Semi Slick recommendations?

Sep 4, 2009
Hi ZTH sifus.

I am looking to buy the grippiest road-legal tyres available. Intend to use for lapping Sepang and wet performance is a non issue.

Size i need is 235/40/18 for a 8.5" wide rim.

I have tried the following tyres which i have ranked in the order of grip, in my opinion:

1. Toyo R888
2. Pirelli PZero Corsa
3. Yoko AD07
4. Falken Azenis RT615
5. Dunlop Sport Maxx
6. Conti CSC3
7. Falken Ziex
8. Toyo T1R

The Toyo R888 is the obvious choice but would anyone recommend any other choices based on experience?

Also, what is a good price for Toyo R888 in 235/40/18 size.

Tks :wavey:

MrNismo

Toyo R888 and P Zero Corsa are road legal R-compound tires, can't really compare with the rest which are road tires.

Few options you can have with R-compound apart from R888 and Corsa:
- Yokos A050 (heard the review were quite good)
- Bridgestone RE55s (long lasting, friend of mine can ran it for 7 trackdays per set)
- Michelin Pilot Sport Cup

If you're looking at road tyres, can try these:
- Goodyear RS (managed a 2'32 with these)
- Kumho KU36 (dubbed 'time attack tyre', haven't get my hands on them yet)