please give advice for newbie

Khorne

Dec 4, 2003
gary said:
where got? ;) i only navigating in a proton now mah. no glamour wan.haha.
Haa ha ha ha... Still more glamour than me mah...

alexz,

I'm Ivan Ng, Not Ivan Khong... Ivan Khong is my mentor, compared to him I am but a youngling...

reubenc and alexz,

The Wira 1.6 is a very reliable car to go rallying with, but I don't think that it's FIA homologated anymore as it has been 5 years oredi since the last 1.6 was sold... Maybe the 1.3 and 1.5 Satria's but I'm not sure about the 1.6's... The Proton Driveline division is running the Gen2 in the local rallies and I must say they are pretty impressive...

reubenc
To compete in overseas rally event's you will need to finish at least 6 novice race,rallies with no adverse reports for national status and for international status you will need to finish 2 national races,rallies and 6 novice races,rallies.

That is not easy...

alexz

Nov 22, 2004
opps mistaken identity... hehehehe

ive checked with FIA, the wira homologation is extended till 2008. satria 1.6 expired 2004. satria 1.3 is also until 2008. so basically the local cars that is still FIA homologated is the wira 1.6 and satria 1.3

gary

May 9, 2005
subang
Khorne said:
No worries...
aiyoh kawan.. blur already lah you.. getting old issit?

kok pak chiang is running the 1.6 wira group N mah ;)

and yup. its still homologated.

Khorne

Dec 4, 2003
gary said:
aiyoh kawan.. blur already lah you.. getting old issit?

kok pak chiang is running the 1.6 wira group N mah ;)

and yup. its still homologated.
This proves that I'm not the pro that you say I am...
I know of Kok Pak Chiang, but I don't know of his Wira...
All I know is that he uses a super duper ECU...

gary

May 9, 2005
subang
Khorne said:
This proves that I'm not the pro that you say I am...
I know of Kok Pak Chiang, but I don't know of his Wira...
All I know is that he uses a super duper ECU...
he is running super duper ECU, and super duper Suspension. proflex.

Khorne

Dec 4, 2003
Wah Gary so free ah...
Anyways he is financially stable and he know's what's best...
With Money You Can Buy Happiness... :p

faisal

Oct 20, 2004
The Valley
ignition.my
Khorne said:
Gary Lee and Faisal,
Compared to you guys I'm just a fry in the ocean...
Both have so much more experience compared to me...
One's an ex-works team driver and the other also a championship navigator......

CHEERS
That's the thing " ex-works team driver".

Now only glorified taxi-driver, qualified to give free rides and scare shitless potential R3 owners and parts suppliers.. and ocassionally friends hahaha

faisal

Oct 20, 2004
The Valley
ignition.my
Khorne said:
Wah Gary so free ah...
Anyways he is financially stable and he know's what's best...
With Money You Can Buy Happiness... :p
Money can buy Motec ECU and Proflex dampers.. mucho money.. definately not for newbie.

I'd suggest a newbie to pick up a 2nd hand Wira 1.6 for rallying. at least a few yrs left in the car.

Khorne

Dec 4, 2003
faisal said:
That's the thing " ex-works team driver".

Now only glorified taxi-driver, qualified to give free rides and scare shitless potential R3 owners and parts suppliers.. and ocassionally friends hahaha
Better than nothing man...
Still a legend in your own day...
I'm still waiting to feel the wrath of the Stage 2...

faisal

Oct 20, 2004
The Valley
ignition.my
Khorne said:
Better than nothing man...
Still a legend in your own day...
I'm still waiting to feel the wrath of the Stage 2...
ok ok enuff " angkat". We goin off topic aredi. Suppose to be giving advice to a rally newbie.

Next Month is the Rally Of Malaysia. I suggest to any newbies goin over to have a closer look at the machinery and equipment used. and maybe rub shoulders with the local rally heroes.

gary

May 9, 2005
subang
faisal said:
ok ok enuff " angkat". We goin off topic aredi. Suppose to be giving advice to a rally newbie.

Next Month is the Rally Of Malaysia. I suggest to any newbies goin over to have a closer look at the machinery and equipment used. and maybe rub shoulders with the local rally heroes.

local rally hero = Ivan "Khorne" Ng

if you guys see him, ask him for his autograph, and tell him us "has-beens" said hi. ;)

Khorne

Dec 4, 2003
Wah gary enough lah...
Dun angkat me sumore...
I'm just filling in your shoes...
Remember that shoes that you left empty when you decided to move to a bigger team...

reubenc

Apr 22, 2004
waiseh....goin far far away from topic..haha
ihear this sund got a rally event in Johor ar?

Khorne

Dec 4, 2003
The event in Johore should be in August 19th to 21st...
You should tag along to watch the event... Make a trip or sumthing...