RON95 & RON97 Myths and Facts

Ah, like that means no point already.

Cost difference. If the car is driven daily, yes, I agree with you that the cost difference is not justified. If lets say the car is driven once a week or even longer, then maybe the cost difference is not so bad. Like my Wira where I am only refueling like once a month or even longer like one and a half month.
Cost effective, pump cheapest fuel it can run on.....lol

Reactions: 6UE5t

leinnz

Sep 28, 2005
My EX5 Kuasa Tinggi experience hard start and idling issues when cold if i'm using Petronas.

However your problem could be related to carburettor issues.get it service and change your fuel filter. I just solve fuel leak and engine backfires thru the carb problem by replacing the float and servicing the carb.its overflowing.last time had to set idling higher to avoid engine dies off at traffic light.

i wanted to try RON97 on the EX5 but shy to pump in...everyone at the station will be observing a guy pouring RON97 in an old kapchai.Maybe i have to pay at the pump using credit card.
Might be. been 11 yrs i have yet to change anything on the reliable bike

Same petrol station? Or did you try other Petronas station?
different petronas stations.

Mine has no pinging or knocking at all, been using it for almost half a year and the smell is still there during hard acceleration. I have yet to switch back to RON97 once in a while. Now my petrol is almost free after recent promotion :)

Thanks,
Ken
teach me oh sifu guru besar how to get cheap fuel!!!

Exactly, if the car doesn't need higher RON then why pay more?
GAYA. MUTU. KEUNGGULAN.

Reactions: Izso

Might be. been 11 yrs i have yet to change anything on the reliable bike

different petronas stations.
Interesting. Surely there's difference between brands, I definitely do not doubt that. Oh well, for me, the cheapest one wins, because I'm going to burn it anyway.

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
Izso faster get promotion......hahhahahhaha
How many times i must got promoted tk get cheap or better yet free fuel?

Now got parking lot only which i had only use twice for the past 2 month.Maybe i can rent my lot to buy fuel...hmmm.

s.marz

Aug 10, 2016
I have just started fuelling up Shell lately and it's been pretty good. Their 97 vs 95 I can tell the difference, my engine is def more responsive on 97. Where else other petrol brands, I can barely notice any differences. Oddly tho, my car performed worst when it's on BHP & Petronas.
I'm taking back my fucking words!! Shell is utter crap, car was sputtering on cold start while I have them in the tank. NEVER FILL UP SHELL AGAIN.

Y'all can laugh at me now.

Reactions: alcyon

firezy

Aug 28, 2004
my monster tuned with 97, running on anything below, pinging/knocking whatever u called it. but it also have shelf map that accomodate 95 if cannot find 97. fortunately it has never come across situation no 97 around.

i have seen cars with 95, 97, vpower and 100 tuning. it does make different. same car, mod, etc but on different octane. obviously each as different whp reading with right tuned map.

my islala... 95 all time, fuiyo... when 97... is like on viagra... but after all while feel the same as 95. never calculate basis mileage... no fuel just gotta pump. wanted to try 100 on it... kekekeke...

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
I'm taking back my fucking words!! Shell is utter crap, car was sputtering on cold start while I have them in the tank. NEVER FILL UP SHELL AGAIN.

:laugh: you were warned!

Hahaha, Shell always utter crap for me, and I haven't pumped Shell for the past 11 years.

leinnz

Sep 28, 2005
Why why blame shell. anyway my area and travel route mostly shell and petronas. however, i always find ways to get caltex and bhp once in a while to clean up the fuel line