Severe Paint Correction on a 7 Year old car

SevenDust

Feb 10, 2006
Hello Everyone!
It has indeed been a while since i last posted anything here. Been kinda busy with other stuff and such. Without further delay, i bring to you today a 7 year old car that has been neglected by the previous owner. A client contacted me and asked if i could help restore the exterior of this car to shape after he purchased it 2nd hand. I couldn't resist the challenge once i got to see the condition that the car was in. I'll let the pictures do the talking:

Upon arrival. From a distance, it doesn't look that bad, aye?

A little closeup of the hood surface..Notice the orangepeel and the lack of gloss? Found out that the hood was resprayed as well as the other panels around the car.

The car was filled with RIDs, swirls, watermarks and bird droppings.
This was on the hood:

And of course, to add on to the list of damages is this: calcium deposits

This is how the hood and boot looked in it's original state. Very dull and lacks the gloss. I'm about to change all that in a bit :)

Started with the usual wash from the wheels first then body. Not forgetting the claying process after that too. Didnt take any photos of those because it was getting dark and all i wanted to to at that point was to get the car squeaky clean ASAP so that i can start working on the correction. Sorry folks!. Fast forward now to the correction test spot.

Test area before correction was done.

Did a 50/50 shot. after compounding with OHC

Although most of the watermarks were removed, the surface still looked dull because of the orange peel texture:

Decided that it needs a little more cutting power. So i whipped out the Osren Velvet pad, then stepped down with the OHC to refine and worked the surface to get this: (This really is a picture of the halogen reflection on the paint)

Fender:

to this after a few passes of OHC:

Satisfied with the results, i called it a night and decided to continue the next morning.
Here's how the test spot looks in the day. Spot the difference ;)

Remember the calcium deposits?

Fixed!

Moving on to the boot that was once dull and unattractive. Did a 50/50 and here's how it turned out:

Fixed!

After a total of 2 and a 1/2 days, here's the finished product, enjoy!

Thanks for looking folks!

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
Fuyohhhhhhhhh....Impressiveeeeeeee.......

judsonc

Dec 14, 2010
Almost didnt recognize my car when I got it back...
Sevendust did a great job in bringing the shine back to this car....lovin it..

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
The Legend is True! He transforms any car into a new car with his magic touch! The mazda then now this! damnnnn the 50/50 reflection is epiccccccccccccccc

seech

Jan 21, 2007
Awesome job! Loved the 50/50!

ss12b

Jun 4, 2006
good job but it will be more perfect if u do correction for h/lamp together..a bit yellowish dy
THUMBS UP!!!must try velvet pads after this

DarkAccoon

sweet............. bila move on to detail that 2 wheeler u have at the background.

rex79gt

Jan 9, 2008
Ngiao City
from charcoal to black pearl

kc2

Dec 2, 2009
thedetailers.blogspot.com
Thanks for taking time to write up & taking pics to share with us

A true heart of a great detailer

We are fortunate to have you here

Keep it up

SevenDust

Feb 10, 2006
Fuyohhhhhhhhh....Impressiveeeeeeee.......
Thanks bro!
Almost didnt recognize my car when I got it back...
Sevendust did a great job in bringing the shine back to this car....lovin it..
Haha thanks for your kind words bro!
The Legend is True! He transforms any car into a new car with his magic touch! The mazda then now this! damnnnn the 50/50 reflection is epiccccccccccccccc
haha exactly what i thought when i did that 50/50. It blew my mind too.
Awesome job! Loved the 50/50!
Thanks sifu Seech!
Impressive buddy! awesome transformation.
Thank you zckid! you're doing pretty awesome yourself too :)
good job but it will be more perfect if u do correction for h/lamp together..a bit yellowish dy
THUMBS UP!!!must try velvet pads after this
Yeah, but time was a constrain and i would have worked on the lights if not for that. Thanks for your compliments!
sweet............. bila move on to detail that 2 wheeler u have at the background.
Thanks! That one another posting haha.
from charcoal to black pearl
Yeah man, i knew it was going to be a challenge from the start and i'm really happy that the client was satisfied
Awesome jobs!
Thanks!
Thanks for taking time to write up & taking pics to share with us

A true heart of a great detailer

We are fortunate to have you here

Keep it up
Thanks bro KC for your kind words. And i'm fortunate to be in the company of you guys :) Cheers!

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
That is some seriously fine levelling and correction!

In the same event, Bermaz Motor also introduced a diesel option for its mid-size crossover, the CX-5 SkyActiv-D.

What's the deal?

Like the Mazda6, this new CX-5 SkyActiv-D is also equipped with Mazda's super-efficient and environmentally-friendly diesel...