Rpf1 ori 15inch offset 35 cannot fit in vios xp150,anyone can help?

mADmAN

Oh shit.. we didn't see this clearly. @mADmAN is correct. If it's touching the barrel of the rim - you better change the caliper or upsize your rim.
no need to upsize the rim... can still stick to 15" rim... just a different wheel with better wheel barrel clearance.

as i mentioned before... RPF1 has a rather small wheel barrel design.

Reactions: jeffryfei

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
no need to upsize the rim... can still stick to 15" rim... just a different wheel with better wheel barrel clearance.

as i mentioned before... RPF1 has a rather small wheel barrel design.
Come and swap with my Ori BLM rim, sure can fit no problem....The Viking i give to TS FOC....

jeffryfei

Dec 3, 2005
Thanks guys,i decide to sell the rim and change to 16inch or 17inch rim instead of 15inch

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
why laaaa u guys keep talking about offset... he already said its not touching the spoke... its touching the barrel. changing the offset wont help.

imagine taking a 15" wheel.... and trying to fit it to a ferrari brake disc and caliper...no matter what the offset is it wont fit in the wheel coz of the barrel size right? abit extreme example... but same thing lor.

TS either has to change wheels... or if the mechanic can do it safely, grind down the caliper abit for clearance. or installing a slightly smaller brake system. id recommend changing wheel.
Yes exactly! If touching the wheel barrel then playing with offsets will not help. But the strange thing is how come the Toyota Gazoo Vios race cars can use the RPF1? Or maybe those race Vios already have the calipers grinded off/modified too?

I'd say if the touching is just a slight grazing on the surface, it's easier to just grind off the calipers a bit. coz it's a pity already have a nice RPF1 (if truly ori) but cannot use just due to very slight touching.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Thanks guys,i decide to sell the rim and change to 16inch or 17inch rim instead of 15inch
Think of the tyre size and their prices......lol
Yes, not just the tire price but also the car performance and comfort level especially if change to 17'! If upsize to 16' then can still have a bit of comfort left but your tire price will be much more expensive than 15', almost double. If change to 17' then will be even more expensive and comfort will be practically gone, plus performance will be noticeably slower too due to much heavier rims! FYI I just bought a small hatchback for my son which came with 17' and super thin 205/40 tires. After driving it for just 2 weeks I could not stand it and changed the rims to 15' with 195/55 tires and the now car feels and drives sooooo much better! So yeah think carefully before upsizing, especially for small cars.

Reactions: alcyon

jeffryfei

Dec 3, 2005
Yes exactly! If touching the wheel barrel then playing with offsets will not help. But the strange thing is how come the Toyota Gazoo Vios race cars can use the RPF1? Or maybe those race Vios already have the calipers grinded off/modified too?

I'd say if the touching is just a slight grazing on the surface, it's easier to just grind off the calipers a bit. coz it's a pity already have a nice RPF1 (if truly ori) but cannot use just due to very slight touching.
Should be et28 rpf1,that is 8jj 15inch rim

Yes, not just the tire price but also the car performance and comfort level especially if change to 17'! If upsize to 16' then can still have a bit of comfort left but your tire price will be much more expensive than 15', almost double. If change to 17' then will be even more expensive and comfort will be practically gone, plus performance will be noticeably slower too due to much heavier rims! FYI I just bought a small hatchback for my son which came with 17' and super thin 205/40 tires. After driving it for just 2 weeks I could not stand it and changed the rims to 15' with 195/55 tires and the now car feels and drives sooooo much better! So yeah think carefully before upsizing, especially for small cars.
Wah! mine was 215/45, your 205/40, that is super thin. 195/55 really a lot of tyre choice, cheap, comfortable and with right tyres performance too...

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Wah! mine was 215/45, your 205/40, that is super thin. 195/55 really a lot of tyre choice, cheap, comfortable and with right tyres performance too...
Ya man, it was so thin that I feel like riding in a tuk tuk! 215/45, 195/50, or 245/40 are borderline the thinnest I'd go coz those are already just 9.7-9.8cm sidewall height, ideally I prefer around 10.5-11cm. 195/55/15 is about 10.7cm so it's perfect size and yeah still got many good UHP choices available at good prices. Initially I was thinking to go 205/55/15 to stay the closest in diameter to original 195/50/16 but that size is also not so common and about 30% more expensive.

205/55R15, 205/50R15, 195/50R16 all rare size and expensive, that is why I kept to 215/45R17 for both my cars and can swap between cars too, and both rims are 4x100 combine with 4x114.3.....lol

i dont remember vios brake caliper to be that big that ori rpf1 cannot fit in the wheel barrel?

I just wanted to know that there any aftermarket performance part or mods can load lsd into proton fwd gearbox? Sound new to me.