wouldnt hannah tan's bf be murdering us zth fans :D lol

no lah...sure he was sporting enuf.... :biggrin:

Feb 25, 2012
USA
First let me introduce myself! I am Twisted300zx an American Z31 enthusiast. I own, collect and restore Z31s.

Stumbled across this thread on google.

Kevin Lee said:
The Z31 is also rare on Malaysian shores. The Z31 would easily be a recognisable Zerotohundred.com car, since there's not much of these on the roads. One of the reasons would be that it carried a larger 3.0 litre engine, which has unfavourable road tax pricing for people who wanted to own the Z. However, in the modern days, the oversized 3.0 litre engine could be swapped with a more efficient 90's engine , that would put out much more horsepower than the engines in the 80's could offer.

Installed Nissan RB26DETT engine in the Nissan Fairlady 300ZX Z31
That's partially incorrect. The car is rare outside of the USA, yes, but the 3.0L V6 (VG30ET) engine is not oversized or under powered at all. It has been proven by my fellow US Z31 enthusiasts to handle up to 700hp on stock engine internals and there are people who have got their VG30ET powered Z31's to run 9 seconds in the 1/4 mile. The fastest Z31 currently has a fully build VG30ET running a ~9.3 in the 1/4 mile.

[youtube]Yd321il2xYk[/youtube]

The VG engines from Nissan are one of the more superior engines and gaining popularity recently, capable of producing more power than the RB engines, and VG parts are easier to find and cheaper too. Not mention more reliable.

Fun Fact: One of the models of the Z31 came stock with a RB20DET (2.0L In-line 6, with T3 turbo), only available in the JDM Fairlady Nissan 200zr. It came with 172 horse power... Non-turbo 300zx came with 165 horse power, Turbo 300zx came with 205 horse power, stock. With light modification the VG30ET can reach over 300 horse power easily, and there have been claims of 1000hp VG30ET engines.

:driver:

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
Hi Twisted300zx!

Welcome to Zerotohundred.com! The problem with VG30ET is that there's absolutely no readily available engine consumable and replacement parts over here. Parts are so scarce that most owners find their VG30 engines not worth it to run in Malaysia. On the contrary, we are lucky to have an abundance of RB20,25,26 and 1JZ,2JZ engines due to big inflow of Japanese half cut engines and parts for these engines are readily available here. It is more feasible to run non-VG engines here.

I myself am running 2JZ-GTE in my Z31.

Hey fellow enthusiast,
I'm currently driving a putra with an auto tranny.I'm thinking of transplanting a 4G93T(GSR).Although i have driven a turbo before but i'm still a novice in the turbo world.I was driving a bolt on turbo which i just bought second hand.Sold it away about 4 years back.
Now what i intend to find out is how much is a half cut of the GSR?What r the rates for the workmanship of the transplant?How much do i have to pay to get the car and the new engine no. to be...