he's the yabbadabbadoo. :biggrin:

My teen life was not as dramatic as csl's but not many people can say they survived an internal conflict in a country that still has (to date) real cannibals and was botak for most of my youth because of hair lice.

I don't see the current generation as pampered or whatever, they are just different because of the different lifestyles, requirements and availability of technology that just wasn't possible back then. I'm sure my sons kids will be big headed lazyass telepaths that use cranial communication implants.
Okay, maybe I'm too serious.

Today, people can either use Google to find out how to build a rocket, or they can use Google to search for porn. Living in times today is much easier than back than, but sadly, I see parents give iPad to kids so they can play mindless games like Fruit Ninja and so that they stop crying and making noise.

It is easy to lay blame on others than to look in the mirror. If you know the education system is fucked up, then DO SOMETHING about it. Send your children overseas to study, private school, or home school! Google can get you anything you want.

Justin Bieber didn't go to music school, and his mother didn't teach him music, he just loved it and he's talented as a kid. So yeah, some people are talented, others are not. Before you guys ridicule Bieber for his baby baby baby crap, look up videos of him as a kid on drums. The guy IS talented.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013

Today, people can either use Google to find out how to build a rocket, or they can use Google to search for porn. Living in times today is much easier than back than, but sadly, I see parents give iPad to kids so they can play mindless games like Fruit Ninja and so that they stop crying and making noise.

It is easy to lay blame on others than to look in the mirror. If you know the education system is fucked up, then DO SOMETHING about it. Send your children overseas to study, private school, or home school! Google can get you anything you want.

Justin Bieber didn't go to music school, and his mother didn't teach him music, he just loved it and he's talented as a kid. So yeah, some people are talented, others are not. Before you guys ridicule Bieber for his baby baby baby crap, look up videos of him as a kid on drums. The guy IS talented.

I made a promise to myself not to give my children tech stuffs
until they played Lego or stuffs like that.
He was good.
Now he became a senseless teen.
Terrorizing his neighbourhood with his car(i think its a chrome fisker with rainbow neons.lol)
and temper.

jerrysiow

Jan 3, 2012
Seremban
I'm regret with the own old way and wanting to give more attention to my son as father as friend. I went on with the daily mundanes until I became more and more self-aware of my lousy fatherhood. I'm going to break the habit.

Chains of habit are too light to be felt until they are too heavy to be broken." - Warren Buffett
Haha, at least you wake up and willing to pay more time for your son. Sometime, you have to know that life is hard. Some of the thing is out of our control and family just need financial for basic needs. Just like my father, now only got time to company us balik kampung, shopping center, and travel. Last time he got no time for family because need to work for his family. I still remember when i'm young, i not really close with my dad due to i seldom see him. I'm closer with my mother though. After I've work and I realized that I got my certificate and able to enroll Uni because of my father and this making my life easier compare to his job.

csl

Aug 22, 2005
Malysia
When I was in school, I use microtec with 018 line. Consider sibeh cool compare to others. Teachers also no cell phone. But the problem was those calculator looks alike phone has no camera built in. + that era people don't like to 'share' things like nowadays. No pics is normal.

This is just my though of the day. Nothing too serious about. I'm learning how to 'share'.

Dear All,

As mentioned above, i want to know the whether too much negative offset in OEM wheels can cause tire vibrations. Current car is an E46 318ci with stock undercarriage. Wheel hub is still using stock and standard which sits quite inside the fender. Current wheels are OEM 17" with ET37 offset. My mechanic already gave me a preamp that i will experience slight vibration and on-wheel balancing can only reduce it but not cure it completely. As he said, i did feel slight vibrations...