RM115k for new Proton R3 or Top Up for DC5

tengboonhoe32

Jul 30, 2007
Hello Guys,

RM115k for new Proton R3 Lotus edition or Top up for DC5 unreg? Seem like a local car very expensive to be clarify. AP Racing brake caliper, slotted disc in front, new 16" sport rims, painted with Beijing Duck Green Color, carbon bornet, and carbon lookalike sticker at the window panel. All this upgrade to the mean of worth RM60k additional? Come on, 1.6 Campro engine fine tune to 145ps, and lighter body frame, 1150kg (lighter than DC5 by 30kg) so do u think this a special edition satria Neo with all those thing up, if replica unit doin the same? and if i spent money onto a DC5? Worth or not?:hmmmm:

huh?!

Oct 5, 2005
hurmm...
in my opinion, it depend on individuals...
some prefer spanking new car cos its hassle free n all...
but some prefer a 2nd hand DC5 because....its DC5..

tengboonhoe32

Jul 30, 2007
Same time i bot a persona and DC5 in my garage, after while i drove the persona to work, not only 3000km mileage, it start to sound everywhere, while DC5 running very good.

jo1

Dec 8, 2004
If you want to drive it daily go for DC5. This R3 is sort of collector item, just drive a few hundred kilometer for a year. I think they only produce 25 unit come with push start button and the suspension is from ohlin.

Mar 30, 2010
AIYAAA...TOO MUCH EXPENSIVE FOR A LOCAL CAR.... RM115K..? ONLY WITH THOSE PARTS THAT NOT WELL KNOWN...?? LIKE THE AP Racing brake caliper....AND ENGINE FINE TUNE TO 145HP ONLY MAA...COME ON PROTON....

VTEC STILL RULES....

Hello Guys,

RM115k for new Proton R3 Lotus edition or Top up for DC5 unreg? Seem like a local car very expensive to be clarify. AP Racing brake caliper, slotted disc in front, new 16" sport rims, painted with Beijing Duck Green Color, carbon bornet, and carbon lookalike sticker at the window panel. All this upgrade to the mean of worth RM60k additional? Come on, 1.6 Campro engine fine tune to 145ps, and lighter body frame, 1150kg (lighter than DC5 by 30kg) so do u think this a special edition satria Neo with all those thing up, if replica unit doin the same? and if i spent money onto a DC5? Worth or not?:hmmmm:

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
AP Racing brakes on a 1150kgs 145bhp car?awww..come on..dat's an OVERKILL!i'm still running my stock EF8 brake system on my 240bhp 890kgs 1989 EF7.8........
RM115K?pay me RM60K n my crx is urs.it's a collector's item oso lar wey!hahahaha
on a more serious note,RM115K 4 such a Neo is definitely overpriced!

lightningfield

Dec 29, 2004
www.ef-honda.com
Hello Guys,

bro i seriously couldnt believe you would post this sort of comparison after asking about DC5 facelift conversion few weeks back. just to let you know Honda will never let you down. Especially the Type-R

khoo198

Feb 11, 2009
N9
Definitely go for DC5......or EP3 oso can...:biggrin:

lightningfield

Dec 29, 2004
www.ef-honda.com
i think this RM115k price of this so called limited sartia neo will be justified if it has Type-R K20, 220hp engine and 6 speed close ratio gearbox inside. If Waja can be installed with SR20 engine, why can't this car be R&D with Honda K-series engine? Engineering works in Malaysia are almost as good as other places in the world so custom mountings shouldn't be an issue. Just imagine the stiff hatch chassis of Neo powered by the torquey K20A gunning down SIC corners. Marvelous wei! Someone need to look into this as we all know the limitations of Campro engine....Why not make this special/limited edition, more special?

zeus83

Oct 29, 2006
KL-Damansara
i would go for the DC5....

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
i personally think its overpriced for a satria neo.....unless it comes with more horses and better proven records if not i don think it will sell.....

vote for DC5 too......

remember the black surface paint coat on trucks?

if it's available in small rattlecans i wanna buy to re-spray my bumper black trimming.
according to how tuff those bedliners are, iIMO once you spray 'em on ur linings, it'll last fer years!

can we actually get 'em anywhere? or hafta send to some place to get it sprayed?

tq.