SR20DE and SR20DET

max_75

Oct 11, 2005
Hi all,

I want to know beside 1 is NA, 1 is turbo. Are they basically same engine?? maybe just SR20DE + T = SR20DET??

THanks.

skamat

May 16, 2006
wahh..

i think the T on the DET = turbo
but not so good.. the best r RB20,25,26..
they r powerfull engine..:_:

max_75

Oct 11, 2005
thanks guy, but i'm not trying to comparing between SR and RB since i'm going to buy a SR20DE.. My main concern is actually to know the maintenance and the running cost of this particular engine. Any issue while using this engine, what to take care about the engine will greatly help me if someone can share.

Thanks.

max_75

Oct 11, 2005
skamat said:
i think the T on the DET = turbo
but not so good.. the best r RB20,25,26..
they r powerfull engine..:_:
Thanks, and sure the T = turbo..

max_75

Oct 11, 2005
ah... just found this on web..
There are several versions of both the SR20DE and the SR20DET (Remember 'T' is for Turbo).
While the engines are similar in most respects there are several differences.

red_triangle.gif (202 bytes) Mike Kojima commented:

Here are the differences between the DET and the DE:

The DET has oil squirter piston coolers
The DET has a bigger oil pump.
The DET has a different front pulley.
The DET has lower compression pistons (8.3:1 vs 9.5:1).
The DET has bigger injectors.
The DET has direct ignition.
The DET has a variable intake cam, runs retarded at idle, advanced mid range and retarded top end.
The DET has mechanical shim in bucket type lifters with a slightly bigger in duration exhaust cam.

The GTi-R DET has individual Throttle body injection.
The GTi-R DET has stronger main cap bolts.
The GTi-R DET has beefier rods.

Just about all the parts between a DET and a DE interchange.

skamat

May 16, 2006
apa saja

tu bkn gamba kereta aku..
tp dari yahoo..
sng cerita kereta aku sebijik je..
cumer kaler die je lain..:regular_smile:

babywolfz

Dec 14, 2004
bro max.. rb in our car... hmmmm dun think so la..
to me it's all about preferences, if u can afford n tend to play turbo get the DET series.. or if u wanna keep to N/A get the DE... sr20de silver top.. i guess it comes with auto tranny rite? not so sure.. get a gear box then it's done... long time ago here in iph there's this white AD resort with SR20de manual tranny... port polished n flywheel lightening and balancing... heard was a legend here in iph.. duno true anot coz from those vtec guys. they din belive the power of a station wagon at that time.. guess a lot of years back :) cheers bro on ur scoutin on engines :)

max_75

Oct 11, 2005
wolfz... ofcoz i'm not going to think RB... since this topic is regarding SR...

popyenomoresailor

Apr 21, 2006
max_75 said:
wolfz... ofcoz i'm not going to think RB... since this topic is regarding SR...

Hi Bro MAx,

I'm driving the SR20DE S15. POwer wise it is quite good for daily drive but dun fight with those cracy EVO Putra or Satria cos sure kena tapao one haha... Good thing is the Fuel consumption is quite economy, i got to drive 600++ on full tank. SO far haven't got any problem yet cos just drive left than half a year.

Temujin

Nov 5, 2004
basically sr20de tend to have higher comp due to its nature of being n/a

anyways, maintenance and fuel consumption is of course less than sr20det engine

since ur gonna buy an sr20de, the maintenance is juz like any normal engine..

change oil when ur required to, belt change bla bla bla..

no issues with running sr20 be it n/a or turbo..

sr20de will of course could not beat the kick of an sr20det stock vs stock.. but the s15 sr20de is rated slightly higher than stock s13 sr20det (214hp vs 205hp)

older s13 and early s14 sr20de do not have variable timing.. the later s14 and s15 do hence the better power and distribution throughout the rev range..

upgrading the engine for higher power would of course need lotsa work (not to mention hard to gain horses compared to sr20det). think of higher comp pistons, stroking, high cams, exhaust.

personally i do like the sr20de.. i've been running sr20det for more than a year now and sumtimes i do have the crazy craving for an s15 sr20de.. put in cams, exhaust, 2.2litre stroker... damn.. at least 250hp i think.. more than enough for ur daily needs..

bottomline, an sr20de is a damn fine engine..

click the link at the bottom for an article from super street mag.. the guy got an s13 with sr20de with 4 throttle.. damn nice :wink:

the article
http://superstreetonline.com/featuredvehicles/130_0510_240sx/

the engine bay

the 4 throttle!

Temujin

Nov 5, 2004
there is no such thing as an sr20de silver top.. i'm referring to RWD sr20.. not FWD sr20.. hehehehehehehhe

sr20s only come in black or red top.. painted valve covers do not count :lol:

sr vs rb?

i prefer sr.. more torque than rb

dream.tent

Apr 22, 2005
www.cardomain.com
Errr my SSS bluebird running on a silver top SR20DE woh...
I mean Silver as in the Block color with no paint loh....

cmng

Temujin
SR20DE RWD is silver top

S15 SR20DE just 175hp or 180hp if i not forgetten the figure
only Autech version is 214hp

Well one of my friend who is driving a new Audi A6 mocked my beloved cefiro a33 for being sluggish and underpowered. So bragged that "german engineering will also be worlds ahead than Japanese engineering" yes I know it is underpowered but I think he deserves a lesson :D. Thus, since I have some spare time, I would like to do some upgrades. Plan on plonking in a 3000cc VQ30DE( 230 PS (170 kW; 230 hp) and 217 lb·ft (294 N·m) (engine lantai, full wiring) and plan on a bolt on turbo(custom). I...