R33 or Toyota Caldina?

defcon1

May 26, 2006
I like the Caldina, understand the engine, drivetrain, chasis and suspension...but it's not exactly the "sporty" image I want. Considering an R33 as well. What do you guys think?... :smile:

Spyderco

May 31, 2006
all-wheel drive, add 20", lowered, twin exhaust, TRD or Tom's bodykit...it'll be sporty alright. But IT is a Toyota man.

excimo

Jun 6, 2006
Caldina sounds a bit like a cat purr...not so much a roar.

bvalve

群&#39340
r33...gts or gtr?
for me last time will think of r33,now will go for caldina.....retired for sporty looks vehicle

defcon1

May 26, 2006
NOTHING...short of a face lift and a tummy tuck is going to make ME look younger... :sad_smile:

dream.tent

Apr 22, 2005
www.cardomain.com
R33 old liao brother..
Caldina is about 130k~160k depending on what year.
But i think it's a bit over price loh!
any other choice?

excimo

Jun 6, 2006
Doesn't Caldina sounds funny...is really like car purr...not the normal hissing sound or roaring sound for a turbo car.

Some other choice:

Aristo is the size of cefiro with TT, saw one in OnTheRoad, year 97 for RM90k.

Skyline 350GT cheaper and almost as sexy as 350Z. The suspension of 350GT is superb man, saw one at Kepong/LDP junction, so smooth...wheels bounced on holes, car like no feeling. This one RM210k..?

Hey, checkout this animated gif of NISMO from this link: 350 Gt V35 Coupe - Skylines Australia

defcon1

May 26, 2006
My objective is not just to travel fast...if that were the case, a Honda Civic can be tuned quite easily in one or two afternoons to 200+ bhp. As it is, the feilo could hit 400 bhp quite easily with the proper turbo kit installed. The "project" car I am planning will be a thoroughbred sports car or a true blue hot-rod.

Arista is nice, but hardly recognized as such. And the 350Z and GT have no true race car history. The Arista is a compromise...a turbo family car, somewhat like the Caldina except that the Caldina sports a complete GT4 chasis, the same rally chasis in the Celica GT4 RC.

One of the cars I'd really like to try would be the Mitsu 3.0TT GTR. But Mitsu gearboxes have such a reputation for failure, and the power I am thinking of generating would put crunch up a stock gearbox on the first launch.

I don't just want to drive a powerful car...I want to drive a piece of history as well. Hence, I am leaning very much towards the Skyline... :smile:

excimo

Jun 6, 2006
Skyline GTR 4Doors - cool & practical.

A piece of history ah...ummmph...year 1992 Ferrari maybe.Should be below Rm200k now.

Soarer/SC300 is also a nice car or GTO with TT 3.0V6.

If only that Aristo is RM70k then can consider, RM99k for a 10yrs car...expensive.

The main question of the cars owners whether it is necessary to wash engine or not. Let's find concrete arguments for and against washing the engine.

Oh gosh... Never wash before because afraid might harm the parts.

Look at the dirt accumulated after 12 years when owner obtained the car...