Rotary Engines - FAQ.

anand raj

Feb 25, 2011
erkks, Dont tell me needs a rebuild man, Very hard to find a good sifu to repair rotary now, I went 2 shops allready they just tune it up tell all ok ady , i really have no idea where i can get a true answer ......

savahn

Feb 16, 2007
anand raj: bring your car to ah choy to check up. Sounds like old age :)

Regarding rebuilds - just go to Ah Choy. His senior team people - Ah Hau and Ah Seong, now has a lot of experience regarding this. And his team are very disciplined and hard working ppl.

Devil_Z RX

Jun 6, 2011
Seremban
Hi..
Im still new with the rotary engine, so i want to ask the otai2 here about sumthing regarding rx7. What is the best rpm reading when in idle mode for rx7? cuz i saw one of this rx7 which in idle mode is 1500rpm, is it normal or not for the rotary engine?

Alchemis

Dec 13, 2005
1500 is not a good RPM.... you should be idling at 900rpm... 1500 rpm probably the mechanic adjust for you as they can't balance at 900rpm... send to a reputable rotary builder and they will sort it for you...

causes of unstable idle is the adjustment of bleed in the manifold, worn spark plug, bad tuning, bad compression, vacuum leak... it can be ANYTHING...

adamckc

Mar 26, 2006
that anything .... is the most scarry part.. especially engine rebuilt..

adamckc

Mar 26, 2006
i saw from paultan site mazda japan may stop new rotary engine research,, ie the end of new rx9 or something,, so sad...

Ry0suke

May 6, 2008
omg this news really hurts >.<

adamckc

Mar 26, 2006
but then maybe no more new model makes the old model 7 and 8 appreciate in value.. possible?

Ry0suke

May 6, 2008
yeah probably.... but it still saddens me if they stop the development of a new rotary engine T.T
That'll probably be the death blow to a very exciting piece of engineering T.T

adamckc

Mar 26, 2006
exactly,, where on earth to find an engine 140 kg producing more hp than v6 300kg weight,, bloody clever technology... so many rotary heads going to sob..only thing once in a while has to spend big buck for rebuilt as the apex seal kong off.. like what i am doing now..

Hi there,

Can anyone share some info where i can tune a/f and check my O2?
Someone told me to tune this a/f the workshop need to have some kind of michine?
my 1.6 satria fc very bad, superb bad. full tank max is 300km only..
My location is Kepong, hoping someone will give out helping hands.