Protection for headlamps

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Can apply waxing however doesn't last long enough compare to coating. Unless able to do it periodically.

By the way, few years ago I applied OptiCoat for my headlamps, so far still look like brand new.
How much is such coating?

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
Mine was done as a demo, if in the market should be a couple of hundreds I assume. Depends whether your current headlamps need correction or not.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Mine was done as a demo, if in the market should be a couple of hundreds I assume. Depends whether your current headlamps need correction or not.
Phew that's damn expensive leh! Poor me, I'd just rather DIY with the Soft99 wax every 2-3 mths, 1 silver can of Soft99 is just rm25 and can last me more than 2 yrs even with using for car body. :biggrin: But yeah for bro Voodoo with a brand spanking new AMG CLA45, this coating could be a perfect option.

The quote I got from a pro was between RM400 to RM680 depending on brand of coating. My Myvi headlights got coated by Fishbonezken and it lasted about 5 years before starting to mist a bit.

Coatings might be expensive but if done properly and prepped properly, lasting that long kinda makes it worthwhile.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=405905

VoodooEx

Feb 24, 2016
I call up one reputable detailing shop asking for the coating. The sales guy offer to coat for free even though I told him that I am not going to do any coating for the rest of the car. He says that he coat for free so I can try out the product, hoping 2 years later I will come back and coat the whole car.

Not sure whether it's a marketing gimmick to get me go down and hard sell me.

Well, my wife suv also last 5 years already, now start to yellow, but it is still clear and now looks tinted.....hhahhaha Let it blur then only I work on it.....lol

I call up one reputable detailing shop asking for the coating. The sales guy offer to coat for free even though I told him that I am not going to do any coating for the rest of the car. He says that he coat for free so I can try out the product, hoping 2 years later I will come back and coat the whole car.

Usually they will try to hard sell loh! For them to coat the headlamps should be cheap....

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

Whoa very good, then just go ahead lor!

g88

Jan 28, 2004
some said use those 'clear' aerosol..Rm5 (or not Rm8-10) per can one...

anyway i use wax on top of coating...DIY :p

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
some said use those 'clear' aerosol..Rm5 (or not Rm8-10) per can one...

anyway i use wax on top of coating...DIY :p
does the clear spray work?? i dont dare cuba... if i screwup.. habis....

wax helps, but does not last long.... I have to wax every 2 weeks
also tried toothpaste on a set of badly scratched lamps... it really helped, after an hour scrubbing with toothpaste and an old toothbrush, it was very clear again..... must have been very abrasive

Use the wrong type of clear and you'll get a yellowish matt colour. Suprafan had that issue with his ACE clear coat when we were DIY-ing that day

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
Use the wrong type of clear and you'll get a yellowish matt colour. Suprafan had that issue with his ACE clear coat when we were DIY-ing that day
erm... you guys could get it off right?? say yes pls.....

KenDiriwan

Mar 15, 2006
kendiriwan.multiply.com
Well there are two types of protection for me, yellowish and chipping. For frequent long distance/harsh area car sure prone to stone chipping.