Rojak - Can i park here?

Kitos

Well you are lucky that some one still is doing reproduction of your car parts ;)
I think the price to pay is just a fraction compare to the love for the car.

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
Lol, restoring an old car is a love-hate relationship. You'd hate it when the car don't start or you purchased the wrong parts or overpaid parts for prices you can get cheaper.

But yes, what do u plan to do in your Sierra now.

Kitos

What to do with my Sierra? Wow... it's a long list and i am still working on the plan on what do first but since you asked then i take this opportunity to list our my worksheet...lol

I think this goes in the number order

1. Fixing my steering rack as currently it's using S13 rack which have a longer degree at one end which cause the car to jerk when it stop and turning in sharp slow speed.

2. Absobers are in bad shape so i am changing it to adjustable absobers.

3. Changing the bushing on the entire car to make sure it's safe and stable to drive before moving to the engine bay.

4. Dismount the SR20DET engine and do overhaul, repaint on the bay, do the whole rewiring and remounting the engine with proper turbo pipings and for the blow off valve. Hopefully i can find a stabilizer for my new bay after that.

5. Converting the wheels from pcd 108 to either 100/114 so i easier find a nice sport rim for the car.

6. Next i will strip off the car to do the interior and exterior rebuild. Rust check and putting layer of protection. Work on the bumpers, body kit, side mirror conversion, gas cap conversion and exterior touch ups before the new paint go on the car. Re wrap the recaro seats and interior touch up. Maybe need to customised some fiber fittings since the dash board are old n already cracked up.

7. The last thing i think to be done is the exhaust and adding meters. Then it would be the final tune up setting. Hopefully this will be the last thing on my list...lol

I might miss some details here or there though :listen: :biggrin:

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
Sounds like a huge plan and I guess there were reasons why the ex-owner gave up on it. Perhaps with a lighter engine and an incorrect engine mount, the car isn't performing to what he expected to be. But I guess you could weed them out, as long as you have proper mech and the resources to do so. Snap some pics of your car will ya.

Kitos

Yeah i think it's a huge project with lotsa time and money need to be spend on this but just as like you rare beauty it's the desire to get one rare gem back to shine to push me to get this car and go through all this headache.... I believe it will be all worth it when we reach to the end of the journey :biggrin:

But there is credit to the ex owner considering that he had owned the car for more than 10 years and he did the engine conversion 4 years ago so maybe this part didn't went that well. Most of all he had told me he had done enough with cars so he want to give up to maintain the car which he didn't take much car for some time. He just wanted to make sure that it gets into a proper owner before it turn into a junk of metal and rust away.

Well i was planning to take pictures along the way in this project but my i still need to fix up my iphone to get the camera software working :banghead:

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
Well the determination of getting this car back to its former glory would be a challenge. But it would reward the owner well for doing so.

Hope you'd find a proper mech in fixing on this car and whats not. I think the former 2.8 engine is much heavier. Previous owner could have gone with a RB20 or RB25 engine to balance out the weight inequalities and least the car isnt hanging on the front. But anyways, looking forward to some great pictures here

Kitos

Yeah the 2.8L engine is good for it's time in mid 80's where you got 150bhp from that engine but i think that displacement to produce this power is inefficient and under rated especially in Malaysia the over 2000cc car have heavier cost on the car. The SR20DET is just the perfect heart to put on to this car as i would not want anything higher than 2000cc displacement.

Finding mech to fix the rare car is just as difficult as finding the car i think....lol... so does your mech does alot of rare cars? The good thing is that you do source for your parts as i am the lazy kind that would need my mech to do that part for me :rolleyes:

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
My mech doesn't do rare cars. He usually services lorries! LOL. But he is a good carb mechanic. I would have sent my car to other mechanics, but none would be able to fix my carb cars. But yeah, he is a family mechanic, so he would fix anything that would be thrown on him. LOL

I do all the parts sourcing for him, cause the mechanic's stockist, also a family friend, has not even heard of the car! LOL. So I guess I do all the follow up

Kitos

Heehhehe... if your mech can do lorry then your honda sure no problem. I am not sure if this say is correct but i think the old car engine and mechanics are much more simplify than car nowdays. Atleast you will not have ECU and wiring problem so i think the only headache is finding the parts to get the car back on the road. The next thing come is maintaining it and keep sourcing for the rare parts if anything goes wrong. It's good that you are doing half of the job and the other half is done by your family mechanics.....so i guess the labour is free lor... lol :proud:

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
lol well not exactly, i dont think anyone works for free and definitely have to give him something, as a token sum! lol. i guess its just how much he wants to bill me only, haha!

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
I used to watch the "Vavoline" ford escort on TV when I was young, looooved the anti-lag sound so started doing research.

Then thanks to wikipedia I researched about them and started to like both of them haha :biggrin: . Hey Kev! Good luck to your s600 restoration btw, really charming car...

I havent started on converting it yet but if I do.... there sure wil be pics :rofl:. Weber's FTW

Kitos

Yeah... yeah... post pictures on your twin weber project ok LittleWhiteWagon ;)
I kinda like to do it myself when i was younger and before getting married but now just to lazy to get myself to do it....hehehhehe.... i think i will even call my workshop to come and change the spare tyres if it's punctured.... lol

Hey Kev... so a red packet can do?? hehhehehe... like that i also wanna hire ur family mech :)

LittleWhiteWagon

Oct 12, 2009
P.J
Haha wives changes lives man, thank god im far from married :rofl:. How do you post up pictures anyway? They keep saying my pictures are too big... Wanted to put up pics of my AD even tho its mild modified :biggrin:

Kitos

Haha wives changes lives man, thank god im far from married :rofl:. How do you post up pictures anyway? They keep saying my pictures are too big... Wanted to put up pics of my AD even tho its mild modified :biggrin:
Hehehehe... don't remind me about that but life go on. I got a kid too you know :proud:
The good thing is that my wife doesn't give me the fuss on my interests on cars so it's all good :driver:

I have not posted pictures so you tell me...lol.. i think using the photo bucket and link it here would be easier :biggrin:

Kevin Lee

Jan 26, 2009
Kampar, Perak
hahah, not sure about my mech, i think others are also asking me on that! lol. i still dont have a gf or a wife. even if i did, i make sure before she steps into the house, she must acknowledge for my passion of cars and owning one! haha

Hey people i'll like to find out if a mitsubishi 4G63 SOHC could fit in a nissan micra ??? I would like to know if that's possible?? Or should I go with a GA15 sentra engine????:hmmmm::hmmmm: