Project "Kermit"

DarkChild

Nov 16, 2003
wow... sure is nice to have deep pockets DarkChild! At least you're going for the goodstuff!
I don't!
I'm just working with whatever that's available. *laughs* The R53 is a dated car and many of the items are beginning to be discontinued already. Just making due with whatever that's available right now, and also what's available in KL.
:smokin:

DarkChild

Nov 16, 2003
The folks over at MINI Owners Club Malaysia pointed out that the Pipercross Viper Carbon Induction Kit was not meant for the Cooper S but for the normal Cooper! On top of that, it seems that it has been installed the wrong way! It should have been installed the other way around!

So I was sold something I was lead to believe was meant for my car and got it installed the wrong way?! Would have expected more from Fast Lane Automotive Sdn Bhd. I mean, they're a Mini specialist right? Terrible!

Anyway, will have to remove it, clean it and then swap it around...

The ALTA V2.0 Supercharger Pulley with 15% reduction and exhaust header from Eurotuner has been installed. Having fitted the header, the exhaust note has risen once more. It's still not intrusive, but it's definitely more noticeable now. I should warn you that because of the free'er flowing exhaust header, you will notice some extra vibration/rattling from the cabin of the car. The 15% supercharger pulley has made the car a lot more nippy. Car feels so much lighter now. I completely understand why R53 owners always tell you to go for a supercharger pulley first. It's the most bang for buck mod. Very happy with the results so far.

DarkChild

Nov 16, 2003
Swapped the Pipercross Viper Carbon Induction Kit around and it's now installed properly.

Upon removing the CAI, I noticed it's been dinged up pretty badly. The shiny chrome mouth looks as though it had been mutilated during the improper installation the first time. I'm quite disappointed.

Anyway, a quick clean and swapping around got the CAI fitted the right way.

Since the CAI now takes in air from the back, I found that the little front scoop that diverts air into the air filter box has now become redundant. It was getting in the way so, I just removed it.

Such a huge thing just to divert air into the air box...

Maybe when I have some time, I'll find a more useful way to route the front scoop to the back, since the Pipercross Viper Carbon Induction Kit came with a nice long extra hose.

[H] [K] [S]

Dec 22, 2006
The folks over at MINI Owners Club Malaysia pointed out that the Pipercross Viper Carbon Induction Kit was not meant for the Cooper S but for the normal Cooper! On top of that, it seems that it has been installed the wrong way! It should have been installed the other way around!

So I was sold something I was lead to believe was meant for my car and got it installed the wrong way?! Would have expected more from Fast Lane Automotive Sdn Bhd. I mean, they're a Mini specialist right? Terrible!
So what was their excuse eh?!

Ghomo_duck

May 6, 2011
dude...what is it tht you do; tht let you have the luxury to mods you lovely kermit like this..damn..it is surely awesome to have this kind of financial freedom :biggrin:

[H] [K] [S]

Dec 22, 2006
dude...what is it tht you do; tht let you have the luxury to mods you lovely kermit like this..damn..it is surely awesome to have this kind of financial freedom :biggrin:
He is one of Msia's most eligible bachelor. He has a fan club & hate club :rofl:

DarkChild

Nov 16, 2003
[H] [K] [S];1063802734 said:
So what was their excuse eh?!
I didn't go back to listen to their explanation. Just did it myself lor...

---------- Post added at 12:12 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:06 AM ----------

I'm just your average "guli"! Not huge mods ler. They're all bolt on's and they don't cost too much. In fact, for the strut bars, anti-roll bars, etc... I was thinking of going for Ultra Racing. I think front, rear, under, roll bar and cabin bar would cost about RM1500. Value no? :driver:

DC, your project is going nicely....keep it up bro....

DC : out of curiousity, regarding reversing the filter to the correct position - did it make any difference?

DarkChild

Nov 16, 2003
DC : out of curiousity, regarding reversing the filter to the correct position - did it make any difference?
Well, it did feel like it was easier for the engine to suck in fresh air. I don't know if it's just a placebo effect, but it did seem like the supercharger whine got a bit louder when the air filter was fitted the right way. :biggrin:

[H] [K] [S]

Dec 22, 2006
Heard what happened to Kermit?! Hope all goes well. God bless!!!

hey fellow ztrians, can i use the normal wax or polish for any carbon fibre products..or must i get any special ones? and how do i distinguish which is a quality carbon fibre and which is the ciplak one?thanks for the info
:lol: